We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,795)
Filter reviews
2,795 results
Traveller rating
1,760
622
215
113
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,760
622
215
113
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool gansevoort hotel exhale spa new york the empire state building trendy hotel hotel guests amazing hotel union square mini bar nyc hotel by nyc standards subway station times square concierge hip manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 2,795 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Royalton Park Avenue for several nights in July. My family and I absolutely loved this hotel! We go to NYC twice a year and my husbands request was, “ lower Manhattan..” It has become too congested where we traditionally stay which is around St. Patrick’s/Rock Center.
Having found this hotel on line, I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. We flew into JFK and took a taxi straight from the airport (about $65). We arrived at the Royalton and upon entering I immediately began to smile. The reception area was beautiful, just like the pictures show! Tulio helped me check in which took hardly anytime, then up to our room which was 1015. It was so beautiful, with 2 balconies. Our Suite was on the corner overlooking Park Avenue, just endless views...and looking to the right I could even see in the distance the East River....it was fantastic!
The room Had two bathrooms, one of them was a half bath, which was perfect for the kids to use. My husband and I had our own beautiful bathroom with a gigantic tub, stand up shower and large sink with a double faucet . The bathroom was pretty big especially for New York City standards .
After exploring our room, we headed upstairs to the restaurant to go grab some food. The restaurant was super cute, we all ordered a bunch of different small plates and my husband and I had some mixed drinks, my Mojito was perfect! The pool is beautiful, just like the pictures and the kids had a blast swimming while looking up at the Empire State building. We didn’t have any problems getting a chair, but maybe we got lucky.
Our hotel was absolutely perfect, just a lovely place to stay. There is a Starbucks across the street and a fantastic market at the corner called Bread and Butter, they have everything. Try the endless buffet, you will not be disappointed and also one of the noodle bowls that are made fresh as you watch them cook everything up .
My kids and I can’t wait to go back, and my husband actually complimented me by saying “I did a good job by choosing this hotel..”
.....what...!
We are already looking forward to our winter trip back to the city, the manager downstairs, Daniel was wonderful and answering all the questions I had about trying to obtain Lion King tickets, fingers crossed...
You will not be disappointed at all by choosing this hotel, everything was just fantastic for our family getaway, thank you so much Royalton Park Avenue!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank skyandcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sietse N, General Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Hello SkyandCoco,

WOW, WOW, WOW! I am so thrilled we got to share this NYC experience with you and your family! Everyone at the Royalton aims to provide a magical NYC experience and make you #FeelRoyal with out unmatched guest services. Our beautiful property speaks for itself and our local business truly add to the experience.We look forward to hosting you and your family this coming winter!

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Royalton Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Royalton this weekend.
They have large room sizing for a New York hotel,as well as plenty of amenities to be entertained during your stay. Plenty of food options and site seeing locations within walking distance of the hotel. Excellent customer service from Andres and his team! I would recommend to friends and family!
-Chelse’

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank chelse' t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sietse N, General Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Hi Chelse',

We are 1000% committed to making each and every guest #FeelRoyal. Shout out to Andres for providing the level of service we aim to offer and a huge shout out to you for being a Royal Guest! Our property is truly a NYC gem. Our locations is perfect for creating magical NYC experiences away from the usual NYC crowd and we can't get enough of the local food either. We look forward to making you #FeelRoyal during your next stay!

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Royalton Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with my 15 year old daughter which tied on with my birthday on 25 th. Hotel is a nice property and in a good location, not too close not too far away from most things. When checking in the girl offered us another room which I thought was going to be an upgrade for my birthday but was actually another £150 a night !!! Thanks ! This did not include breakfast so by this time I was now paying over 400 a night. The pool bit is cool although it gets busy quickly if the sun shines. The staff were good without being special. What did not help was we left here and went to the Hyatt at Times Square which was like being In another world. I always stay in Hyatt when I can and stayed in Grand Hyatt next to Grand Central Train station on last visit but reviews on here said not so good now so went here first. It’s nice enough but would not go back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank FastChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sietse N, General Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Hi FastChar,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Royalton Park Avenue. Your feedback is truly valued as it allows us to focus on the constant improvement. I do apologize that your stay was less than memorable. We are committed to providing all our guest with memorable experiences when staying with us and will be sure to address your feedback with our team to ensure we exceed your expectations upon your next visit.

We look forward to your next visit and a new opportunity to WOW you with our guest services!

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Royalton Park Avenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Discovered that hotel pool and bar are not managed by the hotel. On at least one day of our 4 day stay, the pool closed early for external private party. So, residents not priority. Pretty poor - as the pool is what made us book here. Especially with two children. Also the bar says it closes at 4am - which I know most people won’t need, however, 4am is not true and staff say they need to update this as the time is inaccurate(who knows when). Hotel is great location , but I am really really disappointed with the attitude of staff and the lack of clarity on times of service. Won’t recommend to anyone...

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BertHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sietse N, General Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear BertHarris,

Thank you very much for allowing us to host your stay while visiting NYC!

Based on the above comments we are sad to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations.

Here at Royalton Park Avenue we strive to provide optimal service to all of our guests, unfortunately when there are last minute events up in our spectacular pool area, we do need to close it down for the privacy and exclusivity of our clients. We try our very best to let our guest know in advance to prevent any disappointment and this weekend the pool was only closed two hours earlier than usual. We did this so all of our guest have at least some time to enjoy.

We will be sure to bring your concerns in regards of the hours posted to the right department for intimidate rectification.

We are deeply sadden that you left our property with a bad taste, and would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Please be sure to mentioned this comment when booking again so that we can personalize your stay and turn all this around for you and the family.

Best wishes,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Royalton Park Avenue NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We are frequent travelers so have seen our fair share of hotels. This time, I let someone else choose and their travel agent booked this hotel. Let's start with the positive. The location is OK - Park Avenue mid-town so not near attractions but close enough. There is a Starbucks and shops nearby for food, which was convenient but we almost always ate away from the hotel except for one night when we ate in the Flatiron area. As I was with children, I did feel safe going out at any time of day and in the evening. Now the not-so-good - we never used the pool or anything else at the hotel - spa etc. but there is a $40 (plus tax) per day "facilities fee", which we were told included access to room service (!?), WiFi, the spa, the pool and the restaurant (aren't these things you pay for anyways like when you order or receive services?!). When I queried it, they were pretty much like, well, it's in the terms of the reservation (fair enough but still? FYI we paid $600-450 per night so the $40 extra seemed a bit cheeky). The room itself was spacious but the furniture was dated and kind of meh. For how big the room was, the bed situation wasn't great with 2 of us on a pretty dodgy sofa bed. The overall feeling isn't what I would call luxurious by any stretch and I really didn't think it was anywhere worth what we were paying. I noticed that the lobby was usually a bit messy, just not really that nice and weirdly a fireplace even though it was hot outside. This brings me to customer service which was pretty dire. Room cleanup was pretty lack lustre - beds made but that seemed about it. Desk staff was really what ended it for me. They just seemed annoyed to have to help and any question was met with attitude. When checking out Torredondo just walked away twice when he didn't seem to like my questions. The manager Blair or Blaine was similarly sort of checked out and unhelpful. There wasn't one bad thing just lots of little things that added up to a very mediocre experience, which wouldn't have been so bad had I not been paying as much as I did. There are definitely better options for the same or less price so my advice is to go elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Darcy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sietse N, General Manager at Royalton Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear Darcy D,

On behalf of the entire Royalton Par Avenue team, thank you for allowing us to host your stay while visiting NYC, it was a true honor.

Based on the above stated comments, it seems we were not able to meet your expectations, and we are truly sadden to hear that.

We are terribly sorry to know that you were not able to enjoy our amenities while staying with us, unfortunately our resort fee applies to all guest and all reservations.

Please know that our fire place does not emit heat in the summer season, but it does look phenomenal and that's why its always on. Please rest assure that your concerns regarding our furniture and housekeeping service will be brought to the appropriate management team for immediate improvement.

In regards of the experience at the desk, please know that the above mentioned individuals will be contacted for further investigation to know exactly what transpire while you were at the front desk.

I cant express our feelings on knowing you left our property with such bad taste, we were trying to look up your reservation with the username that appear on TripAdvisor but we could not located. I would like you to contact the hotel directly so that we can look at this in further depth and turn this bad experience into a memorable time.

If you decide to give us another chance in the near future please contact the hotel directly and mention this comment,

It will be an honor to create an unforgettable experience!

Best wishes,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Royalton Park Avenue NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews