We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, super clean, and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #140 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfect location, super clean, and great price”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A group of us chose the Staybridge for 3 nights in April, 2012. It was our first time in New York, and the location is perfect for walking or using public transportation. We arrived on Amtrak at Penn Station (Madison Square Garden) and walked with our wheeled bags to the hotel, about 10 minutes. Getting around is easy. We caught the subway right across the street at the Port Authority. It's a five minute walk to Times Square, the Theater district, and good shopping near Macys in the other direction. We also walked to Central Park, but that was a bit far. The rooms are large and very clean, with a nice little kitchen that has a full size fridge, two burners, a microwave oven, a dishwasher, and all the cookware and dishware you need, even wine glasses! We didn't cook, but loved the fridge for keeping drinks and snacks cold, and the microwave for warming up leftovers. The free breakfast was delicious and so convenient before a big day on the town. We got an early start each day (7:00am) so were able to avoid waiting for breakfast or elevators. We never had to wait long for the elevators as others had.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 18th floor with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molokaigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,079
    1,982
    454
    76
    44
See reviews for
1,765
2,073
228
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our recent April vacation with our teen and tween daughters. This place is new, clean, and well located near Broadway. Staff are friendly and courteous, with special kudos to Sunny, a doorman who went out of his way to point out available elevators, help stow our bags so we could wander the city the second day after we checked out, and even had the courtesy to give us room keys to use the hotel bathrooms on our arrival to get our bags and our car. The deal that includes valet parking next door is also a very good value and convenient. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are a bit snug, but they are clean, the shower is beautiful, and the beds are comfortable. Having the kitchenette also is a big plus. The breakfast the next morning adds to the value. It is not the best breakfast we've ever had, but was solidly good, with either scrambled eggs or mini-omelets, a choice of breakfast meats, toast, muffins, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoghton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. It was my first time in New York and the location was brilliant for exploring all the sights. Approximately 5 mins from Times Square on foot and ideal if you wanted to catch the metro at Port Authority. When the receptionist learnt that it was my first time in New York, he allocated us a room with a view of the Empire State building. We only ate breakfast once in the hotel, it was difficult to find a table, but the food was adequate and there was plenty of choice. The staff were always helpful and polite. The bar is a nice place to relax after an evening out and was never very busy whilst we were there. The room was big compared to some city hotels, and the kitchenette facilities were good and would suit a family wanting to do some cooking in the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New York. Good value for money and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

OMG the seven of us were in complete awe of this establishment. Great rooms, great breakfast, great happy hour, just about "great" everything. I have read other reviews and any further comments on my part, would just be repetitious. We stayed for a week in New York and after each day's outing, we were always looking forward to returning to our apartments to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grange53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hello and Thank you for commenting on our hotel!

We appreciate every single comment thats posted, so we encourage all of our guests to write a review even though it may be repetitive, it still means a lot to the team!!

We are very happy to hear the seven of you enjoyed your time around the city and that our goal in offering the comforts of home has succeeded with you!

Come visit us again sometime soon!
Best Wishes the Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in staybridge times square in April, 2011 and it was one of my best experiences in new York. Definitely the best hotel you can find in times square with that price. The location is just perfect, situated at walking distance from practically everything you need to find in times square. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful, and when I was late for checkout (I was out doing some last minute shopping and called in to ask if I can checkout an hour late) they were really understanding and had no problem at all. My room was EXTREMELY clean and the bathroom was intact! The breakfast selection was better or similar to most hotels I've been to in considering states, and considering it's free! I was particulary impressed with this hotel, after being to so many hotels during a tour in the US, where I have paid more money, and didn't get the same service.
The only negative would be the elevator wait. Sometimes I had to wait for a good 10mintes for the elevator. I would've given it a 5 star rating, if they could find a way to solve that problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us!

We are certainly glad that the value you received at the hotel was more than expected. We try to offer our guests all the comforts of home along with some extra perks for you to enjoy. It is also our staff's goal to make sure you are taken care of and to know that we are always here to help make your stay better.

In regards to the elevator situation, we are working diligently with our elevator company to find new ways in which to make this a more efficient mode of transportation. We have already added the weight detection feature, which once the weight limit is hit the elevator cart goes directly to the lobby without stopping. This has helped to minimize the wait time at peak times and we hope to make even more improvements in order to satisfy our guests.

We hope next you visit New York City you will come stay with us!

Best Wishes from the Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at Staybridge in late April 2012 and it was ideal for our NewYork visit. Whilst being a budget hotel rather than a posh one,it ticked all the boxes so far as we were concerned. The room was a goodsize for New York with a very big bed and included a kitchen area with microwave, hob, sink fridge freezer and a good range of pans, dishes etc. We did n't do any cooking and judging by the condition of the pans no one does, but it was nice to have facilities to make drinksand prepare packed lunches etc. Public rooms were limited, but adequate. The self serve breakfast was better than we expected and included hot dishes well cooked. The breakfast room could get rather crowded at times. We were particularly impressed with theevening "happy hour" with snacks and drinks on offer on a self serve unlimited basis. A special word for the staff who were very welcoming and friendly without exception. It was nice to have the use of a computer in the business area to check in to our return flights cand print boarding passes.
Staybridge is conveniently located on the SW edge of Midtown Manhattan and a 5 minute walk will get you to Times Square. A twenty minute walk will get you virtually anywhere in Midtown Manhattan eg southern edge of Central Park or Grand Central Station. The Hotel is opposite the Port Authority Bus Terminal from where runs the Airporter express bus to the airports - could n't be better

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing your comments with all!
I am glad you were able to take full advantage of all our complimentary amenities we have to offer, especially our “social reception”. Our staff is here to make every guests stay more pleasant and enjoyable, so I am happy to hear they were able to do so.

We look forward to having you back as our guest very soon!

Best Wishes from the entire Staybridge Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Thank you, perfect choice for my sister and I to have our first mini holiday in New York; clean, modern apartments, really appreciated the mini kitchen - strange though to have coffee machine and no kettle - but saucepan OK for heating water for tea (the English have to have their tea!). Sorry that we couldn't have the two-bedded room we had requested, but the bed was so huge we didn't mind sharing. Good choice at breakfast thank you - really set us up for a day of heavy sight-seeing. Staff all very helpful - thank you Jamie and your colleagues on front desk. Had read about slow elevators - but this wasn't a problem we encountered. Excellent location, excellent accommodation - I hope we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you Kerry for your wonderful comments!

I am glad to hear you and your sister had an amazing mini-vacation with us. Our kitchenettes and full breakfast are just two of the many assets we offer at the hotel. Next time, ask one of our front desk agents for a kettle because we do keep them on hand for our international guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time your in the city, and please do not hesitate to contact me in advance for a bed type request, I would be more than happy to take care of that for you!

Warm Wishes from the Staybridge Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#277 of 466 in New York City
4,071 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 466 in New York City
5,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 466 in New York City
1,856 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing