We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" YOTEL LAY HEE WHO "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“" YOTEL LAY HEE WHO "”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Wonderful and hip describes this new
Euro-Style hotel from the kiosk check-in to the robotic luggage storage.
Perfect location to theaters and fine dining restaurants. Love it !
Jim and Linda Munro
www.kornerkottage.com
Suttons Bay,MI

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,437
    3,675
    786
    278
    223
See reviews for
1,511
5,034
684
1,111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,787)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed at the Yotel recently for 7 days.

It was only built in 2011 so as expected everything is clean & modern, a bit space age in fact. Not the usual style of New York hotels.

The location is in Hell's kitchen, about 10 minutes walk from all the hustle & bustle of Times Square. The closest subway station is part of the Port Authority bus terminal about 5 minutes walk away. It's nor right in the middle of everything, but still close enough.

Each floor on the hotel has a galley kitchen which you all share. It has a free coffee machine, a fridge, microwave & vending machine.
The rooms, or cabins as they call them are fairly small, but sufficient. Why would you go to NYC to stay in your room all day? They have an adjustable sofa bed, a good sized LCD television & a nice powerful shower (no bath)

We were on the 19th floor & you had nice views of Hell's kitchen & the Hudson river across to New Jersey.

It's advertised as 'bed & breakfast' The breakfast is just basically unlimited muffins, which are nice & coffee. You can order a full breakfast for a charge.

The Yotel also has a large roof terrace which I guess would be pleasant in the summer months.
We enjoyed our stay here & would definitely stay at this hotel again if & when we come back to NY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapTown
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I travel alot and this hotel is very nice and clean. I love the whole hightech vibe this hotel has. I had a corner queen on the 25th floor facing the hudson. There are only one of these rooms per floor. Check facebook on occasion for a discount. I saved 15% using a code I found on face book. The club on the 4th floor was packed all 6 nights I was there. The room I had was plenty large enough for 1 or 2 people. Bag storage isnt a big deal. You can leave it with the Yobot or put it in your room. The Bed isnt super hard its about like a futon on the floor. Once you get used to it you wont notice it unless you have back issues.
In my review I have some positives and some negitives. It all depend on what you are looking for.

Now the good
+++++ The Yotel is super claen and very high tech...
+++++ There is a galley on every floor with free coffee and a ice machine. It also has a fridge
To test the whole community fridge I left 2 cokes wih my name on them and they were
never moved. I saw plenty of people leaving left overs in there. This is super handy..
+++++ Everyone who works at the Yotel is super friendly.
+++++ The view from my room is the best I have ever had in NYC
+++++ There is a CVS out front...Handy for snacks
+++++ My room was next to the galley but I never heard anyone.Its not an issue.

And now the bad..
------ I wouldnt call it "Times Square" I mean you are a block away fom the Hudson.
Its in Mid Town West if anything.
------ Its about a 8min walk to the closest subway stop. Its like 4 blocks east.
------ The "Rain Shower" is called so because its like you are trying to shower in a rain shower,
------ The sink doesnt drain the water out of the sink. There isnt enough of a grade on the inside
of the sink to make the water flow to the drain. After you brush your teeth the water
hangs out in the sink. I felt obligated to coral the water and toothpaste into the drain.
If I had to pour out a drink I had to use the shower drain.
----- There is a Subway sandwich place and a Food emporium close. Out side of that food is
a block away. Papya dog and 99 cent pizza place.As far as a nice place you got to walk
a couple blocks..
------ The restraunt on site is expensive. For breakfast I had french toast and a coke and it
was $20..The dinner and lunch didnt aeal to me. I m a steak and burger kind of traveler.

If I can find a good deal I would love to stay here again. The negitives are far less than the positives. I am a sucker for gadgets and high tech. The Yotel is a must stay..

Room Tip: Try for a Corner queen the view is great. Dont take the subway to the Yotel if you have bags. Its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi RebelKnight, Great snapshots!!! I see you met Hairy, an integral part of our welcoming Crew, and his counterpart Lesley (named cleverly by you as Mr. and Ms. Yotel). The facebook discount is a great tip for everyone reading!! You can also call us directly for best deals! Thank you so much for the information regarding your sink. This is not typical and I will be sharing with the appropriate department immediately! Thanks again RebelKnight! Hope to welcome you back soon!
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is what I call a 'Hotel for designers' everything is very well done, the service is great, the rooms are amazing, a bit small -for some- but so comfortable... the bed is like a fluffy cloud!!! hahaha

If you stay here -or not- check out the Sunday Brunchs u will need a reservation but it's easy to get, it's pretty much an all u can eat for 2 hours brunch, the ambience is great music, such a great mix of people, and I'll say that it's not pretentious, everyone is just worried about having a good time there.

If your room budget is among this hotel's, you have to stay here and you'll prob be more than satisfied

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pappapidanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Yotel was very clean, staff was helpful and friendly. The beds are a little hard, but got used to them after the first night... kinda like futons. Could have more counter space ... none in the bathroom .. but it is minimalist so it adds to that whole concept. Close to everything. We enjoyed our trip!

Room Tip: We had a corner room so it was bigger so had a bed you didn't have to push a button to have it b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Yotel Hotel offers close proximity to Times Square, the Theatre District, a major subway station, and a busline. The service was excellent and the property was very clean and well designed. Checking in and out couldn't have been easier. The staff actually walks up to you to offer assistance, rather than waiting for you to ask for help. The room was small, but provided what you needed in an efficient use of space. If you're in NYC, you're going to spend very little time in your room anyway! My Queen room was less than $200 a night, and that's difficult to find in such a great location in Manhattan. You could take the 42nd bus to 5th Avenue for shopping, dining, etc. Oh - and coffee, tea, and an assortment of muffins was included each morning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Tiny rooms, glass divider for bathroom means no privacy, horrible check-in via computer then, if the system can't find you e.g. used hotwire or priceline, you have to find staff which delays check-in. This really isn't very close to Times Square and the area just 1 block south and the long Ave. blocks to TS on the east are sketchy at night. Swarms of pajama clad idiots invade the free muffin tables in the morning creating clogged elevators and stressful breakfast conditions. These herds also leave dirty elevators, scuffed hallways and walls, basic wear-and-tear. While the electronic bed buttons to recline the couch into your bed and eco-friendly refillable soap/shampoo/sundries are more modern, this leads to breakages and problems for guests who come after rougher clients who broke things and didn't tell management. Just moving around the ultra-small room is like moving around a tiny maze. Just a few hooks replace a closet, no real place to put luggage, like living in an IKEA-designed dorm room. REALLY do not recommend this for older travelers or those who want more service and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... M, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Chai2,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. Although our cabins are only 170sqft we thought very carefully about the design to ensure they feel spacious while making sure to include high quality fixtures and amenities. We are sorry the in-cabin instructions were not clear as standard luggage can actually fit right under the bed. We acknowledge that we are not a hotel for everyone, however we always strive to please all of our guests and show a good value with, amongst other things, our complimentary muffins, coffee, and tea in the morning. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy these complimentary amenities. If you do have an opportunity to provide more feedback please mail us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Steven Rubin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,776 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,019 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#103 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing