We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well looked after”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
49Thalia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very well looked after”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived Milton's apartment after a long and tiring flight. He was there to welcome us and gave us the keys and necessary information. The apartment itself is nothing special with regards to furnishings, but it is quite spacious, clean and with everything we needed for a week in NY.
The area felt very safe, and we quite enjoyed staying in Harlem. If you are shopping, 125th st has some good and not too expensive shops. We went to the local Sunday service and enjoyed the gospel singing and the atmosphere in the church - very different to Europe. It is not too far to the local supermarket and a few restaurants. Also you can buy takeaway which was very good. Milton will let you know the various places to go. The underground is also quite close, and we walked to Central Park in 30 mins on our first day.
What made this apartment stand out, was the hospitable owner, Milton. He seemed to be around his various apartment every day, and on the couple of occasions when we found something missing (i.e. a wine glass and a toaster that broke), he went out and bought it straight away. So I would definitely recommend this apartment for the personal touch and friendliness of the owner. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the owner
Liked least: The apartment could have been better decorated
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra10...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best host! nice, cool, safe!”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

we came to stay for a week with our children and had a great time! Host Milton was always around for help, and is always up for a chat. He owns the whole house, so it's only his guests who are in the building which is good for safety. The building is beautiful and the apartment is cosy, it had everything we needed, and there was coffee, butter and jam for us... The neighbourhood is super lively and cool, and the subway is very near and takes you everywhere. Supermarket is also near, as is some great venues to go out in the evening (Apollo,Red rooster, Jazz clubs...)
Best thing is you can trust Milton, which I think is essential when booking online private apartements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
760Sue
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant location, 2 minutes to subway, bars and restaurants. Everyone was very friendly. three women and we felt completely safe walking around at night. The apartment was very spacious and had everything we needed Milton was an absolute gentleman. Thankyou for a lovely stay..My tip is to buy an unlimited subway pass. Uptown is the higher street numbers, Downtown is the lower street numbers. Once you work out whether you want the uptown or downtown train it is easy.Went to a Yankees game, great fun. Bought a New York pass for the attractions, well worth the money and avoids the queues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and spaciousness
Liked least: everything was excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conxi1970
Province of Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“COZY AND QUIET SPOT IN HARLEM”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my 5-yeard-old son and me stayed at Milton's apartment for 2 weeks in July. Our stay was wonderful: Milton was there to greet us, show us the apartment and give us all kinds of advice. He's a really charming and helpful host (our son keeps talking about him and insists he'll go back to his apartment whenever he goes back to NY!). The apartment is very roomy and clean, and has everything you may need for a long stay. Besides, the subway station is just 2 minutes away, which means that you can be in central NY in a jiffy. Unless you want to stay in the area, which has a nice atmosphere and is full of restaurants.
Definitely, we will stay in this apartment if we go back to NYC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a cozy roomy place.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinakle
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place, location and landlord!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had fantastic time in New York, partly because our stay didn't give us any trouble!

The location is excellent, the appartment is nicely located very close to Metro station in Harlem, in a lively area, with super market, cafe's and restaurants near by.
The appartment is in a very good shape, very clean, fully equipped, with free wifi, very handy if you travel with kids!

Milton is an excellent host and very friendly, he was there when we needed him. One evening, when we arrived a bit late, we wad a very pleasant surprise waiting for us outside the door, that was a wine and a delicious cheesecake!
Thank you, once again!

Just a friendly tip, if I may. I know everything was very clean. I would rather sleep on white sheets though, it gives a better feeling of cleanliness.

We will definately come back again, and Milton's appartment will be the first on our list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Viccinity to Metro, safety of the area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebekahBe...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment!”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this apartment and really enjoyed our time here. There is plenty of space, its very comfortable and its very conveniently located. Close to shops, supermarkets, restaurants and public transport. The owner greeted us and informed us in detail of the local area and offered many suggestions for our stay in New York. He is very friendly, approachable and easy to get a long with. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone thinking of staying in New York!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never saw the apartment”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
15
people found this review helpful

I booked this apartment in March of 2014 for a trip in September 2014 for three nights, for my husband, adult daughter and myself. At the time of booking we were impressed with the fact that the apartment was advertised for four and that there were good reviews. We wanted the freedom of catering for ourselves and not being confined to a hotel.
We were visiting America and staying in Chicago before arriving in New York. On the 3rd of September, prior to leaving for America, I e-mailed Milton to advise him of the time we were arriving on the 20th and asked how we would collect the keys. I received a reply while in America advising that I should phone him when we landed at JFK.
On landing I phoned and was directed to a message box which was full and unable to take a message, after two further attempts I spoke with Milton, who seemed surprised that I had a booking with him and asked with whom I had booked. He stated that there was some confusion but advised that we come to the apartment.
We were met by Milton at the apartment and were looking forward to seeing the apartment but he informed us that there was a couple in it who were due to check out later that evening and that he wanted to have the apartment cleaned before we moved in. He asked us to return at 5pm. When we returned he told us that the couple were staying on due to possible strike action by Air France but that he had booked us into a hotel. He drove us to the hotel, a short distance away and said that we were booked in for two nights and that he would leave a message for us on the second night re arrangements for the third night. When we went to the room it was a room for two, with a double bed, this did not please us and we made contact with Milton and stated that we were unhappy, a second room was arranged for my daughter. On the second night we returned to find no message regarding the third night, I tried to ring Milton but did not get a reply. Next morning we again tried ringing Milton without success a number of times. Eventually we went to his house, which is located at the apartment and after ringing his bell a number of times he answered and advised us that he had at 7am that morning booked us for another night in the hotel. We had no choice but to return to the hotel where we were told that we were booked in for another night but they only had one room, so all three of us had to stay in the one room. We tried ringing Milton but to no avail.
We were due to return home the next evening on a transatlantic flight and were keen to have a good nights sleep.
The experience left us feeling disappointed. We were looking forward to having our own space in an apartment, that is why we booked it. A hotel meant that we had added expense as we had to go out to eat when we could have catered for ourselves at the apartment.
It was clear from Milton's reaction when I contacted him from JFK that he knew nothing about our booking or had clearly double booked the apartment. If the couple that were there were due to check out that day then why did they not go to the hotel when there was another booking for the apartment ,I believe that it would have been acceptable to do that. After all after two nights in the hotel we were told that there was only one room available for us as they were fully booked and we had to agree to this.
I would have loved to review this apartment but as I never saw it I cannot do so. I have given it a poor rating due to the experience we had. It would seem to me that Milton probably uses a number of booking services to book his apartment and it is clear that he needs to have a system that alerts him to bookings.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing