We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but no customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Ranked #113 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, but no customer service”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Cassa Hotel. With taxes, we paid $425 per night. Unfortunately, the hotel was not worth even half that. This is the first negative review we have ever written about any hotel.

We woke up each morning to vibration and whistling from the plumbing. It was so loud that it woke my husband up while wearing earplugs. He talked to the front desk staff four times. We were told twice that the problem was fixed and twice that we would be moved to another room. Unfortunately, neither one happened.

The staff was very friendly, but they don't provide good customer service. If there are no problems, it's a nice place to stay. If there are problems, however, you will leave frustrated and angry like we did that we paid a lot more than the hotel was worth.

One other thing to note: there was no dresser in our room. With two adults and an infant, that was a challenge. So if you need a dresser, you better go somewhere else.

We will never stay at the Cassa Hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2506 and any other rooms near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gleasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Gleasie - Thank you for your review, as difficult as it was to read. As I had written to you based on your response to our Unifocus survey, we did indeed have a breakdown in communication between shifts and departments, and we have instituted a change in our procedures to prevent that from reoccuring. I am also glad to note that we did finally identify two valves, rather difficult to get to in a hallway plumbing closet, which had partially failed and were intermittently causing the noise which you heard. When the noise temporarily abated, the engineer on site thought he had solved the problem; however, now we have replaced those two valves and we have not had that issue to deal with since. If you can find it in your heart to return, we would certainly be grateful for the opportunity to provide you with the levels of hospitality that you would expect and deserve. Best wishes - Kevin Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    688
    182
    37
    35
See reviews for
271
1,047
119
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
são paulo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

As most of the people, I also booked through hotwire. Big mistake.
The hotel is in a great location, but I think there are better places.
There´s no room to hang anything. My feet were hanging out of the bed.
There was no complimentary water, or cofee machine in the room. (which in all the hotels I´ve stayed in the past few years offered that). That´s something you expect in a four star hotel.
Also, there were weird noises. Driiling noise from who knows where early in the morning. Baby crying at 6 am.
The 10th floor which they say it´s the breaksfast room, is very small and it looks out of place.
The restaurant in still going through renovation.
Good things:
The staff were great. Very friendly and helpfull.
And the bathroom is big.
The room was very clean. and all the linens seemed new.
The location is perfect. You´re in the middle of everything.
I just think they should change the beds of the stardard room, or make it a single room.
they shouldn´t sell that for a couple.

Room Tip: The standard room has a very tiny bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isatb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Isatb - Thank you for staying with the Cassa, and for your review, (which is one of those that helps us perfect our skills!). We are getting the restaurant closer to its opening, so there has indeed been some drilling after 9:00am on a few days - but that is just about over. And I'm afraid babies will cry at inconvenient times now and then; however, yours is the first one of these complaints we've received, so I think we can keep that to a minimum. More importantly, if you need a larger bed than the one you booked, please check with the Front Desk - if we have availability we will always be glad to arrange for a larger one. Finally, I do deeply appreciate your positive comments, especially about our fantastic and personable staff. We do hope to see you again - especially with our new restaurant! Best wishes - Kevin Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Cassa Hotel is more of a residence. While the front desk and bellboy were friendly, the hotel offers limited business services and little in public space. There is no lobby to speak of and the rooms are so small as to barely accommodate two physically fit adults. Even a small child would make the stay unbearable.

The hotel is placed near Times Square, an area that caters mostly to visitors and has little to offer for real New Yorkers. Since our business engagements were in the area, the hotel was convenient. But I wouldn't recommend the location to anyone who wishes to taste the real New York.

All in all, the price we paid - $148 through a Hot Wire deal -- was acceptable for a hotel of such facilities in this location.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank WarmWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

this hotel is perfect for the tourist who wants to be in the middle of the shopping heart of NYC and also be in the middle of the Musicals . You will be right in Times Square
At the front desk the people are really nice and helpful.
the view from the window is in general really nice as up as u getting your room.
The room size is quite nice, nice and modern decoration, rooms really quiet ( wich was really important for me ) a nice bathroom with a big shower
I will come again for sure :-)

Room Tip: ask for one in the upper Floors of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

On a recent business trip to NYC I had the pleasure of staying at Cassa Hotel. What a lovely super modern truly comfortable experience! Great location (I took in Spiderman at the Foxwood Theatre just 2 blocks away!). I was greeted with a smile and then offered a room upgrade! I'm in the city several times a year and rate the Cassa as my all time favorite. Stay here, you will be just as pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location near central park, clean very modern rooms, walking distance to broadway and times square. Plenty of nearby subway stations. Best part was the service. Eric, their Concierge went above and beyond the call of duty for us with everything from our room size, to last minute dinner plans. Will not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Upgrades are available. Ask for Eric to advise you properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erock9578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in New York.We stayed at the Cassa which is ideally located for all major sights.So near to Times Square,you can walk there in 5 minutes.We were given a free upgrade without asking!The room was very good and the bed really comfortable.Everywhere in the hotel is very clean.The most impressive thing about the hotel is the staff.Those working on the front desk are exceptional.Very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to do anything for you.Alicia,Alby,Nick and particularly Eric are great.Eric can get tickets for anything!We went to a Knicks game and it was one of the highlights of our trip.Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
699 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 468 in New York City
1,123 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,370 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#95 of 468 in New York City
577 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Property: Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Address: 70 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in in the heart of Midtown, New York City's most popular location, this boutique hotel provides you with an entrée to the best the city has to offer and is just steps away from prime 5th Ave shopping and Times Square. Ideal for any lifestyle, Cassa New York bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to create a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing