We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Travel Writer's Experience in the Manhattan Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #173 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Travel Writer's Experience in the Manhattan Suite”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The lobby of this relatively new hotel is colorful and brilliantly contemporary. The front desk is directly in front of a courtyard. In the courtyard grows a metal tree – a man-made piece of organic art. At night, when my family and I headed out the door to experience New York, the lights in the yard played up the colors and made me wonder what was real out there and what was not.

Upon our arrival, the front desk staff greeted me with unusual warmth. Throughout our stay, staff talked to us in a personable on-on-one way rarely seen in hotels. As this was a special trip, a graduation present for our nineteen-year-old son, I especially appreciated each friendly staff member we came across.

THE MANHATTAN SUITE

We didn’t share with our son, Tyler, that we had a spectacular suite. He led our little group into the room and switched on the lights. Had the room been filled with people yelling, “surprise!” he wouldn’t have been more taken aback by this fantastic suite. The skyline expanded from one end of the room collection to the other in floor-to-ceiling windows. Tyler headed straight there to hunt down the Empire State Building. His next stop was his room, a study complete with desktop computer and iHome stereo system with a sofa bed pulled out just for him. After a quick comfort check (the bed passed), he headed to the enormous couch and switched on the giant TV.

My husband and I took time to not the finer details like the gorgeous drapes and plush sculptured carpet. Our room, which could also be a standard room when it is sectioned off of the suite by a locked door, featured a top-quality bed and linens and a long bathroom with soaking tub. We also had our own desktop computer and still more expansive windows.

When everyone was done exploring, we settled into posh robes and ordered Tower Heist on pay-per-view. After the movie, we stuck it out for a bit more and watched a channel previewing the shows currently on and off Broadway as well as other entertainment and dining options in the city. We all agreed it seemed a shame to fall asleep and miss out on a moment of living this life. Just before bed, we noticed the undeniable glow of Times Square out the bedroom window.

BEYOND ROOMS

Should you book the Manhattan suite and still wish to venture beyond your room, Chef Todd English heads the restaurant Ca Va Brasserie. The restaurant is as beautiful and impressive as the rest of the hotel and boasts three separate dining areas. There is also a lounge, a 24-hour fitness center and 10,000 square-feet of meeting and event space.

MY RECOMMENDATION

Tyler’s smile didn’t fade from check-in to check-out. I know he’ll remember this trip for his entire life as will my husband and I. To make some suite memories of your own, I absolutely recommend the Intercontinental near Times Square.

My husband and I have a YouTube channel featuring video reviews of luxury hotels. Take a look! http://www.YouTube.com/TravelbyLori.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,717
    1,704
    534
    175
    123
See reviews for
1,619
1,693
242
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here for a night with 2 children and hotel was wonderful. Great location, extremely clean and staff was exceptional - extremely friendly and helpful. Will be coming back often for our family trips into NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We've stayed at this hotel 4 times in the past year. It is fairly new and has a luxurious, modern feel...and is in a fabulous location for sightseeing all around the city (44th between 8th and 9th, subway is right on the corner, lots of taxis available). It's easy to get to 5th Ave for shopping, Upper West Side, Soho, etc...just jump on the subway or walk!
The rooms are on the smaller side, but very nice size for NYC. We stayed there with our children (12 & 10) and always get connecting rooms (king connecting to 2 double beds)...most hotels won't guarantee the connecting rooms, but if you call the hotel directly and speak to their on-site reservations, they will hold it for you.
Beds are comfortable, windows do good job of blocking out city noise (it's right in Times Square so would be noisy without soundproofing) decor is very tasteful. Bathrooms are very nicely appointed with good lighting, big mirror, Gilchrist & Soames bath products, great large shower head.
The service is always great, from check in to doormen grabbing a cab. Concierge is very knowledgable and helpful.
Only negative, on this most recent trip, was that although the hotel is 100% non-smoking, we could smell cigarette smoke through the ventilation system on our last day. Seemed like someone was smoking in a nearby room and the smell came through the vents. Called to tell them about it, and they sent security to track down the offenders. First time that was an issue.
Definitely try the in-house restaurant, Ca va, a Todd English production. The food is always amazing (especially the pomme frites!)!
Would give it a 4 1/2 or very good + if possible...it is great and we will definitely stay there again...just can't give it 5 stars when I compare it to The Peninsula, Ritz or other 5 stars I've stayed at before.

Room Tip: call hotel directly to guarantee connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ederose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on business the first week in February. Location is great for Times Square sight seeing. Price is reasonable for the location but it is a pet peeve of mine to pay for internet in nicer hotels. Check in was smooth. Bellmen and staff were very helpful with suggestions and directions. Room was slightly dated but very nice with exceptional shower. I was on street side on 4th floor but street noise was not noticeable to me.

Very nice lobby bar area. Restaurant food is very good but pricey even for NYC. All in all, I enjoyed the stay here and plan to go back with family in early fall for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countryguylawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was my 2nd visit to the IC TS so I knew what I was getting. It still looks new and the location is great for Times Square, Broadway, shows and sight seeing.

As an Ambassador member I was upgraded and given a large (for NYC) room on a high floor, facing East so a great view towards Times Square and beyond. The room has all the amenities you need. Lamps with power sockets built in, for example, make it very easy to plug in the many devices I now seem to carry around with me when I travel.

Wifi reception was good, however whilst it was free to me as an ambassador offer, hotels should provide it for free to all.

The bar off the lobby is a great place to sit and people watch, enjoy a few drinks and relax after a long day of walking round Manhattan.

I think my only complaint would be I only got turn down service 50% of the time. Whilst I can do without the curtains being shut, a light being left on, etc, the chocolates they leave are lovely!

Not the cheapest hotel around, but I'll be back next year no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chistery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

There are few (if any) good cheap hotels in NYC. It is worth (in my opinion) paying a little more to have an oasis of calm at the end of a busy day. This is what ICTS provided.

The room was spacious and modern - with everything that one needs. We went for a Skyview room and there was no traffic noise at all - again a big plus after a busy day.

Only gripes a usual things re (no) free wifi and expensive water. Again not a big surprise - just be prepared.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Concierge gave us good tips for dinner.

Location works well for Broadway (obviously) but a few blocks away if it is 5th Avenue shopping one is after.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Skyview room if you want to be away from traffic noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRITdidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

With a triple aspect view giving close to 240 degree sweep of the New York skyline, our modern, well equipped room was fantastic. This is the only New York hotel I have stayed in where my sleep was not disturbed in the night by the sound of sirens - in fact the loudest noise came from the hard drive of the in-room desktop computer (solved by unplugging it!).

We used the hotel as base for shopping in the Diamond District, and walking around Times Square, 5th Avenue and Central Park. The only taxis we used on our trip were to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Stay in a high floor. Junior Suite provides the Triple Aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 466 in New York City
1,021 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,432 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#271 of 466 in New York City
4,251 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 466 in New York City
6,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing