We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for Perfect Engagement Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #163 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for Perfect Engagement Weekend”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Over the weekend I proposed to my girlfriend in New York and surprised her with a stay at the James Hotel. I was familiar with the prime location in SoHo but had never stayed at the James. My only knowledge of the hotel was based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor and some photos. Needless to say, they don't do justice for how great this hotel was. The service was spectacular. From before our stay even began, Morgan the head concierge, was so incredibly helpful with all the details from upgrading us to an apartment suite to arranging for our luggage to be delivered to our room to a complimentary bottle of champagne and macarons to celebrate the occasion. She made our stay even more perfect and memorable with all the nice touches. The doormen, the bellboys, the receptionists and even the cleaning lady were all really friendly and helpful. The room itself was phenomenal. From the views to the comfort of the bed to the heated floors in the bathroom, we really loved it all. The chocolates by the bed, the free bottles of filtered water, and so many other little details made all the difference. I couldn't have made a better choice for our special weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlu415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear dlu415,

First off congratulations on your engagement, we’re so pleased that we could a part of such a special moment in your lives. I’m delighted that you felt our staff, especially Morgan, was helpful and friendly towards making your stay an unforgettable one. I’m glad that you enjoyed the complimentary items we provided you. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The James, we would love to have you both back.

Warm wishes,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    354
    124
    71
    38
See reviews for
153
647
74
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our stay at the James Hotel was exceptional. We loved our accommodations so much we barely left the room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be looking to return.

Room Tip: We opted to take a chance and sign up for an upgrade if available for a nominal additional cost. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimGillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear KimGillespie,

We want to thank you for sharing about your stay with us. We are so glad we were able to make you comfortable, and leave you with a lasting impression.

We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked the James for a one night stay since we were headed to dinner around the corner and I just wanted to be able to do a quick walk to the Lani Kai bar. The James offers California style comforts in the middle of NYC. There is a rooftop pool bar with a view that is stunning, even complete with Burning man photography decorating the walls. The lobby area is gorgeous with stocked drinks and food at all times of the day. We even had breakfast at Burke's Kitchen the next morning and it was delish. I would stay here again anytime, also worth noting are the cool glass wall in the bathroom with a moving art screen.

Room Tip: Get a room high up as possible for better views of the Hudson side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scanna283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear scanna,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The James. Thanks for making mention of the location, décor, and the amenities we serve in The James Club Sky Lobby, such as coffee and pastries in the morning and the wine and cookies that’s served in the evening. We look forward to having you back and giving you another stellar experience.

Warm wishes,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

After growing up in and around New York City, I now live at the beach in North Carolina. Every year I travel North to see friends and family and to get a bit of urban culture. The past few times I have been in NYC, I stayed at the James and have finally decided to write a review. The hotel and its staff are terrific. The location is outside of the crush of tourist areas but still firmly part of the city. Subways, cabs, busses are all close by for travel to major museums and Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Bway etc. But there's so much to do in the immediate area, you may find you needn't bother. Fabulous shopping and many fine restaurants with delicious food are within walking distance...we ate at the Little Owl, Mas and the Dutch, which i think was named this year's best restaurant by the NY Times. All easy walking distance...the Dutch is just around the corner. Staff is great - friendly and highly competent. Rooms are small on a national standard but nice size for NYC nice bathroom and floor to ceiling windows. Our view was toward downtown and you could see the new Gehry building and the new WTC tower under construction. All in all - a perfect place to stay - highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McMahon434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear McMahon434,

Thank you for continually choosing to stay with us here at The James. I am very appreciative for the amazing review you wrote. I’m so happy that we have been able to make such a strong impression on you and that we can be your home away from home when you travel to New York. You pointed out some wonderful features we have here like our modern and liberated from luxury tradition atmosphere, our stylish and comfortable rooms, the great restaurants and shopping nearby, and, not to forget, how convenient it is to venture out to other spots around the city. Also, thank you for recognizing and mentioning the work of our team members here. We hope to see you back very soon and to continue to be your perfect place to stay.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the James and it was wonderful. Very comfortable bed! We opted for the corner king which had nice views of downtown and the shower was great. Their chocolate chip cookies are the best I ever had and you must go to their sky bar - Jimmy. Really cool lounge with awesome views of the city. We tried their sliders which were delicious. Perfect location to walk around and go shopping downtown. Highly recommend dinner at Kittichai annd brunch at Baltazar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear jmnNy,

I just wanted to thank you for taking a little time to share about your stay here at The James. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed views from your guestroom and its shower. Also, thank you for making mention of the cookies that we serve in The James Club Sky Lobby in the evening along with the complimentary wine. We look forward to having you back and giving you another stellar experience.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and stayed here for a kid-free weekend in NYC. We LOVED the James from the minute we entered. The minimal design is full of texture and subtle details. From the computer key art installation at the entrance level to the wood & succulent planters to the linen and wool pillows in the sky lobby. We felt welcomed by the staff, and were thrilled with the hospitality of coffee & pastries, fresh fruit, and wine & cheese throughout the day- not to mention a drink vouched for each of us to enjoy the roof lounge Jimmy's. I noticed a commitment to the environment throughout the hotel including the triple filtered water presented daily in a glass carafe in each room to the full-size Intelligent Nutrients beauty products. We opted for a higher floor and our full wall of windows offered a beautiful city view. The bed was so comfy, that we decided to take an impromptu nap mid-day. The location was perfect to enjoy the downtown areas of Soho, Nolita, the Village. We even took a trek across the Brooklyn bridge. We look forward to escaping to the James again soon!

Room Tip: even the lowest room floor is high enough to offer some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Melody A,

Thank you for such a great review. I am elated that you enjoyed your stay so much with us at The James. I am glad that we could give you a kid-free weekend in NYC and that we were able to provide you with the relaxation you deserve. You pointed out some of the wonderful features of our hotel, like our art installations and décor, our location here in Soho, and our complimentary pastries, coffee, wine & cheese that we serve in our James Club Sky Lobby, to mention the rooftop bar Jimmy. Here at The James New York we strive to bring luxury liberated from tradition to Soho. Thank you again for staying with us, as always it was our pleasure. Until your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very interesting,well located, very clean -- in all, an excellent hotel.

I was in town for just 1 night for business; needed a place that was easy to get to and from in SoHo, and picked The James primarily because of location.

I was impressed with the facility (minimalist design; original art by different artists displayed in the hallway of each floor; compact but very well-equipped exercise room), the staff and the guest rooms. Of course, the rooms were small, because of the location, but I have never been in a hotel room that was more well-designed (and I travel regularly for business and leisure in the USA and Europe). Room (including bathroom) was VERY clean.

Did not eat there, but went to the roof-top bar "Jimmy's" (which I understand is owned by a separate group -- not the hotel). Unlike the hotel, it was pretentious and unimpressive. The bartender was rather full of himself and more interested in schmoozing the women at the bar than in providing good service. A weak selection of appetizers & spirits, in what should have been a much higher-end bar.

The view, however, was spectacular. I suspect the Jimmy's experience would improve with good friends, and in the Spring-Fall (I was there 1/30-31) when you could use the roof-top deck.

I would highly recommend The James; the Jimmy, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbm48009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear kbm48009,

Thank you for staying with us here at The James. I am so very appreciative for the wonderful review you wrote. I’m happy that we could impress with our modern and liberated from luxury tradition design, our staff, and our rooms. I do wish you had a better experience at Jimmy. Hopefully it will be the next time you’re here. We hope to see you back very soon and to continue to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#88 of 466 in New York City
922 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#170 of 466 in New York City
2,972 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#62 of 466 in New York City
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#134 of 466 in New York City
3,077 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#236 of 466 in New York City
950 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 466 in New York City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing