We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very funky”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #135 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last weekend. We were a bit skeptical about the hotel when we booked it - we thought it might be a bit garish. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a terrific atmosphere in the hotel. It really is as cool as it looks. The room was indeed quite small, bit was very comfortable and was well cleaned every day.
We made good use of the galley to make coffees and for ice.
The staff were very helpful at all times.
The location was perfect - just a short stroll Times Square. I really can't fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,498 - 6,504 of 11,192 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Me and my wife Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel ,Its situated in a great position of manhatton .the hotels amenities are second to none, and also unique making this a wonderful experience.
Has for the hotel staff we cannot speak highly enough of them in assisting us from the time we arrived right up to leaving. Also can we just say hello and a massive thankyou to (yousef) going to recommend you to head office many thanks mate .

TO all the staff keep up your outstanding work!!
MR AND MRS Keeting

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Small compact rooms - what you expect in new york
Trendy bar and resturant
Easy check in and check out process
Clean and NEW
The cabins are really cool and I really enjoyed the area that we were in

Room Tip: Great for Times Square Action
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

very stylish hotel * perfect location * friendly staff * free lavazza-coffee and w-lan * big tv-screen with a lot of chanels * bed with interessing features * party if you want to...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 5 nights. We both thaught YOTEL was great! Check in was uncomplicated and quick. The crew on FOUR gave us any info we needed and directed us to our room on the 15th floor. Our premium Queen cabin wasnt the largest, but with the (rather fun) robo-bed folded, there is enough room (besides, its NYC, you wont use your room for much but, showering, sleeping and, well, you get it...). The aircon is quiet, WiFi is mega quick (and free) shower and bathroom is good. Some guests may not like the lack of a proper door/wall (its glass) and the "privacy curtain" between the bedroom and bathroom area, but its a neccesary evil to allow light into the room.

The hotel decor is pretty cool, running with white walls back-lit with neon purple. Loads of cool touches everywhere, even the turbo powered elevators, with 8-bit style music!

There is a galley on every floor with free tea,/coffee/hot chocolate, a shared fridge and microwave and soft drink vendor ($1), so make sure you have $1 bills when you check in, if you want a cold drink. The free breakfast muffins are ok, but a bit bland and boring. There is a CVS pharmacy, dunkin donuts, 7 eleven and a couple of pretty decent diners within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.

Times Square, subways and the Port Authority building are within a 10 minute walk along 42nd street. Also, for travel to and from JFK/Newark airports, there are express busses every 10 minutes from each terminal to W41st street (back of the port authority building) and vice versa. The fare is $15 each, which is cheaper than a taxi (JFK is $45 + tolls, Newark is $80 + tolls).

Pretty hard to find fault with YOTEL Times Square, its clean, friendly, quiet and cheaper than most nearby hotels but with a higher star rating!

RECCOMEND!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Service is quick. View is great on high level but room is very small. Would stay in their corner room again.

Room Tip: Select a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sansanSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Yotel end of March for five nights, the rooms / cabins are small but have lots of the latest innovations, a bed that moves back electrically, ipod station, flat screen TV and we had a view of the Hudson river. A robot will deal with your left luggage and an automated check in system, access to the internet and free printing, handy for those boarding passes.

The hotel was about a ten minute stroll from times square, close to the coach stop which brought from the airport. Breakfast was buffet style with cakes and pastries etc.

Good price, good position clean well maintained hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,721 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,336 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
19,608 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 469 in New York City
4,875 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $184 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing