We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
“Perfect location and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hi,
I was a guest at the Staybridge Suites for a long duration of almost 2 months. I was on an official trip and Staybridge was booked by our official travel operator. I am glad that they made this choice because it is an excellent hotel with high service standards. The hotel staff is very friendly and courteous I really appreciate the help provided by Sunny(amongst the hotel staff). "Excellent" is the word that I would quote for his help and courtesy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha18jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,958
    1,900
    426
    74
    34
See reviews for
1,654
2,015
217
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our first trip to NYC so we were a little apprehensive. We chose the Staybridge Suites Hotel as a result of reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is in a great location within walking distance of Times Square and many of the sights we wanted to see. For sights too far to walk the "Hop-ON-Hop-Off" bus stops and public transport are very close. We felt very safe walking in this area, even when returning to the hotel close to midnight. When we checked in at night after a long flight the receptionist, Senada, was so cheerful, positive, and helpful that we felt "at home" immediately. The concierge recommended several restaurants within walking distance and the one we selected from her list was excellent. The hotel was VERY CLEAN - an important point for us. The breakfast buffet, which is included in the room rate, was good and the staff who looked after it kept the tables clean and the buffet dishes replenished. All of the hotel staff we met in the halls, elevators, etc. were very cheerful and seemed to enjoy their work and take pride in doing a good job. A unique feature for us was the FREE Happy Hour on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 5:30 to 7:00. It included beer, wine, cheese, crackers, chips and dip, and two or three hot items. We really enjoyed the opportunity to relax after a day of sightseeing and found that it was a great way to meet other tourists and share tips. The one negative for us - the hotel is very "Pet Friendly" - a problem for people like me who are allergic to animal hair.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on a higher floor. It meant that the other buildings that we were looking into wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrynnyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunakakai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A group of us chose the Staybridge for 3 nights in April, 2012. It was our first time in New York, and the location is perfect for walking or using public transportation. We arrived on Amtrak at Penn Station (Madison Square Garden) and walked with our wheeled bags to the hotel, about 10 minutes. Getting around is easy. We caught the subway right across the street at the Port Authority. It's a five minute walk to Times Square, the Theater district, and good shopping near Macys in the other direction. We also walked to Central Park, but that was a bit far. The rooms are large and very clean, with a nice little kitchen that has a full size fridge, two burners, a microwave oven, a dishwasher, and all the cookware and dishware you need, even wine glasses! We didn't cook, but loved the fridge for keeping drinks and snacks cold, and the microwave for warming up leftovers. The free breakfast was delicious and so convenient before a big day on the town. We got an early start each day (7:00am) so were able to avoid waiting for breakfast or elevators. We never had to wait long for the elevators as others had.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 18th floor with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molokaigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our recent April vacation with our teen and tween daughters. This place is new, clean, and well located near Broadway. Staff are friendly and courteous, with special kudos to Sunny, a doorman who went out of his way to point out available elevators, help stow our bags so we could wander the city the second day after we checked out, and even had the courtesy to give us room keys to use the hotel bathrooms on our arrival to get our bags and our car. The deal that includes valet parking next door is also a very good value and convenient. As others have said, the rooms and bathrooms are a bit snug, but they are clean, the shower is beautiful, and the beds are comfortable. Having the kitchenette also is a big plus. The breakfast the next morning adds to the value. It is not the best breakfast we've ever had, but was solidly good, with either scrambled eggs or mini-omelets, a choice of breakfast meats, toast, muffins, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoghton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. It was my first time in New York and the location was brilliant for exploring all the sights. Approximately 5 mins from Times Square on foot and ideal if you wanted to catch the metro at Port Authority. When the receptionist learnt that it was my first time in New York, he allocated us a room with a view of the Empire State building. We only ate breakfast once in the hotel, it was difficult to find a table, but the food was adequate and there was plenty of choice. The staff were always helpful and polite. The bar is a nice place to relax after an evening out and was never very busy whilst we were there. The room was big compared to some city hotels, and the kitchenette facilities were good and would suit a family wanting to do some cooking in the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New York. Good value for money and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

OMG the seven of us were in complete awe of this establishment. Great rooms, great breakfast, great happy hour, just about "great" everything. I have read other reviews and any further comments on my part, would just be repetitious. We stayed for a week in New York and after each day's outing, we were always looking forward to returning to our apartments to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grange53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hello and Thank you for commenting on our hotel!

We appreciate every single comment thats posted, so we encourage all of our guests to write a review even though it may be repetitive, it still means a lot to the team!!

We are very happy to hear the seven of you enjoyed your time around the city and that our goal in offering the comforts of home has succeeded with you!

Come visit us again sometime soon!
Best Wishes the Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in staybridge times square in April, 2011 and it was one of my best experiences in new York. Definitely the best hotel you can find in times square with that price. The location is just perfect, situated at walking distance from practically everything you need to find in times square. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful, and when I was late for checkout (I was out doing some last minute shopping and called in to ask if I can checkout an hour late) they were really understanding and had no problem at all. My room was EXTREMELY clean and the bathroom was intact! The breakfast selection was better or similar to most hotels I've been to in considering states, and considering it's free! I was particulary impressed with this hotel, after being to so many hotels during a tour in the US, where I have paid more money, and didn't get the same service.
The only negative would be the elevator wait. Sometimes I had to wait for a good 10mintes for the elevator. I would've given it a 5 star rating, if they could find a way to solve that problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us!

We are certainly glad that the value you received at the hotel was more than expected. We try to offer our guests all the comforts of home along with some extra perks for you to enjoy. It is also our staff's goal to make sure you are taken care of and to know that we are always here to help make your stay better.

In regards to the elevator situation, we are working diligently with our elevator company to find new ways in which to make this a more efficient mode of transportation. We have already added the weight detection feature, which once the weight limit is hit the elevator cart goes directly to the lobby without stopping. This has helped to minimize the wait time at peak times and we hope to make even more improvements in order to satisfy our guests.

We hope next you visit New York City you will come stay with us!

Best Wishes from the Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,699 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing