We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy stay in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy stay in NY”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We came to NY for a quick trip to look at colleges and see some sites while in the city. The Hampton Inn was very centrally located in Times Square and a quick walk to several subway lines. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms, although very small, were clean. The breakfast came in handy, saving us time and $ in the mornings when we were trying to get out the door. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the construction going on across the street from the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
To our wonderful reviewer:

Thank you for considering our hotel to be an easy and convenient find! We truly appreciate the fair manner in which you have reviewed us. We are also happy to see that our hotel amenities were convenient to your needs such as our free breakfast! In regards to your helpful tip, we do give our guests the option of choosing a room on either side of the building depending on their requests, so they can steer away from the noise of the construction site. Again thank you for your review and since you would definitely come back, we would definitely love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    913
    309
    93
    70
See reviews for
869
565
129
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NE Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Here for business so not a lot of time at the hotel but staff was friendly, helpful, room was quiet and clean (and small).

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on back side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchy-Ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate all kinds of feedback, even if they're short and sweet and too point, such as yours! If ever in NYC, we would love to have you back! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here as part of tour group for New York Marathon. When we arrived at 10.30 pm thought area looked a bit dodgy. Arrival at reception was OK. Only one staff member on with about 30 checking in. Had read previous reviews and knew the lifts were slow and had to wait a while for them. Only two lifts in building. Found the rooms much better than I expected, lovely and clean. Really liked the white duvet covers. Nice and fresh and clean. Rooms small but as you expect in NY. Bathrooms clean. I shared room with a friend, so was fine. Only two suitcases, two double beds. We had thought about sharing room with 2 others to save money, that would not have been good. Too cramped. Didn't think much of restaurant. Plastic plates! Food - OK, but that all, not wonderful. Hated throw away plates, cutlery etc. Staff - OK, not wonderful, not helpful at tour desk. Just came to collect her pay I think. Close to Times Square. Dodgy club at end of street, we used to walk other way, along a block and up next straight to avoid that dodgy area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear GTG2,

We appreciate your honest review of your hotel and are happy to see that you were comfortable with the hotel accommodations but not exactly with the area. New York City is known for having areas that may seem "shady" but are deemed safe due to the well-lit streets that are patrolled at all hours of the night. We have never had an incident to occur with any of our guests in our area, so no need to be afraid; we will keep you safe :) We are saddened to see you did not enjoy our breakfast as much due to our "plastic cutlery." We unfortunately do not have a full service restaurant, which limits our ways to sanitize steel cutlery or porcelain plates; hence the biodegradable plates and forks. We hope the experiences from your past stay do not deter you from staying with us again! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

In the evening of our arrival date, the customer service manager, Evangeline Sanchez, called to let us know that our two dbl/sofa bed suite was not available due to a plumbing problem. She offered different solutions to accommodate our family. Even thought I used my Hilton Honor points for our stay, we were treated respectfully as regular paying customers. We got two rooms side by side with a perfect Empire building view, as well as discount parking. I appreciate her effort because the whole building was sold out during our stay.

We stayed at the Element at an unbeatable Travel Zoo rate before we moved into the Hampton Inn(they are next to each other on the same street). The Element was newer with a kitchen, but only offered one King-size bed so the primary customers are adults. Hampton Inn, in the other hand, is more family-friendly. The breakfast at Hampton Inn is better and has more variety than the one at Element. We did not have a problem finding seating as we had at the Element. My only complaint is that the elevator opens to narrow hallways which, caused traffic jams in the morning as the all the guests were either heading for the breakfast or checking out. Although it is located at the city center, it is quiet day and night.

You can trust the customer service at Hampton Inn Times Square South the next time you choose the New York Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear ChristinaF.,

I would personally like to thank you for the kind words. We really did try to accomodate you and your family as best as possible since the plumbing incident was out of our control. I am SOOO happy that everything worked out so well and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you again for the great review and if your ever in the city again, please do not hesitate to contact me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We really liked this hotel. Room,bathroom very very clean (and we are pickey).
We were on a high floor and never had a problem with the elevators. We were there during the week for 5 nights. Coffee,tea,hot chocolate available in the lobby
for free 24 hours a day. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room. Always
friendly when you would see them in the halls. The elevator would stop and if
they would see you on they would wait and let you go. No need to do that. Let them on so they can get their work day completed. We always leave a few dollars
everyday for them...they deserve it! Breakfast was good....something for everyone....they breakfast ladies were so nice always filling the food items for you to choose from and cleaning the tables always with a smile.
Yogurt,apples, bananas,muffins,english muffins,eggs,sausage, ham (rotating),milk,ceral(fruit loops,raisin bran, and cornflakes i believe), orange juice & cranberry juice,peanut butter, jam,1 waffle machine. Filled you up before the start to your busy day...and it's Free! A nice little room off to the side in the lobby with 2 computers and a printer no charge. Everyone was very friendly to us. They have a safety deposit box at the front desk that you can use. They booked a shuttle van for us to the airport...saved about 25 dollars to Newark airport. Everything was very very clean. Next door is the holiday inn and comfort inn I believe. Across the street they are building expensive apartments. The street doesn't look like the best area when you arrive but it save. Close by to the theater district and times square. They are about a 15 minute walk. Mary Poppins theater is close by the hotel. We really enjoyed our first visit to New York...yes the rooms are small but if you don't have alot of luggage they really aren't that bad at all. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor during the week and had no problems with the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wintertime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
To our wonderful reviewer:

We have to thank you for the absolutely wonderful review! It was touching to see that you do appreciate the hard work from our housekeeping staff and that you were treated well while staying with us. Hampton Inns are prestigious for their cleanliness standards, and seeing that you are "picky," clean rooms are a must! Our breakfast can be plentiful and a bit overwhelming with all of the items, and after staying 5 nights with us, I'm sure you savored all of the items. Thank you again for the touching review. If you do return, we will be happy to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA, ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Excellent location, warm welcome, staff are always smiling and can't do enough for you!
Breakfast decent quality and variety- perfect for filling up and getting out to see the sights of NYC.
Rooms compact, clean and new bedding n towels daily. Secure rooms, we left phones and money out and came back to them untouched.
Brilliant location to see the sights, short walk from Macy's, empire state and Rockefeller. We walked to battery park it took about 90 minutes and to central park about 30. Times square and empire about ten minutes.
Only downside was garbage truck outside at 3:30 am. Floor 11 not high enough, ask for room higher than 20 and at the back!!
However, that's not enough to detract from the excellent welcome, service and comfort of this great hotel.
Thank you Hampton for a great first trip to NYC :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAZ_BROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are ecstatic to see that you had a great time in NYC and this was your first trip here! From the looks of it, you may be an avid walker so I'm sure you assimilated with the area just fine since all of the main attractions are accessible to our location! Thank you again for the wonderful comments about our staff and about our hotel. We appreciate all of positive feedback from our guests! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here recently for five nights. In most respects this is a typical Hampton Inn, however there are a few exceptions. First; there are only two elevators for a 32 story hotel. Our average wait for an elevator was approximately 10 minutes, one time we waited over twenty minutes. We found it faster to walk down 21 floors!!!! The elevators were not malfunctioning, these are very small elevators and they were usually full when one did stop at our floor. One time during our stay the elevator did come quickly and we could get on the first one..that was the only time!!!! Second; The room was small, very, very small...it was almost impossible for both of us to move around in there at the same time. Third, the bathroom is tiny but the shower is beyond small, it is microscopic....impossible for me to stand sideways and I'm 6 foot 190 lbs!!!! Fourth; it was next to impossible to find a place to sit for breakfast as the breakfast seating area was also very small. If you are a smaller than average person and like small places then this would probably be a great place to stay if almost no one else is there!! A positive: the hotel was clean and the staff seemed very helpful and aplogized quite often!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumpinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa G, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your response. We here at the Hampton Inn value your tips and opinions. Once more we are sorry for the size of everything as it was an issue with your stay with us and we hope that next time you stay with us, we can accommodate a bit more and make your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
5,325 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 467 in New York City
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 467 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#223 of 467 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing