We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brooklyn and Queens neighborhood Extravaganza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Levys' Unique New York!

The Levys' Unique New York!
Book In Advance
More Info
US$300.00*
and up
NYC Highlights Private Tour by Foot and Subway
Ranked #88 of 586 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours of NYC & Brooklyn via private vehicle or foot & subway by NY's First Family of Tour Guides. Our licensed guides excel at the four Es - educational, entertaining, energetic and engaging. Native New Yorkers lead uniquely designed tours which focus on food, history, culture, architecture, music, arts and more and utilize state-of-the-art technology to bring a visual flair to New York's fascinating history.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Brooklyn and Queens neighborhood Extravaganza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I recently came to visit New York and check out the Borough's of Queens and Brooklyn as I'm planning to relocate in a few months... but was having a really hard time finding a tour that would accomplish my goal. I called up Levy's New York and was lucky enough to get in touch with Matt (who is awesome by the way)! I explained that I was looking to move here and wanted a guided tour of some different areas that would be within the price range I wanted to pay for housing and of course get a little culture and history on those areas too.

Matt was the PERFECT tour guide. He provided me with all the necessary information and created a tour that was exactly what I wanted. He was able to tell me which areas would be a good commute into where my office would be, where to eat, the primary ethnicity of those areas and the best places to eat their authentic cuisine! Matt picked me up in a nice, clean, vehicle - and I felt completely safe the entire time. The service was top notch and his personality was such that I felt completely at ease asking any questions about the city that I had.

The cost to do a private tour was a little more than I had wanted to spend initially but the money was WELL worth it and I would recommend it to anyone! When I move to NYC and want to learn more about the city I will definitely check out his other guided tours. Thank you to Matt and "The Levy's Unique New York"!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    7
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Matt Levy Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Two adults and two teenagers spent 8 hours with Matt Levy on a personalized, private tour last week and it was the perfect way to begin our 6 day vacation in NYC. Although it was raining a good part of the day (and not to mention cold), he kept us moving, entertained, fed and informed! We felt like we had known him all our lives and he even won over my 17 year old daughter and her friend who both remarked later that evening how much they enjoyed his personality. Matt is certainly gifted with knowledge and passion for NYC and for showing it off to his clients.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Felt like part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Took a 4 hour private tour with Mark and could not have been more pleased. The man's insane! His knowledge of the city (Manhattan and Brooklyn), his humor and his wit made for one of the most memorable traveling experiences we've ever had. He took us to facinating places, introduced us to interesting people and showed us sights few people get to see. I can't imagine a better way to see NYC. He treated us like we were part of the family!
Thanks again Mark.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank versa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We can do it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Matt which was our tour guide was awesome and very entertaining.. We seen new York city in a better view then we were expecting he took us to kats deli it was amazing and we would do it again love new York city love your Hawaiian group!!

Helpful?
Thank Coco2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

None of us had been in NYC for many years. We wanted a good overview of the city through a personal tour that made good use of our time. We got what we wanted.
It was especially nice to deal with a small family business. Matt Levy took our reservation and provided a lot of information up front. His brother Jonah gave our party of five a 5-hour tour that we thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend.
Jonah was very easy to get along with. He was knowledgeable and interesting, covering many of the basics with a plentiful amount of obscure information, as well. He was very attentive to what we wanted to see and our pace. Any time we wanted to take a break, it was fine with him.
We were pretty mobile so a good bit of our tour involved walking with highlights being the Times Square area, the Theatre District, St. Pat's, Rockerfeller Plaza, Central Park South, and the Columbus Circle area.
Then, he helped us understand the subway system, and we all went downtown to explore Battery Park, the World Trade Center area, Trinity Church (?), Wall Street, and the Occupy Wall Street encampment.
We learned that the Levy's fees were comparable to other tour services.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank StevenL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Levys' Unique New York! also viewed

 

Been to The Levys' Unique New York!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing