We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staybridge suits excellent just book it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #133 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“staybridge suits excellent just book it”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We arrivied in new york on the 1st march for 6 nights at the staybridge we checked in to find our room was not ready after a 9hour flight this was at 8pm the reception could not appologise enough they took our luggage away took us to the bar and said drinks are on the house all night our room was ready in 20 minutes the rooms are very clean great large beds
nice size bathroom with shower (plenty of hot water) free wifi in rooms but there's 3 computers in reception area free to use so you don't need to take a laptop. breakfast is very good try and go before 8am after that it gets very busy. we had reports about the lifts being to busy ok they do get busy but there's 32 floors with 3 lifts we had no problems.mid week the staybridge puts on free wine/beer/ soft drinks and snacks (help yourself} from 5.30pm to 7.30pm tues/thurs it's a nice touch. the front desk and concierge were great very friendly you could ask them anything the concierge were not pushy in selling trips we asked them if they could get ice hockey tickets at madison square garden for the rangers against the boston bruins they got them cheaper than madison square garden box office.Also the staybridge has airport shuttle service use it it's worth it no messing around with taxi's/ buses. The staybridge is very close to times square but not in times square it'self it's right behind bus terminal just be aware at night we had no trouble walking behind the terminal. we will stay here again just book it excellent value for money

Room Tip: ask for high floor with view fridge can be a bit noisy just switch it off
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevenSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,048
    1,953
    442
    75
    37
See reviews for
1,721
2,055
225
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed at Staybridge Suites for 3 nights in early March 2012 with my mom (visit to NYC for a girls trip!). The location really can't be beat...a block from a major subway stop (40th street and 8th ave, aka the port authority bus terminal stop), a few blocks from the theater district, and close enough to the busy-ness of NYC while still on a relatively quiet street. The room was adequately sized, with enough room to walk around the king sized bed and spread out some luggage. A good breakfast is included (both hot and cold items), but be prepared to eat quick and give up your seat, as there aren't that many places to sit and breakfast is super busy. The elevators are fast, but there are only 3 for a 32 floor hotel (10 rooms/floor). I'd request a room on a lower floor in case you want to walk up or down, rather than waiting 5 minutes for an elevator. There's free wi fi, which is a rarity, and it is decently fast. Jamie the bellman was great at giving suggestions for things to do/places to eat. Overall, I'd stay at the Staybridge again if I was in NYC for a few days.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a lower floor since the wait for an elevator can be a little long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_monkey426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, two adults and two teenagers and were more than pleased. Foremost we were impressed by the staff; from the arrival at the front desk and the concierge, to the cleaning of our suite to the very nice and friendly staff that worked at breakfast time, we were greeted and treated extremely well. We do not agree that the lack of lifts was an actual problem, we waited maximum 3-4 minutes which was ok. The suites were perfect and spotless. We would definately chose Staybridge Suites for our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great service and room service, great recommendations on where to eat and attractions. We had someone waiting when we arrived (Bradley!) who kindly took our bags and showed us to our room. Rooms were nice and comfortable, we stayed in a 1 bed studio and wasnt expecting it to be overly nice yet it was - clean sheets and housekeeping everyday! 2min walk to get to central times square, great location! Evening bar, and breakfast daily. Would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I would seriously recommend this hotel to everyone! The staff are superb and can not do enough for you, any problems you have they are there within an instant to sort things out for you! Very clean and modern rooms, nice and spacious. Also the hotel offer guests free breakfast, and tues-thurs free wine and beer and snacks etc.
The hotels location is fab! Within walking distance to all of NYC's attractions, such as Times Square, Central Park etc. I would defo recommed getting the city tours bus if its your 1st time, as it was ours, which takes you around the various sites such as the empire state, takes you down to statue of liberty etc. And there is a Tour guide also who helps you get to know where to get off the bus etc.

All in all this was a lovely holiday with some amazing staff at the Staybridge, I would return again within an instant :-)

Room Tip: Preferably on the lower floors as the lifts get busy and if your on the higher floors you could get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the property Jan-16-18 and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the construction. The finish and decor are minimalist modern and very well appointed and given the lack of general space in NYC, the room was quite spacious and comfortable.

For those wanting to be close to Times Square, its a very short walk to the middle of it all. Its also walking distance from the Javitz Center, an uncommon convinience for that part of town.

The staff was awesome; from the reception staff to the bellman, they made my stay very comfortable and personal.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoa, Portugal
Level Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you are looking for a New York hotel, stop, you just found it. We stayed twice in February and again in March, and this hotel is a real gem, and we found it via everyone’s reviews on Trip Advisor, and how right they are. The beds are the most comfortable we have found in ANY hotel, some with a lot more stars than this hotel. They are truly sublime, (where do they get them from?) The staff are really helpful, nothing is too much trouble, it’s the sort of service you would only expect from a 5 star hotel. The rooms are modern, clean and the small kitchen really useful. Times Square, Broadway and 5th Avenue are a few minutes’ walk away. It’s true the lifts can be a bit slow at peak times (breakfast) but otherwise they are fine. The air conditioners are ‘beneath the window’ models and a bit noisy, but if you are looking for a modern room, comfort (those beds!), great service and good location, look no further. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor room so you can walk down at breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,023 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#267 of 468 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#214 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing