We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #186 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great recent stay with my son. It was his first visit to NYC and hotel was most accommodating with a great room with a view. Hotel was clean and staff very friendly. Would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great modern hotel near the action of the West Village, SoHo and not far from Chelsea. I used to live in this neighborhood for years. Great place!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Soho and found it to be a nice change of pace from Times Square and Midtown hotels. So quick on the subway up to the hustle and bustle and nice to "come home" to a quieter part of Manhattan. Great area near Chinatown and easy walk to 9/11 Memorial. The hotel is super comfortable and the staff is just awesome! Self parking in a lot around the corner worked out well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I Love to stay at this small friendly hotel in soho. The location is perfect for walking, great restaurants and so convenient to the subway for getting to midtown. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. They seem to know all their guests and call you by name! The rooms are immaculate...but small. Shower has a great shower head with great pressure and the bathroom is a decent size. The only reason I gave 4 stars VS 5 is because of the room size....but when in NYC you should not be spending time in your room! So much to see and do!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here while visiting family. Fair price for NYC ; nice and modern. Highlight for me was the staff. Very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickkcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

New hotel boasting excellent and modern facilities. Rooms are a little small though, but not at all unusual for NY. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Good location and value for money... Will definitely stay there when returning to NY!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here overnight on a weekend with a winter rate of $169. Hotel is new and clean with the rooms on the smallish side, which is apparently the norm in NYC. What sets this hotel apart is the extreme friendliness of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to say hello and ask how our stay was--housekeeping, maintenance, front desk as well as management.

I liked the location since there was a subway stop across the street and we were able to easily walk to the West Village. Lots of restaurant choices and jazz clubs.

The lobby is small but had cozy chairs and 4 computers. They had Starbucks coffee in the lobby as well as some food but it seemed a bit pricey for what you got.

Our room wasn't ready at noon so they held our bags. I had requested an upper level floor to try to minimize street noise but we were put on the 7th floor. Unfortunately the horn honking and screaming on the street did wake us up a few times.

The front desk accidentally gave us a wake up call at 6:30am which was awful since we were looking to sleep in for a change! They apologized immediately and let us check out at 2 which allowed us to tour the area a little more. The manager immediately sent us a email apologizing as well.

I forgot my cell phone charger and called when I got home. They had someone immediately go up to check the room and called me right back. They not only found it but put it right in the mail for me!

Overall if I were to travel to this area again, I would most certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapsNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#312 of 469 in New York City
949 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#215 of 469 in New York City
1,323 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#302 of 469 in New York City
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#121 of 469 in New York City
613 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $281 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing