We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary design and great staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Contemporary design and great staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This really does live up to all the reviews, especially concerning the staff. They are among the friendliest, most helpful of any hotel staff I have encountered in my travels. Instantly, you feel like you are family. Kudos to Felix, and all the others! The hotel has a very nice contemporary design. Sure, the rooms are small, but that's typical for NYC rooms. It's just a few blocks from Little Italy, Soho and a subway stop. All the things you need for a stay in lower Manhattan. The continental breakfast is standard danish, yogurt, bagel variety, so nothing special there. The chocolate turn down treats are delicious. The staff alone rates up along side my experiences at Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a corner City View room. I had an amazing view North and East towards the Williamsburg b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BranNewareAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    212
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
122
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The staff made us very welcome as soon as we arrived. The room was great; very clean with an amazing view. The location is excellent for all the major attractions but you also feel like you are in the real New York. There are loads of restaurants and bars nearby. It is a great place to be. It has a really relaxed atmosphere but the service is first class. We spent two nights at The Nolitan Hotel and it made our trip to New York very special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

my husband and i are NYC residents but stayed in the hotel for our anniversary. it was fine... but not worth the expense. last year we stayed at the nearby Mondrian, which was amazing, gorgeous and fun (and even less expensive than the Nolitan). The rooms here were very small and the balcony overlooks ugly, busy Kenmare street. The Nolitan didn't do anything wrong necessarily, but they didn't do anything right either. Stay at the Mondrian, the Bowery or the Standard EV instead. Same price, MUCH better experience. This place is ok if you really just want a small, boxy, clean room in a good neighborhood. If you want to step into another world, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My second time staying at The Nolitan and it's still the best - fantastic design, friendly staff and great location in the heart of Nolita. I loved the addition of benches on the balconies - nice way to start or end the day looking out over the city.

I'm looking forward to my next stay here, I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are nice for fresh air and feeling the energy of the city. Most hotels in NYC d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanEsperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very good. Not the cheapest, but clean, comfortable and great location. Good design and ambiance, it felt 'cool'.

Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home.

There was a tapping noise on our first night, not only did they move us without fuss, but when we returned from dinner, they had left a complimentary bottle of wine on the side.

The bar was not open when we were there, although we were told it would be open soon. This is not really an issue in NoLiTa, so many good bars and restaurants about.

Very impressive, would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_R_301168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed two nights at the Nolitan and we had a great experience!
Staff was so nice, friendly and helpful.
Although the rooms were small, it is typical NYC and it did not bother us at all. Stylish interior and quality furniture- bed and pillows very comfy. Loved the veranda!
Funky and good neighborhood to be in if you want to stay close to SoHo, Brooklyn, Nolita and NoHo.
Free Wifi and LOVED the Mexican restaurant on the corner "El Cafe Portal"- uber tasty!

Room Tip: Personally, I was not disturbed by the cars, honking etc from the street below, BUT if you are sensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel was the best my family has stayed at in years. The staff was extremely helpful as this was our 1st trip to NY City.They made us feel right at home. Hotel was extremely clean. Comp. breakfast was a nice touch. Slippers,bathrobes, you name it. Great location close to subway.Little Italy was right around the corner, a must see and dine. We have traveled a lot in our years, this is a 10 in our book!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing