We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, Tiny Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Ranked #367 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

If you plan on spending almost no time in your room, then these teeny tiny rooms are acceptable. Plus the closet is a free-standing unit in a corner with room for very few clothes and shoes. On the plus side, the employees are simply outstanding. Superb customer service skills. Breakfast is adequate and location is great for the financial district, but for the best shopping, it is not convenient. And affordable for Manhattan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Utahtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nballou S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear that our room size did not meet your expectation NYC rooms are relatively small.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

This is the average NYC business hotel. Small room (albeit with about 15 more inches in the room than another chain's similar class hotel in the same neighborhood) with just enough space in the bathroom to squeeze in and close the door for a shower.

The bed in the room, however, is unforgivably uncomfortable. It is lumpy-in-areas/rock-hard-in-others and about 6 inches too short for an average man to relax in with his feet dangling off the edge. If the point of a hotel is to have a place to sleep and relax at night, this one fails miserably.

Breakfast is typical unwrapped breads and sweets, with the classic combination of overripe and underripe fruit all in a stainless stacking rack, plus the mass produced hot stuff and beverages that have similarity to juice (the same as any hotel in this class, this one does nothing different, for better or worse). The staff is friendly enough, but like most hotels in this class, you'll generally only see 1 of them at a time, as the category is designed to run with minimal personnel. The fitness center is poorly maintained, with a loose belt on the treadmill and missing weights in the rack.

Without any standout features and the poor bed, this is a absolutely 'stay away'. There are far better options in the class and price point within walking distance of this location.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hello Eric C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, NY. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff.

However, on behalf of the hotel, I'm sorry we fell below your expectation regarding theroom size, bed firmness and breakfast selection. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

It was a very small room with loud street noise. The room was comfortable otherwise, and is a short walking distance to the seaport, which has restaurants. Also a short walk to a view of the Statue of Liberty and other touristy areas. Clean. The breakfast was ok.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank japharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi japharl,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to read that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our locations to be convenient for your needs. However, I regret to your dismay about the street noise. We value your comments. This is a continuous process as we strive further in making our product and services from good to great.

We appreciate you as our guest and looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently for a couple nights for a friend's wedding. Hotel was clean and in a great convenient location but left much to be desired. The room had no insulation from noise, so sounds from the street, next door construction, and even hallway activity were very loud and interrupted our sleep. Wall air unit was also extremely loud. We were also unable to get a bottle of water in-house late at night. All vending machines were completely sold out of all drinks and nobody at the front desk answered when we called down to inquire. Lastly, shower curtain was flimsy and not properly weighted so the bathroom floor flooded each time we used the shower. This is an ok place to stay if your are looking for a no frills experience in a good location, but be sure to bring your own ear plugs and bottled water to avoid the issues we faced.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Suzanne V,

Thank you for choosing us and for leaving a review. I am happy that our location worked for your travel needs and that you found our property clean. However, I understand that we failed to make your stay more comfortable due to the noise challenges, the condition of the bathroom and the vending machine. I am sorry for any inconveniences you may have faced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

I stayed at this location for a series of business meetings in the area. It is located within walking distance of many Wall Street attractions, China Town and Little Italy. Check-in was efficient and the staff friendly. The room was clean and adequate. The toilet in my room ran occasionally but closing the door helped with that. The bed was comfortable and the amenities made for a good stay. I misplaced my check-out receipt and had to call 2 weeks after my stay to get a new one. The staff was very helpful and quickly sent me a replacement. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank theladyknownascady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and new. Value for money was good. Just in front away of federal reserve and walking distance away from bull statue and other interesting site, the location is recommended if you want to explore south part of the city.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeffreycatanjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Good Hotel. Have stayed here many times and it does not disappoint. The hotel is on Water St in lower Manhattan. Easy access to the Brooklyn bridge, China Town, South St Seaport and the list goes on. Loading zone for the hotel is right at the front door and unlike uptown, is less hurried or stressful.

The rooms are always clean and well maintained. We were 2 people and we got the room with the bed and pull out couch. The couch is Ok for sleeping. The room features a desk, fridge, microwave, TV in room safe, a stand for your food stuffs, a small closet for cloths a desk and a decent size bathroom.

Lamps on both sides of the bed with plug ins for laptop or phone. Wi-Fi was OK for light use. Your not going to download large amounts of data fast but it works for emails etc. We overlooked the street and the noise was low, even though they were filming a movie right outside the front door. Good windows I guess.

The staff help hold our luggage till our room was ready and after we checked out but before we left the city. They were all very helpful. Thank you. But wait, I saved the best for last.

Breakfast is the highlight of our day. The breakfast is at the back on the main floor. It is compact because it is New York, but the tables are turned over quickly and the lady (Sonia) who works there is amazing. I have met her on previous stays and always look forward to her quick wit and smiling face. I am not sure where she gets the spunk, but she is the energizer bunny. Always has time for a bit of conversation, but never stops working while she talks to you. Helpful with suggestions of all things New York (Including Baseball). She manages to keep all the food items stocked and the tables clean and available, despite the throng of guests in and out of the breakfast room. Amazing. Despite having tried most of the other Hotels in the area over the last few years, Sonia and the Breakfast is the reason we continue to return to the Holiday Inn on Water St. In fact we actually called to make sure she still worked there before we booked this year.

Thank you for a great time in New York and would highly recommend this location for its amenities and staff.

Room Tip: Higher room encounter less street noise, only 4 rooms on a floor, 2 face street and face rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank StephenJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#349 of 473 in New York City
754 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#258 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#231 of 473 in New York City
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,236 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#252 of 473 in New York City
397 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#273 of 473 in New York City
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street

Address: 126 Water St, New York City, NY 10005-1615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated in 2017, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Manhattan is conveniently located on Water Street close to Wall Street. We are just a short distance from NY Stock Exchange, City Hall, Federal Reserve Bank, and World Trade Center. Lower Manhattan will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of attractions including South Street Seaport, Battery Park, Little Italy, Chinatown, and walking distance from the South Ferry which connects to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. We offer 112 luxuriously appointed guest rooms equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection amenities, wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This modern, upgraded hotel also features an exercise room, business center, and hot breakfast bar. We are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing