We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our stay at Yotel New York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #129 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our stay at Yotel New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

It´s a modern, very clean and well situated hotel in New York. We loved the Lavazza coffee machine, we hope it will be there always.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was large and had a beautiful view. Each floor has a great coffee machine (Lavazza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,983
    3,405
    724
    257
    205
See reviews for
1,381
4,595
627
1,022
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very clean and fast internet access available throughout the hotel. There is what they call "the galley" on each floor, which gives the guest access 24/7 to complimentary coffee, tea, and ice water. A microwave is available there as well and you can buy soda through a soda machine. The personnel are friendly and helpful. Nice outdoor view from the 5th floor, especially at night. Perfect for petite people or someone on a business trip. The restaurant is pricey for the portions, but there are many nearby places to catch a bite. It is closeby to many shows, the movie theatre, cuisines, shopping, and the train station as long as you are "mobile," which most people are. For your convenience, there is a blowdryer, flat screen tv, and iron. Bring your own soap as their eco-friendly soap doesn't smell pretty at all. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STRATFORD,CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a result of going into the theater. Very clean priced right.
Would definitely return, bare bones but had ll you need. My visit was pleasure, but would be great for a business person.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

As soon as you arrive at the Yotel, it's clear that you're in for something slightly different. At night, the neon purple frontage of the hotel casts a glow over the entire street and as you enter the revolving doors, you are struck by the lack of any reception area. The reason for that is very simple - the reception is on the fourth floor. Check-in is done on the ground floor by touchscreen computer and there are always plenty of staff around if you need help. As you enter the Yotel, you can't help but notice the Yobot (a fully automated luggage robot), but more of this later.

Take the lift to the fourth floor and you start to get a feel for the hotel. Reception is in front of the lifts (sorry, 'elevators') and it's on this floor that you'll also find the bar, dining area (where breakfast is served) and nightclub. The first lift only runs between floors one and four, so you now catch a second lift to your floor. In our case, this was the 25th. You use the swipe card you were issued with at reception to select the floor you want in the lift - just hold the card in front of the reader and it will automatically select your floor. The lifts are great - very quick and very quiet (and this comes from someone with a real dislike for lifts). On entering the room, the first impression is maybe that it's a little small. Everything's certainly very compact - the bed, for example, is on a remote control, so that during the day it's raised with the back up (great for watching the flat screen TV in front of you) and at night you simply press the button to lower it so that it becomes flat. The toilet and shower are not behind a closed door - there is simply a clear glass 'wall' that slides across, so probably not the hotel for any couples with major inhibitions, or perhaps for those in the early stages of a relationship. The shower is great - very large (large enough for two people, in fact!) with a good thermostatic control. The window to the room can be partially opened, but to be honest, you're in the heart of New York and even on the 25th floor, it's noisy - 24 hours a day. With the window closed, you really don't get any outside noise and if temperatures are high, all rooms have air conditioning which you can set to the desired temperature. The views from the 25th floor were great - particularly at night, and our room looked over towards the Hudson River.

My wife's main concern when we arrived was the lack of wardrobe/drawer space. There is no wardrobe as such, but two areas for hanging shirts/trousers/skirts, with hangers supplied. There are also a limited number of small drawers, but in truth, we ended up living out of our suitcases for the five days we were there. I was slightly worried at my wife's initial comment regarding the lack of storage space, but I have noted her comment on leaving the Yotel at the very end of this review, which may tell you a lot. There is also a safe in every room, which is free, so keeping money/credit cards/phones etc. in the room is no problem. You simply choose a four digit PIN and enter this into the safe. Just don't forget your PIN!

We were not expecting breakfast, so were surprised to find that there was a free breakfast everyday, between 7.30 and 10.00am. There is tea and coffee, as well as herbal teas and water. The only food on offer is muffins, but there are a variety to choose from - cranberry, blueberry, banana, nut etc. You can upgrade to a more substantial breakfast if you wish, but I've no idea how much this costs. To be honest, if you want a big breakfast, there are any number of diners around that offer good food at reasonable cost. I would recommend the Tick Tock Diner over on 8th Avenue (near the New Yorker Hotel). As you sit and eat your muffins (which are good), you'll notice the birdsong that permeates the air. This is piped 'music' and I thought it all just added to the 'quirkiness' of the place. There is proper music in all other areas of the hotel, including the lifts.

The location of the Yotel is excellent. Walk up 42nd Street and you are in Times Square in around 15 minutes. Walk down 42nd Street and you can be at the Hudson River in the same time. This is where the Circle Line boat cruises go from, so it's an easy walk to go and book your tickets for a trip that I'd highly recommend. If you turn right out of the Yotel and cross over 42nd Street, continuing along 10th Avenue, there are a few restaurants, but 9 times out of 10, you will probably gravitate towards Times Square, where as you would expect, there are restaurants and bars everywhere.

On every floor in the Yotel, there is a galley kitchen. You are free to access this 24 hours a day (using your swipe card) and there you have free iced water, tea and coffee (the machine will do hot water, Americano, Latte, Mocha, Hot chocolate, Chi etc. etc.), a fridge which you are free to use and even a microwave. There is also a drinks machine, with bottles of Coke and Sprite etc., for $2 each. This was something else we weren't expecting and it was really nice to be able to make tea or coffee anytime we wanted it. You can spend a small fortune on these things when you're away for a few days, so to have it included in the cost of the hotel is a real bonus.

The staff at the Yotel were always polite and helpful. The only issue I had was with the concierge who I spoke to about the Circle Line boat cruises. I knew there were 1, 2 and 3 hour options, yet he was telling a different story. When he eventually decided there was a 3 hour trip, he said this only ran once a day at 7.00pm. I knew this wasn't true as I'd spoken to other people who had taken the cruise during the day, so left it there, walked down to the Hudson River and booked it myself. On reflection, I guess he wasn't selling Circle Line cruises but those of a rival company, though I don't know why he couldn't tell me that. As the Circle Line dock is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel anyway, I would make your own arrangements.

We flew into Newark Airport. Before we left the UK, I booked a bus from Newark to NYC online (USA Coaches). For the two of us, this was only $54 return and if you do the same, you need to get off at the Port Authority Bus Terminal on 42nd Street (the buses also stop at two other places). From there, it's a very short walk down 42nd Street (i.e. away from Times Square), to the Yotel. Easily manageable, even with a couple of suitcases.

I must also mention the food seller just outside the Yotel (at the corner of 10th Avenue and 42nd Street). You will find these all over NYC and I'm sure they are all much the same, but if you want a quick snack, I would highly recommend the chicken or lamb gyros. Really tasty and only $4! The Yotel do not mind you taking food into the hotel, either.

Now for the Yobot! If, like us, you are checking out of the hotel in the morning, but not flying until later that day, then the Yotel will store your luggage for you. Or rather, the Yobot will, Just use the touchscreen to request a large or small bin, enter your name and a pin no., and the Yobot will pick up your cases and store them in the wall of boxes in front of you. You'll get a printed receipt with a bar code, Just scan this on your return and the Yobot will retrieve your luggage for you. At all no charge. In truth it would be much easier to give your bags to someone to store in a room somewhere, but where's the fun in that? It can only handle one person at a time, so try and avoid queues, but it's great fun and I guarantee that you'll leave with at least one photograph of it!

We loved the Yotel. It's fresh, it's funky and it really grows on you. It has a large gay following, so if this bothers you, then you'd best go elsewhere, but I would highly recommend it. The atmosphere is very friendly and the beds extremely comfortable and clean.

I mentioned earlier that my wife had a initial concern on seeing the room that there was not enough storage for clothing. She was a bit fraught about this as she likes to unpack and put everything in place before relaxing. It's true that there wasn't a lot of storage space, but then how much time do you intend spending in the room? We were out all day, every day, and shattered when we returned. Anyway, her departing comment was not something I'll forget and was very telling (especially if you know my wife). ''If we come back to New York, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else but the Yotel.'' My sentiments exactly.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HamptonCaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

went to nyc for easter for 5 nights. absolutely loved yotel... check in was quick and simple to use.. key cards for lifts and very secure as you can only access your floor with your card key (be sure to swipe your card in elevator or you could be standing a long time. we asked hotel about an upgrade it wasn't possible but we did get a great room on the 21st floor with an amazing view!!! complimentary breakfast was fine but we only took it 1st day as needed something more substantial . kitchen was great for coffees after a long day sightseeing. rooms totally soundproof. didnt really like that the toilet didnt have a door its not very private. rooms cleaned every day. only used bar once during happy hour but found it very expensive so we did not drink at yotel. we sat at the bar yet they reccomended 15-20 percent waiting tip on bill for 2 drinks even though we weren't waited on.. only bad experience was being woken at 4.30 am for a fire alarm and a real life fire we were evacuated down the stairwell.. it cannot be helped and staff dealt with it wonderfully we were back in our rooms before 5am but having a nights sleep broken in new York is not a good thing. would have been nice to have been re inbursed or something else as a means of an apology but then again glad we wern't left to burn in bed.. over all had a great time at yotel even though it is just a base to stay, conceirge are very helpful but i would not book anything through the hotel as it is more expensive. check out team were great helpful, got out luggage and flagged down a taxi.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fran_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Excellent location, Clean hotel, Excellent service, Amazing room,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LioraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel itself is cute, very compact, perfect for a night in the city. It's very clean, which is a super plus. Also the staff is amazing, super helpful, and very friendly. For this reason alone I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#327 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,422 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,228 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#189 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#49 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsClick and Travelocity.ca so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing