We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Ranked #38 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We are fans of the Kimpton brand and the Eventi lives up to its peers with stylish decor, huge windows overlooking the city, great loyalty program service, and daily wine happy hour. The location is just two blocks from NY Pennsylvania Station making it convenient for Amtrak arrivals. It's also a do-able walk south to the Village, east to the Empire State Building, and north to Times Square. The neighborhood feels safe and there are a number of good restaurants close by. Where it fell short was the design of the lobby (small with NO restrooms!) and the bar (faces a wall which features a video loop of some very funky images.)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are at least 4/5 floors up so they should all be good. We went with the basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escapists2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,087
    826
    163
    43
    24
See reviews for
532
1,275
186
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Eventi for President's Weekend. The location was great as we have a daughter who lives in the West end. We were able to get on street parking which was a big bonus without having to use the garage. Staff was very friendly. Room was on 16th floor with wonderful view of the Empire State building. Room was very clean, small, but extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Bathroom was very well equipped with nice shower, two nozzles, and nice amenities.Complimentary wine reception could have been attended each night we were there, but could only get to it once. This and coffee in the morning are nice additions.
Good location and quiet at night. Security is good in evening as we had to show our room key to get on the elevator! Also Pet friendly, as we saw pets, but never heard them!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed prior visits at this hotel and it is one of my favorites.. Great location, Great staff,Great rooms... Will countinue to book here....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gidgetNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I so enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was quite small, but felt luxurious and plush. We were up on the 23rd floor, so had the most spectacular view of New York from our room. Being high up, also meant we didn't hear the traffic at all.
I loved the position of the hotel as it is within walking distance of Times Square and there are loads of deli's and diners nearby for breakfast.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and really efficient. The entire property was immaculately clean, and very tastefully decorated. We enjoyed the complimentary wine (5-6pm) in the lobby, where we got to meet other guests (and their canine companions)
We had room service one evening (as it was too cold to go out), the food was absolutely delicious - I don't usually eat burgers & fries, but needed some comfort food after a long day sight seeing in the freezing cold. I can honestly say this was one of the best meals I ate in New York - IN MY BED!

Room Tip: High up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrottingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Eventi, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Globetrottingagain,

Thank you for the descriptive words you used for our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had some delicious food from our In-Room Dining menu. We hope you'll return for another stay this year!

Best Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Wonderful weekend in NYC, and Eventi is an excellent boutique hotel. Great location close enouigh to Time Square to walk, but far enough for some peace. Modern and clean rooms, very attentive staff. Best of all, AAA price was a great deal compared to other area hotels, not rated nearly mas high on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtmcclure14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visit NYC a couple of times per year and like to try hotels in varied parts of the city. We were very pleased with our recent 2 night stay at the Eventi. We reserved 2 rooms: one for myself and my husband, and one for my grown son and a friend. The front desk staff was delightful, and we were upgraded to rooms on the 22nd floor (there are 23 floors). Each room was smallish (typical of NYC hotels), but the floor to ceiling windows framed a spectacular view of the city (with the Empire State Building just to the northeast), which opened up the space beautifully. The beds are remarkably comfy! Our bathrooms were generously proportioned, and I loved the large walk in shower with the rain shower heads in the ceiling. We found a nice selection of salad/soup/sandwich restaurants in the area when we needed a quick bite, and Starbucks was just up the street (always a plus). A quick taxi ride or a 15 block walk gets you into the theatre district. We go to the theatre but avoid staying in the Times Square area, so this location was perfect for us. I recommend the Eventi without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim0nSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Recently (Feb 2012) spent a night at a beautiful boutique hotel in the Chelsea neighborhood of NY City. Nice corner room on 23rd floor with incredible views of the city. Plush bedding. Modern, contemporary bathroom. We did have some annoying noise in the walls...that took away from giving it a 5 excellent rating. Expensive rates on their website ...got it for $100 less on Yahoo travel.
Valet parking without in and outs expensive...try a nearby garage and look for an online coupon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#41 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Eventi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Eventi

Property: Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Address: 851 Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue), New York City, NY 10001-4101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kimpton Hotel Eventi 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Eventi redefines what it is to be a Manhattan hotel. Kimpton Hotel Eventi is an experience as much as a destination. Kimpton Hotel Eventi's historic Chelsea neighborhood near the New York theater district, artful surroundings, intimate accommodations, dynamic meeting spaces and signature Kimpton hospitality combine into something extraordinary.Located near world-renowned art galleries and vibrant nightlife, Kimpton Hotel Eventi puts you within easy walking distance of Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, the Empire State Building, Macy's and entertainment venues. Just steps outside our boutique Chelsea hotel you will find those special things that make Manhattan so exciting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Eventi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing