We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #75 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Dorado Springs, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great time in New York. Out first visit and the hotel staff was fantastic. They helped us in everyway. When it was raining, they provided umbrella. They gave directions and helpful hints. The rooms were large and clean. I can not say enough about the staff. They certainly made sure that we enjoyed New York. Short walk to Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmnading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us for your New York City visit. We're glad to hear you were able to get to know the staff and they were able to assist you. We're also glad that you enjoyed our very central location as well as the clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,510
    1,362
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,027
2,611
246
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Aside from being in a great location, the hotel is beautiful – gorgeous interior design.

The rooms are good-sized and very comfortable. There is a clothes iron in every room, which is helpful if you are a businessman.

The staff was really kind and helpful.

My only criticism is the location of the room: ours was right next to a "staff room" – which means a little storage cabinet for the cleaning lady. Every time she used it she would make a lot of noise and it almost sounded as if she is trying to get into our room. Also, we were in a lower floor (3'rd), so there was some noise from the street coming in.

Other than that – the hotel is REALLY expensive, but I guess it's only to be expected from an NYC hotel…

Bottom line – I would recommend this hotel, but mind the room.

Room Tip: choose room in high floor and not next to a cleaning cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SupernovaSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and found us aesthetically pleasing, as well as the staff friendly and rooms comfortable. We are sorry to hear that the location of the housekeeping closet was an inconvenience. Unfortunately all rooms are housekeeping closets are located at the same positions on all 32 floors adjacent to the roomiest King room type. Our housekeeping team is very careful not to disturb your time of leisure and rest, however we apologize that it was a negative experience. We do thank you for sharing your experience with us and for our other Trip Advisor readers we encourage our guests to approach the front desk with any questions or concerns. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Best regards from the Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have stayed in hundreds of hotels, our decision to stay here on June 27 was one of the finest reservations we have ever made. If you have the opportunity to stay at the Distrikt, you really must; it is truly a superb property! It distances itself from the other hotels by virtue of it's staff - from the initial "hello" of the doorman, to the "thank you" of the garage attendant, your experience at the Distrikt is a rare pleasure.

Room Tip: The views from the upper floors are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogoxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're so happy to hear you felt you made a good decision in staying here at Distrikt, and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on our very friendly and attentive staff, so it's wonderful to know it made a difference in your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Best regards from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The whole process from booking to checkout was flawless. This is a wonderful hotel staffed by equally wonderful people who are dedicated to making sure your stay in New York is perfect. Upon check in we were provided with maps, information and friendly advice tailored to our needs. The room was modern, comfortable, very clean and well appointed. The Hotel is well located within walking distance to times square and other attractions. There is not only free wi-fi but the Hotel also provides desktop workstations in the lobby (where there is also tea/coffee provisions). An overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us for your New York City visit. We're glad to hear you were able to get to know the staff and they were able to assist you. We're also glad that you enjoyed our very central location as well as the clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We love this place it is about 10 minute walk to time square.
room are deck out . we you arrive to the hotel there are 2 types of organic teas nice and cold.
the elevator was very secue you need your key to go up.

next door is grey papaya 2 hot dogs and a drink 3.00 or ny pizza slice 1.00 better than home delivery.

Room Tip: ask for high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzytobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us for your New York City visit. We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you were able to take advantage of our very convenient location, and you even found a local spot that you enjoyed. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City! Take care until then. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was my second stay at the Distrikt and much better than the first. Overall, it's a great hotel for the price in the middle of the city.

Great staff - informative, friendly
Rooms are a good size for the city and clean and nice decor.
Central location - a couple of blocks from Times Square, near a number of subway lines - it is directly opposite the side of Port Authority which is unattractive, and maybe noisy on the lower floors. We had a room at the back of the hotel and it was silent all night.

Only irritation was that the teas/coffees weren't replaced every day. When you're paying the same rate as a new guest would, your room should have the same facilities refreshed. But when we asked for some, they were brought up by the staff.

Overall, if you get it on a deal (as we did), it's a great location in an expensive city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for staying with us for the second time for your return New York City visit. We're glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to provide an even better experience this time around. We're happy to hear you found the location convenient, room comfortable and clean, and the staff helpful. We're sorry to hear you experienced some inconvenience regarding the coffee/tea machine. We have relayed this helpful feedback to our housekeeping staff. Thank you for contact the front desk immediately so that we were able to remedy the situation. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City! Take care until then. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

From the time I made the reservation to the time we checked out, our experience with this hotel was fantastic. My husband and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if we returned to New York.

Lauren assisted me by phone with answering my many questions and making the reservation, and also left a personal, handwritten note in the room for us when we checked in. When she learned it was our first time in NY and we were staying for 10 days, she ensured we were booked into one of the square-shaped rooms (numbers end in 01 or 02) rather than the rectangular-shaped rooms (numbers end in 03-05), as they are configured to give more usable space - greatly appreciated.

We found the size of the room to be larger than we had expected for the middle of Manhattan; we weren't tripping over each other the way we have in some other downtown big-city hotels we've stayed in. The king bed was very comfortable, if a little softer than I prefer. The shower was a good size, and there was lots of counter space in the bathroom. All the standard amenities, including coffee maker, hair dryer, in-room safe, flat-screen tv, iron and ironing board. But best of all, the room was immaculately clean, and this is coming from someone who is pretty fussy about these things. The linens looked as though they were brand new, and there wasn't a speck of dust anywhere. I had inquired when I made the reservation about the steps they take to prevent against bedbugs; suffice to say they take it very seriously, take significant prevention steps, and have never had an outbreak.

There are so many little touches at this hotel - free wi-fi, free use of computers and printing in the lobby, brownies in the room at check-in, weather forecast card and chocolates placed in the room during turn-down each night. The staff are very welcoming and helpful - they greeted us each time we exited and entered the hotel, and answered countless questions about how to best get to points of interest in the city.

The location of is great - a short walk to the Theatre District, Restaurant Row and subway stations, but not in the middle of the chaos of Times Square. The area is not unsafe or even unsavory. There are several hotels in a row on the street so lots of people coming and going at all hours. There is a significant NYPD presence in the Times Square and surrounding area; we never felt uneasy.

From location to staff to cleanliness to amenities - everything was just excellent, and also an excellent value, and you really couldn't go wrong booking a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ending in number 01 or 02, as they are configured to provide more usable space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC-Westcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review! We're so glad to hear you and your husband had a terrific first visit to New York from beginning to end. We're very happy to see the room was more spacious that you had expected and that it provided you with a clean and comfortable stay. We do believe that the little touches make a difference, so it's great to hear that these amenities made a difference in your stay. And we're happy to see you were able to take advantage of all our elements, such as the central and convenient location, and friendly staff. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband again for your next visit to New York City. Please feel free to contact us directly next time so we can make your stay even more unforgettable! Best regards from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 466 in New York City
1,009 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,148 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,836 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#21 of 466 in New York City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing