We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,242)
Filter reviews
6,242 results
Traveller rating
3,230
1,962
648
237
165
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,230
1,962
648
237
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york sky view room times square ambassador member shake shack corner room rain shower around the corner subway entrance higher floor mini bar late check hell's kitchen central park hudson river an upgrade the theater district
Filter
Updating list...
2,367 - 2,372 of 6,242 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

The hotel is very well located just off of Times Square. This provided excellent access to Times Square, but also the theatre district, subway, restaurants, and Grayline Bus tours, whether going uptown or downtown. It is a nice walk to Lincoln Centre, Central Park, and Madison Avenue, and the Highline.
The room was a very nice size, well appointed, and could be cooled or heated as desired- we preferred cool and it worked very well for a comfortable sleep. The walk in shower with rain shower and wand was fantastic, especially after along day sight seeing. All the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BernieYOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin G, Front Office Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear BernieYOW,

We are very pleased to know that you had an excellent experience during your recent stay with us and hope to host you during your next Big Apple adventure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jasmin Glueck
Assistant Director of Front Office
InterContinental New York Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

NYC in general has a reputation for overpriced hotel rooms. Although the InterContinental is in a good location(unless you really don't like Times Square), a room here is not worth $400 and up a night. The hotel seems mostly setup for business and we stayed on business for 3 nights. The room was quite small. The room service was average at best. The service was blah.

Times Square is not my favorite location. It is just a bit too crowded for my taste. There is a Shake Shack around the corner and a few good restaurants within walking distance, but nothing great.

You can probably find a much nicer hotel for the same amount of money somewhere in Manhattan. Unless you are set on Time Square as your base of operation, you can and should do better with your buck!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin G, Front Office Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear tpwoofs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Sincerely,

Jasmin Glueck
Assistant Director of Front Office
InterContinental New York TImes Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2015

The hotel is very well situated for visiting all the main attractions in New York and very close to Broadway. The staff a very helpful and the breakfast area is good. The wifi is really quick but pricey. The communal areas good be larger outside of the room there is not a lot of space to sit in but if you going to be out and about perhaps that's not an issue. The rooms were clean but if there is 3 or 4 people is a bit snug but I guess it's a price space.balance

Room Tip: High is best
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin G, Front Office Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2015

Dear Denis P,

Thank you very much for sharing your valued feedback. We are happy to read that you liked our location, room and enjoyed your breakfast at our CaVa brasserie. I can certainly understand your comment about the room size but rest assured that our room are comparable to all rooms on the tiny Manhattan area.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jasmin Glueck
Assistant Director of Front Office
InterContinental New York Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 11-14 October - the location is excellent, about a 5 minute (if that) walk from all the hustle and bustle of Times Square. The staff were friendly and helpful. Located literally next door to a subway station which was really convenient.

My partner is an ambassador member with IHG which means that we get a free upgrade with each room - we booked a deluxe room and got upgraded to a corner sky view room on the 34th floor, which we thought great! The room was really lovely don't get me wrong, but it was pretty small as hotel rooms go. We've stayed in lots of intercontinentals and this was the smallest room we've stayed in, considering it was one of the premium ones. I wouldn't want to know how small the standard room is! Compared with other hotels in New York I think a lot would have much bigger rooms for people staying more than a couple of nights.

If you're visiting for a couple of days are aren't worried about unpacking properly then it would be fine, but if you're going to be visiting for a week or so i'd check out the room sizes of other hotels in the area first!!

I've seen reviews about the bar service being poor? We visited the bar on the first and last night and both times had good service and lovely food.

Overall it was a nice hotel in a great location, but I think i'd stay somewhere else next time just for the room size and space.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin G, Front Office Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Ali M,

We would like to thank you for sharing you experience about your recent visit to our hotel

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and the great views from our Sky View rooms over Manhattan . I have to agree that our hotel rooms might be smaller than in other InterContinental destination but are actually compatible to all other hotels in New York City. We are living in a very small area with lots and lots of people living an visiting.

We appreciate your loyalty as an InterContinental Ambassador and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jasmin Glueck
Assistant Director of Front Office
InterContinental New York Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights here recently. We had a sky view corner room which certainly has a good view over the avenue/street, especially at night

Rooms are slightly on the smaller side but overall was a nice stay. Hotel bar and restaurant were good too, bar area was nice and staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a higher room, traffic can still be heard near the top but I can only presume it is quieter
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmin G, Front Office Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Markab75,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review online.

It's fantastic to find out that you enjoyed the views from our top floor Sky View Rooms. I can certainly understand your comments about the room size but rest assured that our rooms are actually very compatible in size with all hotel in the New York City, Manhattan area.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jasmin Glueck
Assistant Director of Front Office
InterContinental New York Times Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews