We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Staybridge staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks Staybridge staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Excellent stay at Staybridge. Our stay required many special requests from adjoining rooms, handicap requests and shuttle service. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us personal service in every aspect of our stay. It was great to start the day with a hot breakfast and many choices. Our stay at the Staybridge made our New York experience one we'll always remember. Thanks Staybridge for your hospitatlity!
Signed. NHS Amigas.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you Marlene for taking the time to write such nice comments!

We are very pleased that we were able to accommodate all your requests. We are always happy to make sure our guests get everything they want! We strive on a daily basis to provide 100% customer service satisfaction in order to exceed our guests' expectations.

Best Wishes NHS Amigas,
The Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,029
    1,939
    435
    75
    35
See reviews for
1,705
2,047
222
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Yes, i have to agree with most of the comments here. I stayed for 3 nights from 24 - 27 April.
I cannot see any fault with the lifts as one just have to time oneself. But generally, the excellent customer service more than makes up for it, notably the red haired guy from Niagara Falls called Daniel. Everyone was so helpful, polite and cheerful and that helps make your stay that much more enjoyable. there is nothing to fault the hotel on.

I am glad i chose Staybridge suites and feel the same as the rest who has contributed very positively in this review forum.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Digeratiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! At the Staybridge Suites we strive to offer top notch customer service to all of our guests, so its nice that you were able to get to know one of our agents, Daniel!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit!

Best Wishes,
Staybridge Team & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

With free breakfast and evening snacks, almost a meal in itself, while the rate is not cheap, theses were big savings. Excellent room, but the hotel lacks elevators and it is slow progress. Good position but it is a little bit of a stretch to say that it is on Time Square!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We booked the Staybridge Suites through Orbitz.com approximately one month prior to our stay of May 6th to 11th. We are happy we booked early as we noticed the prices increased up to $90 per night as the date got closer to our stay. We chose this hotel based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very pleased with our selection. We found that the hotel lived up to all the excellent comments posted on this site. Even though we arrived before the official check in time the front desk was able to immediately provide us with a corner room on the 21st floor. The room was clean, modern and nicely decorated. Our view was okay, we looked towards another high rise building but honestly I think I only looked out twice while we were there. The room was very quiet from any street noise and we heard very little noise from people getting on or off the elevators. The king sized bed as stated many times in other reviews was excellent.
The bathroom was very modern and had a glass shower (which I prefer to tub/shower). The kitchenette was well designed with large fridge, stove microwave and dishwasher. All the plates, glasses, cooking utensils looked modern and new. We mainly used the fridge but it was nice to have a microwave and coffee machine available, in the room.
Our room was cleaned daily and the maid even washed any dishes we may have used. I would suggest that everyone leave a few dollars daily for the maid. They do a great job every day.
The free breakfast was great; the staff was very friendly and worked very hard to refill the various dishes as quickly as possible. I found the variety and number of items available very good and as we were there for 5 days we were glad to see a change daily to most of the hot food items. Yes it can be a bit crowded but we managed to find a seat very quickly every day.
The free evening reception Tuesday through Thursdays 5:30 to 7 pm was also excellent. You can help yourself, among other beverages, to beer such as Bud Light or glasses of red or white wine. The snacks and hot food that they provided were also very good and we also noted the staff works very quickly to replenish the food and the beverages. Again the area can be a bit busy but we were always able to find a table and chair and sit down. I also found the white wine to be very good.
I did not have very much personal interaction with the hotel staff (because I did not have any major issues and had booked my tours etc before I arrived) but they certainly were very friendly and appeared very efficient.
I noted in a previous review that a person was somewhat unhappy with just one night table. Our room with a king bed also had one night table and we would have preferred two night tables. My understanding was that due to the layout of the rooms the king suites may either have one or two night tables. My wife actually thought that we, maybe, should request a different room with two night tables but I basically told her it was a nice corner room on the 21st floor which they made available to us early, why complain. I moved the nice chair foot stool to my side of the bed and used as a night table which was adequate for my purposes.
People have commented on the elevators, we had virtually no problems with them. We noted on a previous review that the hotel and elevator company had made a change that once an elevator has reached its maximum weight it will automatic go to the main floor without stopping. We experienced this several times and it certainly is very efficient.
We asked for a late checkout on Friday morning the front desk extended our checkout time which was really appreciated as our flight was not leaving until later in the day.
I would not be concerned about some of the comments regarding the area that the hotel is located in. We had absolutely no problems walking anywhere in that area at any time. In fact the location is great only a few minutes walk to Times Square and across the street from the Bus station. In fact we took the express bus to EWR airport. You catch it about a block away on 41st street and info can be obtained in the bus terminal at the Gray Line counter. It was fast about 35 minutes (although I would allow more time due to the traffic in New York) and only $16 per person. It drops you off at your choice of terminal A, B or C.
We also researched restaurants on Tripadvisor.com and reserved through Open Table at Tony's Di Napoli – Midtown. Service and food was very good and prices were also very good. In fact we went back a few nights later without a reservation, it was busy with wait times of over half hour. We explained we have been there a few nights before and they found us a table within 15 minutes. We also went to John’s Pizzeria, again prices were very good and the pizza was excellent. Both restaurants are within easy walking distance.
I hope this review is helpful to people. I plan and book all our vacations online and use Tripadvisor.com to research and learn about the location where we plan to go and I rely a lot on the reviews on this site, so I believe we all should try and contribute to this site.
To summarize it was a pleasure to return ever night to a hotel room that was clean, modern, comfortable and upbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank j5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review and tips, they are very helpful to prospective travelers!

Were are glad to hear you felt happy to come back to relax after each day of sightseeing!

Next time you visit, let us know, so we can make sure you recieve the room requests you prefer (i.e, shower/tub combo and two night stands) . We want all our guests to get what they want, so don't ever hesitate to ask!!

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit NYC!

Best Wishes,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed with our 2 night stay. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient near Times Square although the outlook is not something to rave about. Reasonable value for money given that you have fridge and cooking facilities and can reduce dining out costs if you want. The free drinks and food in the evening is a nice touch but the space for breakfast is quite crowded. The staff were great and went out of their way to assist us deal with a personal matter. Overall much better than we expected to find in NYC for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we definitely appreciate all your comments!!

Our goal is to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out. That's what we are here for. The Staybridge Suites was made to "feel comfortable and homey", that is why we offer all the comforts and amenities you would expect to recieve at home.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Best Wishes,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

After an exhausting internet trawl of hotels in New York I decided on the Staybridge based on the Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! Hotels in general are pricey in New York but with the central location of the Staybridge we didn't need to pay for a taxi once - we caught the NYC airporter (would strongly recommend using their scheduled Port Authority stop instead of their separate hotel shuttle - see separate review!), used the subway and walked which cut down on our transport costs.
The breakfast was perfect - good selection of hot and cold foods with takeaway containers which we packed with a fruit piece and yogurt for later. The evening social that they provide Tues - Thurs is a great bonus with a hot dish, finger food and complimentary sodas/beer and wine.
The free wifi worked perfectly for us and the rooms were of a good standard with the kitchenette a handy alternative to eating out some nights.
The staff were very friendly and courteous throughout our stay from reception, restaurant and cleaning staff always finding the time to say hi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank squirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review!

Our location is great to enjoy all New York City has to offer, so I am glad to hear it helped you out during your stay. The breakfast and social reception are usually the two favorite amenities amongst our travelers.

The staff are always here to help, from the front desk, to the bellman, and even our breakfast staff. We are all waiting with smiles on our faces ready to meet and greet our guests.

I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Staybridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Not the Waldorf Estoria...but just as good. The Amenities (free breakfast, afternoon cocktail on weekday, free laundry facility - to include the detergent, and excellent, modern fitness equipement. The only thing missing was a spa. I always choose a 4/5-star facility but since I was treating my mom, sister & daughter for the 5 days...I needed to downgrade on accomodations and still be centrally located. The Staybridge was in a great location, easy walk to times square, Port Authority and all else NYC has to offer. I was thoroughly satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samchanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,875 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing