We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a real New Yorker ( sort of )”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radio City Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Live like a real New Yorker ( sort of )”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I could be wrong but this place has the feel of a converted apartment building. Whether that's true or not, you can certainly imagine yourself living in a tiny, one room apartment in a primo location. A stone's throw from Rockefeller center and Radio City Music Hall, with several subway lines to choose from nearby. Times square is easily walk-able too if you have a need to visit that area.
The hotel staff was friendly if somewhat reserved, the room was clean and the kitchenette was quite useful. The Columbus Circle Whole Foods is just one subway stop away and very convenient for stocking the pantry.The included wi-fi was very handy too.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend RCA to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 5on3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    987
    228
    61
    37
See reviews for
887
535
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, MD
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife, myself and 3 teenagers stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. It worked out perfectly for all of us. Only negative was the HVAC stystem. Was very warm.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NankerPhelge9494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I wish to extole the virtues of the Radio City Apartments, but hesitate to do so, since I want to reserve this treasure for myself. Upon a recommendation of my travel agent I tried this property, thinking, this rate isn't for real or it's a dump. Hah. It's a little piece of paradise just around the corner from Times Square, quick walking distance to Rockerfeller Plaza, Radio City Music Hall, and the theater district. There is a subway station within the same block. As per the name it is truly a classic apartment building that serves as a hotel. Each room has a kitchen, complete with utensils, coffee pot, etc. It is super clean, and has no "hotel odor." There are no "extras," such as restaurants, pools, salons, bars, etc. which accounts for the reasonable price. But you don't need them.(and I'll bet you usually don't patronize them anyhow.) There is a fantastic deli on one side, and a nice Italian restaurant on the other. Everything you need is right there, restaurants, bars, theaters, and shopping. There are always one or two gentlemen on duty who were most kind and helpful. I felt very safe staying there. The rooms vary from doubles to family sized units, and I noticed many families happily taking advantage of the property. Newspapers are complimentary, and there is free wi-fi service. I believe it is now a no smoking property, since I had to sign that I wouldn't smoke, and they secured a refundable $100 deposit to insure it.. As a non-smoker I like this. As an added bonus they offer a discount on parking at a garage around the corner, a bargain for sure. I read in some reviews guests didn't like the noise. Hello, you are staying in Times Square in NYC, don't expect the NY Public Library. To me the city sounds are a part of staying there. I did get up early on Sat. a.m. and walked around. Times Square was tranquil, quiet, and empty. I felt like I had the city to myself. Trust this property completely, but don't tell anyone...I want it to stay the treasure it is and be able to get a reservation when I need one. New York City can be an affordable vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retiredtraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at Radio City over New Years and thought the location was fabulous. Check in was easy and when we arrived the room was very clean and warm. The room was serviced daily and all towels etc were changed. We were able to walk easily to Times square, central park, Rockefellar Centre and lots of other destinations. Plenty of subway stations were nearby.
The front desk were helpful and pleasant. The kitchen facilities are great and the fridge was full size and allowed us to have breakfast everyday in our room. The hotel was quiet at night. Japanese restuarants next door are fresh and tasty and reasonably priced. Crumbs Bakery is just around the corner on Broadway and sells excellent cup cakes! Whilst the room is older style, there was no problem with cleanliness or workability. Flat screen TV got good reception. We would stay here again no problems.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtripaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Lovely old apartment building.
Located within walking distance of Rockefeller Centre, Times Square, Broadway etc. Great for going out at night, esp last minute entertainment.
Streets in New York felt safe. We walked everywhere, anytime, only to catch a taxi when we were too tired or had too much shopping!
Spent our Xmas holidays here and would highly rec for families.
Can self cater, easily with food outlets nearby, Food Emporium a couple of blocks away and a quick taxi ride to Zabars for all deli essentials!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathg1g2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This place is centrally located to almost everything! The hotel is clean and neat and had all the basic neccessities. Having a kitchenette was the greatest part since some in my family have food allergies and we had to buy some groceries to get us thru. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only downside is the noise with Times Square, trash trucks, etc. but that's not the hotel's fault, we'll just bring earplugs next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycity68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Perfect location for New York, central to all the attractions and transportation. 7 of us stayed in two 1 bedroom apartments on the 4th floor for 8 nights over New Year. The apartments were clean and warm and the housekeeping staff were excellent. We had a few issues relating to the age of the building, the lack of hot water in the bathroom of one of the apartments was frustrating (luke warm showers in winter!) and my daughter and nephew had to be rescued by ladder from a lift stuck between floors - but that's all part of the adventure when you are on holidays! For the main points of location, price and facilities of apartment living I would recommend Radio City.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the upper levels, apparently they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,061 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#140 of 467 in New York City
5,632 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 467 in New York City
7,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radio City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio City Apartments

Property: Radio City Apartments
Address: 142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radio City Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radio City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio City Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing