We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in New York!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nagykanizsa, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice in New York!!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is very modern and the location is super. (2 minutes walk to Times Square)
The room was comfortable and clean.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krisztian1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your New York City trip. We're very happy to hear you loved your stay, and enjoyed every aspect we have to offer. We are located very conveniently just minutes away from major attractions, as you mentioned, and our clean and comfortable rooms, as well as our fantastic staff, are both very celebrated aspects. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you for your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,362
    1,277
    238
    33
    15
See reviews for
945
2,504
230
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just stayed at the Distrikt for 5 nights (26 Jan-31 Jan). In one word - fantastic! Great rooms, REALLY clean and very smart. The cleanest bathrooms we've ever seen! All linen "Frette" label - beautiful. But best of all, the staff. They have to be the friendliest, nicest people you could ever wish to meet. Coming in from the cold you're greeted with hot coffee, hot cider etc. Chocolates on the pillows and a great little card giving you weather details for the next day. View from our room (28th floor) just magic! 5 minutes to Times Square, 3 minutes to a metro station, and 5 minutes to great restaurants on 9th Ave. We know where we're staying next time, and we're telling all our friends too! The Distrikt has become our hotel of choice!! Well done guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2801 - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are very glad to hear we were able to make your trip a very enjoyable one. We are very proud of our friendly and attentive staff; thank you for your wonderful feedback and we're happy you were able to get to know them. Our very clean and modern rooms are accompanied by equally desirable amenities and services, such as the complimentary chocolates and weather cards at turndown service that you mentioned. Other amenities include complimentary wifi, complimentary coffee/tea machine in your room, free delivery of the New York Times every weekday morning, and more. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to the Big Apple! Please contact us directly so we can make your next trip even more enjoyable. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We loved the Distrikt - great location near Times Sq, super friendly and helpful staff and stylish decor. The rooms aren't huge but then this is NYC! They are beautifully done and very clean. Very good value for money. The whole hotel has a really nice vibe to it. We we a bit worried about the area as the street it's on looks a little dodgy but we didn't have any reason to worry as we always felt safe. The hotel is a few mins walk to the Subway so you can get around NY really easily.

The staff have lots of great recommendations for restaurants and are more than happy to help. They recommended The Westway diner for breakfast which was great if you're looking for a typical American diner experience and very good value for money. We also tried 5 Napkin Burger which was amazing and a few mins walk away - amazing vibe, cool decor and the best burgers ever! Try HK which is literally across the road - great cocktails and food and really nice staff.

Lots of geat additions make this hotel worth the visit - free newspaper outside your room every day, internet access in your room, free coffee every morning and apple cider in the afternoon. We also got a free $20 appreciation card to use in the restaurant just for becoming their Facebook friend in advance. Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Become their friend on Facebook and post on their wall when you are staying. We did and got a high l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We see you've become quite familiar with the neighborhood, and can even list restaurants now! We're very happy to see our friendly and attentive staff was able to assist in making your trip unforgettable. We are, as you pointed out, very close to Times Square as well as all major train lines and major attractions, which makes your trip easy and efficient. Being just two years old, our rooms are very clean, comfortable, and modern. We offer many complimentary amenities such as the ones you mentioned, and we do enjoy chatting with our guests on Facebook and Twitter; all guests are encouraged to reach out to us online and we're happy to chat! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again for your next New York City getaway. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I was nervous about this hotel. It looked small. It was on 40th and 9th, right across from the Port Authority - but the reviews on TripAdvisor coupled with the price convinced me to take a chance. I'm glad I did. While the rooms here are small, they are very well appointed and comfortable. But nothing in this hotel outshines the staff. I've never seen a group of people work so hard to make each and every guest happy. No task was too odd or too small - from checking restaurants for reservations, to running out in the rain to hail a cab, to arranging a car and driver for us for a day around NYC - whatever the request, they not only helped, they seemed genuinely happy to do it. This is a boutique hotel with a service model that the rest of the industry would do well to emulate. The only area where the hotel falls short is the food. The Collage Bar and Bistro serves some pretty anemic food. I'm pretty sure the kitchen consists of two microwaves and a toaster. Fortunately, NYC is loaded with great places to eat, so it really didn't matter in the grand scheme. This was a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: City view rooms are worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel during your New York City visit. We're so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and that our attentive staff was able to assist you thoroughly. Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are always happy to know our attention to detail has translated to a satisfying experience for the guest. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy dinner at Collage Bistro & Bar. Our dinner service is suited for those who want to grab a light bite before heading out on the town for the evening. Our breakfast service offers both Continental and American breakfasts depending on your preference. We appreciate your feedback and continue to improve every aspect. Thank you again and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable; we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

There are many reasons this hotel is so highly rated, first the location; only 10 minutes walk from Times Square means that you are within easy reach of the centre of the city. Some other contributers have mentioned the nearby Parole Office, but there was no issue when walking by, either during the day or night.
Second reason for chosing the Distrikt is the staff; they cant be more helpful, whether its suggesting places to visit or the offer of free hot cider they really cant do enough for you and if you follow the hotel on Twitter and tweet that you are visiting there is every chance you will be given an upgrade like us.
Thirdly, the rooms for New York are excellent, having stayed in other NYC hotels I wasnt expecting anything more than a cupboard with a bed, but the room on the 4th Floor we stayed in was a decent size with a nicely sized shower room.
Fourth reason; price, our room worked out around £130 per night which was excellent value.

The best thing I can say about the Distrikt is that when we take our next trip to NYC there is only one hotel I would consider. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We are located right by the heart of Times Square, just the perfect walking distance to stray from the hustle and bustle of it all, as well as many other major attractions a quick walk away such as Macy's, Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and more. Our neighborhood has changed drastically in the last decade or so, and has continue to do so with the revitalizing of Port Authority, more plants on the street, and so forth. We do pride ourselves on our fantastic staff and we're happy to hear they were able to assist you thoroughly. We love chatting with our guests on Facebook and Twitter, so guests are encouraged to chat with us through those mediums. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next time in the Big Apple. Please contact us directly so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

reviews are right on - neighborhood is not the nicest but close to train, rooms are surprisingly quiet, nice comfortable beds, adequate room size, staff was friendly and capable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're glad you enjoyed every aspect of us and we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more pleasant. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I've found this hotel through Tripadvisor as I was looking for a quiet and clean hotel in a good location with free wi-fi and good breakfast. Distrikt Hotel has extremely good reviews (and I fully agree with them). I was really amazed with the quality of service before and after I arrive there. In the website of the hotel you can see an option to chat with a real person and actually it works! I could chat with someone who helped me to have a good deal and a fantastic, quiet room. Warm welcome at the arrival and happy feeling throughout the stay each time you meet the staff members. Also at the breakfast room great service. So perfect! Rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean, hotel is newly and very nicely renovated. No complaints on that. The location of the hotel was a bit less than I expected. It is located on the same street as the Port Authority Bus Station and typical for a location as such it doesn't appeal a lot when you walk on that street. It is safe though, there are always people and activity on the street and I have not experienced anything bad but simply it appears like a less interesting part of the area (sex shops here and there and sometimes weird guys hanging around etc). Yet it is very central and close to everything!

My only 'negative' comment is about the refrigerator in the room. This may sound normal to American's perhaps but as a European I found it very strange that I cannot store anything of my own in the fridge. It was designed with small compartments with a note that once you open the drawer and pull a drink it will be automatically charged and that you cannot put it back. Now, I get the point that people may replace beverages etc but this practice basically prevents you from putting anything in the fridge yourself. When I went down to the reception the staff was extremely kind to tell me that they are happy to store our things in the fridge downstairs, which I indeed asked for it but since it is a strange thing to do we completely forgot about our stuff when we had to leave the hotel. I understand the fridge is designed this way to make people pay for the beverages but on the other hand not being able to store your own things is a kind of strange. What if you have medicines? You have to go all the way up down to get them each time you need. Or you may want to have a glass of wine in the middle of the night or just cold water you bought as it costs way too much in the hotel. I think the customer should be given a choice in a quality hotel as such.

Well, let this be my only little comment. Otherwise absolutely fantastic hotel to be and next time I am definitely staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask a room at the back side of the hotel (though i don't think the front side is too noisy eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankaralim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our Collage Bistro & Bar offers Continental and American breakfast daily. Being just two years old, our rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable, and includes complimentary amenities such free wifi, free coffee/tea maker, complimentary New York Times delivered to your door every weekday, and more. We're so glad our staff was able to assist you thoroughly during your stay and made your trip even more enjoyable. We are sorry you had a negative experience with the mini-bar. Unfortunately we are contractually obligated since pre-opening of the hotel to an outside company for the mini-bars for a certain amount of time, however had we known guest preferences we would have implemented fridges instead. Thank you very much for your honest feedback, it assists us in continuously improving. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,891 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing