We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the financial district battery park brooklyn bridge rooms are small breakfast room lower manhattan statue of liberty new york the staten island ferry walking distance breakfast was included yogurt subway station quiet at night around the corner bed was comfortable stayed here for nights
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 582 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently for a couple nights for a friend's wedding. Hotel was clean and in a great convenient location but left much to be desired. The room had no insulation from noise, so sounds from the street, next door construction, and even hallway activity were very loud and interrupted our sleep. Wall air unit was also extremely loud. We were also unable to get a bottle of water in-house late at night. All vending machines were completely sold out of all drinks and nobody at the front desk answered when we called down to inquire. Lastly, shower curtain was flimsy and not properly weighted so the bathroom floor flooded each time we used the shower. This is an ok place to stay if your are looking for a no frills experience in a good location, but be sure to bring your own ear plugs and bottled water to avoid the issues we faced.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Hello Suzanne V,

Thank you for choosing us and for leaving a review. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs and that you found our property clean. However, I understand that we failed to make your stay more comfortable due to the noise challenges, the condition of the bathroom and the vending machine. I am sorry for any inconveniences you may have faced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2017

I stayed at this location for a series of business meetings in the area. It is located within walking distance of many Wall Street attractions, China Town and Little Italy. Check-in was efficient and the staff friendly. The room was clean and adequate. The toilet in my room ran occasionally but closing the door helped with that. The bed was comfortable and the amenities made for a good stay. I misplaced my check-out receipt and had to call 2 weeks after my stay to get a new one. The staff was very helpful and quickly sent me a replacement. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theladyknownascady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and new. Value for money was good. Just in front away of federal reserve and walking distance away from bull statue and other interesting site, the location is recommended if you want to explore south part of the city.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeffreycatanjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Good Hotel. Have stayed here many times and it does not disappoint. The hotel is on Water St in lower Manhattan. Easy access to the Brooklyn bridge, China Town, South St Seaport and the list goes on. Loading zone for the hotel is right at the front door and unlike uptown, is less hurried or stressful.

The rooms are always clean and well maintained. We were 2 people and we got the room with the bed and pull out couch. The couch is Ok for sleeping. The room features a desk, fridge, microwave, TV in room safe, a stand for your food stuffs, a small closet for cloths a desk and a decent size bathroom.

Lamps on both sides of the bed with plug ins for laptop or phone. Wi-Fi was OK for light use. Your not going to download large amounts of data fast but it works for emails etc. We overlooked the street and the noise was low, even though they were filming a movie right outside the front door. Good windows I guess.

The staff help hold our luggage till our room was ready and after we checked out but before we left the city. They were all very helpful. Thank you. But wait, I saved the best for last.

Breakfast is the highlight of our day. The breakfast is at the back on the main floor. It is compact because it is New York, but the tables are turned over quickly and the lady (Sonia) who works there is amazing. I have met her on previous stays and always look forward to her quick wit and smiling face. I am not sure where she gets the spunk, but she is the energizer bunny. Always has time for a bit of conversation, but never stops working while she talks to you. Helpful with suggestions of all things New York (Including Baseball). She manages to keep all the food items stocked and the tables clean and available, despite the throng of guests in and out of the breakfast room. Amazing. Despite having tried most of the other Hotels in the area over the last few years, Sonia and the Breakfast is the reason we continue to return to the Holiday Inn on Water St. In fact we actually called to make sure she still worked there before we booked this year.

Thank you for a great time in New York and would highly recommend this location for its amenities and staff.

Room tip: Higher room encounter less street noise, only 4 rooms on a floor, 2 face street and face rear.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank StephenJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

The hotel is excellently located for a stay in downtown Manhattan. Public transportation is close.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful.
The room are of normal size (a bit small for a large family like ours) and reasonably clean, however, the hotel needs a bit of renovation.
The food choice for complimentary breakfast is a bit limited and the breakfast room is rather small for the size of the hotel, but the staff working there are very helpful and friendly.

In summary, good value for money for a stay in Manhattan.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank angiolor2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews