We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #143 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My mom, sister in-law and myself were in NYC the third week of March and stayed at Staybridge Suites for four nights. The hotel was very nice, clean and great location to Times Square. It was nice to have the breakfast in the morning before we headed out, they had many items to choose from. The hotel staff was very friendly, Nick at the front desk was very accomodating and Jamie helped us with our transportation back to the airport. We would for sure stay at this location again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,680)
There are newer reviews for Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,209 - 3,215 of 5,680 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Staybridge Suites Times Square during a girl's weekend in late March from Thursday - Sunday. Overall, this hotel is a good value for the location as it's just a short walk to Times Square (although it is true that it's across from the Port Authority, down the street from a few "questionable" establishments - ie. porn shops, parole board). There were some interesting individuals hanging out around these places so just follow the rule of all major cities and don't walk anywhere alone.

Pros: price for location, complimentary breakfast, happy hour appetizers & drinks (beer & wine) on Mondays-Thursdays, kitchenette, comfortable beds, friendly & accommodating staff, clean rooms.

Cons: smaller room & bathroom (but this is to be expected in NYC) + bad lighting in the rooms = challenge to get ready with 4 girls sharing 1 bath/room, long waits for the elevator - it was actually broken down on our last day so we had to lug our suitcases down 10 flights of stairs.

Breakfast was crowded every morning and very chaotic but free breakfast in NYC was a definite perk of our trip and helped keep costs down since we were eating out for every meal. There's a Duane Reade on the corner so you can easily load up on snacks, drinks, etc to keep stocked in your room.

The hotel was extremely accommodating upon our arrival and held our bags until check in so we could go out and explore the city. On our last day, they did the same thing after we had checked out and arranged a car service to take us to the airport. We got some interesting nightlife advice from the front desk on our first night out and ended up at a gay bar. Not sure if this was intentional or not but for a group of 20 something girls in NY, this was actually a fun start to a memorable night!

Although taxi's are cheaper in NY, one major complaint would be the extremely rude drivers. Maybe it's just how things are in NY but they were not friendly, avoided answering any questions we asked and some even refused to give us rides once they found out we were going to the Times Square area. Not sure what issue they have against us or the location of our hotel, but never in my life have I been refused a ride by a cab driver. Their lies about "being on a break" or "done for the night" only made matters worse because then they'd pull up 10 feet and let someone else get in who had a more desirable destination.

Coming from Chicago, this wasn't the only thing to compare and contrast with NYC. Obviously, we have a preference for Chicago style vs. New York style pizza and New York's lack of alleys means garbage is out on the street for all to see/smell. BUT the architecture is amazing and there's an energy that New York has unlike any other city.

Overall, we had an amazing (but exhausting) trip filled with typical tourist attractions during the day, delicious dinners and fun nights out in the Big Apple! Some of the "must see" attractions would be the 9/11 Memorial & Central Park. Don't underestimate the size of Central Park - you could easily spend hours there and it's definitely worth it if the weather is nice!

Room Tip: Warning: If you request a high floor for the view, you'll spend a portion of your vacation just...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTownGrl_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I've stayed at Staybridge with my husband and two teenager daughters in a room for four. The hotel is well equipped with a kitchnette and lot of cabinets. We felt very confortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was really good though it was hard to find a table early in the morning. The hotel offers washing machine and dryer and the soap is free! They have a kind of a happy hour food twice a week in the afternoon with soft drinks and wine. Very welcoming!
Lifts were crowded all the time. You have to take care not forget anything in the room because it will take a long time to come back there. Very close to subway. Just cross the street and you get to Port Authority bus terminal. Walk distance to Times Square. The neighborhood is acceptable, not a charming street, but we felt secure coming and going. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

just got back from a stay at staybridge suites times square with the whole family. overall, this hotel is a good value as it was on average at least $100 cheaper per night than most other decent places in the times square area. there's nothing really fancy about the hotel but it does the job. our room was small but convenient with amenities--fully functional kitchen with range, dishwasher, microwave, and fridge--definitely good if you have kids. the tv is a nice flat screen with easy wall access to modern outlets like HDMI, cat 5, and smartphone plugs. there is free wi-fi which is easy to use. the beds are small (full size not queen) but comfortable. the blackout shade does a good job of keeping out the lights and because the hotel is away from a main thoroughfare the noise isn't too bad. there is free breakfast every morning until 10 am on weekdays and 11 am on weekends which is great for late risers or visitors from the west coast who can't drag themselves out of bed early. the breakfast is just okay, not great, but whatever it's included and convenient. the staff is very friendly and the concierge is very helpful. the happy hour they have at the bar on select days is also a nice perk.

what keeps it from being five stars are the bathrooms and the overall location. the bathrooms are TINY and there is barely room to stand comfortably in the triangle shaped showers that they have. if you want a tub/shower you have to stay in a king bed only room so if you don't need two beds, definitely choose this option. i asked and they told me only the king bed rooms have tub showers. as for location, you are actually in a great location as far as access to attractions is concerned. you're a short walk from the heart of times square and a block away from a drugstore and a subway stop. but the overall location leaves a little to be desired because you are right across the street from the port authority bus station right in the middle of 40th street. right outside the hotel you will stand next to ginormous piles of trash and not many cabs wander through here so you have to typically walk to 8th or 9th to catch one.

overall, it was still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wskungfuclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I used Trip Advisor to find this wonderful Hotel. We have traveled to NYC many times and all our previous hotel choices keep raising their prices. We like to save our $ for great Broadway tickets and shopping in SOHO. The staff was so nice and friendly. I had a package delivered from a shopping trip and it was waiting in the room when we returned that evening. The front desk even even found a staff member to tie my son's bow tie before an evening at Carnegie Hall. They got cabs for us and found a table for our family at breakfast. We felt safe and every part of the Hotel was very clean. We loved our room and the little kitchen came in handy for John's Pizza leftovers. Who can beat free breakfast and happy hour in NYC?????We had a big group travel to NYC and we definitely had the best hotel at the lowest price point. My son loved walking up to Shake Shack on 8th Avenue and seeing Spider Man on Broadway. Thank you Trip Advisor for another great hotel recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room-32nd floor had a great view-we loved sitting in the window with a glass of hap...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmom4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Staybridge at the end of March for 5 days. We were extremely pleased with out stay! The price was perfect, and the rooms great. It was about a 5 minute walk from TImes Square, but when there is that many people and it is so close, you don't really realize it and before you know if you are there. We read a lot of reviews beforehand and most reviews said the rooms were small...but I am not sure what people expect from a hotel in New York City, which is extremely crowded to begin with. We thought the room size was perfect, considering if you're actually there to sight-see, you don't spend much time there anyways. The front desk staff were amazing, especially when we ran into some trouble with our billing information and were completely willing to help us out in any way they could. Door men were also great too, taking your luggage and storing it was promptly as they could. Breakfast was okay, it's a large hotel and breakfast only ran from 630-10 am so if you leave it until after 9am, it's scarce to find a table. However they do have people constantly clearing plates and replenishing the buffet. It was great to not have to worry about going out for breakfast when there was a complimentary breakfast included in your stay. We also read that the hotel is across from Port Authority and a few doors down from the parole board. Honestly, this didn't bother us one bit and I don't think (unless you are an extremely picky and petty person) it would even bother anyone else. There are 4 hotels in a row, and then the parole board. It doesn't disrupt you one bit and does not make the environment unsafe at all. One thing we were not pleased with was the bar... it was incredibly over priced and the drinks were not very good. We also did have to wait at the most 5 minutes for an elevator, but again, we read many reviews and knew this was something to expect. Overall, it was a great visit. If we ever head to New York City again, we will definitely stay here again, and will recommend it to any one who is looking for a great hotel near Times Square.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amyyy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over Spring Break the first week of April and could not have planned a better experience.

The hotel is only a 2 block walk to Times Square. There is a Subway stop just down the block. The Port Authority is right across the street. Catching a cab from the Port Authority is so easy. There is a cab line right on 8th Ave. It took us just a few minutes and there were 9 of us. We also walked to St. Patrick's Cathedral (30 minute walk) and the 8 blocks to Macy's.

The hotel offers free breakfast, which was great. Breakfast is a full breakfast, not a typical continental breakfast. There were eggs, sausage (sometimes ham or bacon), cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, and juice. Every Tuesday-Thursday from 5-7pm free snacks, beer, wine and soft drinks are served. This came in handy on the night before the show as we didn't have time for dinner before.

The room was a little small, but we didn't spend much time there. The hotel is clean and only 2 years old. The beds were very comfortable.

The staff was the best. In particular, Jamie, Bradley and Edwin. They were always upbeat and helpful. The last day was my friend's birthday and they sang Happy Birthday to her and gave her a box of chocolates. They scheduled the car service to the airport for us and got ALL of our luggage downstairs and into the car.

You will read other reviews about the slow elevators, but this was not a problem at all. The most we waited was 5 minutes. You will also read reviews about the Parole office next door and the adult book store. This was also not a problem. We felt very safe, even walking back at 10pm on several nights with 3 teen girls.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors for great views of the city and the river.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ays2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#298 of 468 in New York City
4,124 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#232 of 468 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $254 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing