We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #303 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good reasonable hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay if you are in New York for a long weekend

Scaffolding outside is a bit off putting whilst sister hotel is being renovated (was originally booked here) but rooms are clean and reasonable size.

Staff were helpfully especially one of the girls on reception and in good location for sight seeing etc!

Helpful?
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    852
    369
    124
    65
See reviews for
367
784
121
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It's not a terrible hotel, but it's EXTREMELY noisy and definitely not worth the money.

Pros:
Rooms are larger than most NYC rooms (and I didn't have a suite)
When I called downstairs and asked for housekeeping items, the desk personnel was kind and sent it up right away

Cons:
Noisy, noisy, noisy - I was on the 11th floor and I literally checked all of the windows twice. The traffic noise was so loud inside my room that it seemed like there must be a window open.
The room wasn't dirty exactly...but it didn't feel exactly clean either
They overlooked basic things - my room had no washcloths, no extra roll of toilet paper, and only three kleenex

I wouldn't avoid this hotel at all cost - if it's the best deal around and where you want to stay, then go for it. Just understand that it's not as nice as the pictures. And unless you get a great deal, it's not really nice enough for the money.

In addition to the traffic noise which continued all night and could be heard clearly, I was awakened at 8:30 or so by construction noise that seemed to be coming from the adjacent room - but they are also doing construction on the outside of the hotel, so it was hard to tell exactly where it was coming from. In any event, it was unpleasant.

When I saw my business partner (who had a suite) the next morning, she commented, "well, i don't know that I'd stay here again....", so she wasn't really impressed either.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite. A colleague had a suite and it seemed MUCH nicer than my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Giles New York The Court. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the distractions and discomfort caused by the street noise. We would welcome the opportunity to provide you with a room on the inside of the hotel, away from the street noise on your next visit with us.

Please feel free to contact me prior to you next visit and we will ensure that you have a quiet room and that you are pampered in the wonderful style that is our tradition.

Michael Yancy
Director of Front Office
St Giles New York Tuscany and Court
michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

St Giles is the place to stay if you are looking for great staff, large clean rooms and a fun lounge. My husband and I flew up Saturday morning for a shopping, eating, party weekend in the city. The hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport. We got to the hotel at 11:30am, but our room was not yet ready, so we left our luggage at the hotel and went to lunch. When we came back, we were up graded to a suite at no extra charge. The room was huge, very modern and clean. We were out in the city most of the day, but did get a couple drinks in the lounge. That night, they have a dj that place great music. If you are looking for a reasonably cost hotel in New York with clean, spacious rooms and friendly, helpful staff, St Giles is the place to go! We will stay at St Giles every time we come to NYC!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A very convenient location for this Midtown hotel . The bedroom suite was really clean, spacious and full ,of light. The staff welcoming and helpful. A good address in Manhattan!

Room Tip: the corner executive suite is really nice and full of light !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisAnouchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Just back from a great trip with my husband where we stayed at The St.Giles. Have been in New York a few times before but can honestly say this was the best hotel for the money we have stayed in. The rooms were the biggest we have every had in the city with a seperate bedroom and sitting room which is rare. Very modern fixtures and fittings and always kept clean. Had all we needed for our stay. The bar downstairs was excellent for a drink after a long days shopping and the bar staff were very friendly. The hotel is greatly situated with lots of the sights within walking distance. Good bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank magsfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

They also have a nice bar with many locals, not only tourists. Stay away from the concierge, the lady behind that desk doesnt belong in the service industry. Much better to ask the door man or the friendly faces at the reception.

Helpful?
Thank Sami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We just got back from our second stay at the St Giles...didn't think it was possible but we loved it even more than the first time! The staff is great, the rooms are huge and comfortable, and the location is perfect. It really feels like a home away from home, and leaves you wanting to book your next stay before you even leave! We recommend this hotel to everyone we know who is visiting the city!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#246 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing