We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ridiculous....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Sandwich

City Sandwich
Ranked #1,225 of 13,435 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ridiculous....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

that's what i was thinking after the first bite of the roberto (tuesday special, roast pork marinated overnight, some heat from fresh sliced jalapenos, some other delicious pork products, served on a hot bun to soak up the flavorful juices). it's insane. usually i don't bother writing about hometown restaurants: it's nyc--there are so many to choose from and it's hard to go really wrong unless you're trying to have a bad meal. a couple visits to city sandwich forced me to put some words down. it's that good.

the soups are flavorful and the portugese custards they sell are off the chain as well. but the best part is after you finish an amazingly delicious, super fresh, flavorful meal you realize it was all fresh, healthy ingredients. all for not much more than a lenny's (also good but definitely not healthy) or subway foot long? bonus...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank soy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, Favorful, Hot, Delicious Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Many people are calling City Sandwich the best sandwich shop in NYC and after my first visit, I have to agree with them. The roll is just about perfect, crunchy and soft, then the freshest ingredients, cheeses and condiments are used...kale, collard greens, spinach, eggplant. The board list the sandwiches by category...No Meat, Egg, Meat, including Portguese meats. The result, truly fantastic sandwiches that make you want to come back again and again. The staff is also very friendly and helpful...no bad attitudes here. Didn't taste the soup but the regulars were ordering. We sat and relished our Christine and Todd sandwiches with an ice cold dark beer. Wish we lived in NYC so I could savor another one of these delicious sandwiches. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joanpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninove, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tasty healthy sandwiches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We visited the place with the Food on foot tour. My boyfriend and I shared a 'Todd' sandwich: the bread was sooo good, crunchy and just baked. It had lettuce and tomatoes and smoked Portugese pancetta and honey yogurt sauce...so yummy!! I wish we had one here in Belgium :-) We also met the owner, a really friendly and nice guy! Keep up the excellent work!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelicaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Unique Sandwiches!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our guide brought us here on a Food on Foot tour (Thanks Corey!). It was fantastic. The place has recently opened (around 3 months ago at the time). Owner greeted us at the door and told us about the restaurant and how the sandwich styles are a combination of Italian, Portugese and NYC cuisines. Everything on the menu looked amazing, lots of vegitarian options as well. We got the "Todd" sandwich and were not disappointed. Highly recommended as a lunch spot. Like most other places like this there is no where really to eat inside so you have to grab and go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank toddoballs132002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A don't-miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I'm a vegan, and was a little worried about finding something decent anywhere near Times Square, so this was a great surprise. City Sandwich was on a "best of" list I saw online, and I understand why. The selection is wide, you can customize just about anything, and the sandwiches taste like proper meals that happened to be on really good bread. I'm not a bread person at all - never have been - but I really liked this. I went three times in four days. There's not a ton of seating, but I've never been when it was full - I think customers usually take out or get a sandwich delivered. It's very vegetarian friendly, and the people working there are so nice. If you're hungry and near 9th Ave., pop in!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chalupacabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Sandwich also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to City Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing