We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yo is the only way to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yo is the only way to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Our family of 4 had an extended stay of 8 nights and found alll 10 out of 10

Room located on the 15th floor was next to the galley was a room for the disabled of which we are not
Noice due to being located next to the galley was minimal
The product offerred in the galley was excellant: ice,ice water, different coffees, hot chocolate and standard soft drink vending machine 2.00 dollar charge for soft drink

Bathroom was surrounded by 3 walls and a glass door (very private) and very good amenities such as body lotions and hair gel

The room for 4 has a sofa bed that converst to a bunk bed and the queen bed does not move like in the smaller rooms but is quite comfortable

There is much storage space under the bed and a separate closet that had a door and a 3 drawer unit along with a safe , hangers , iron and a small ironing board

The room also had a desk tha had 3 other drawers that were used as clothes storage

The noise level was at null

The one time that we used the restaurtant we found the food delicious and the service very efficient

The music was very contenporary as was the whole hotel in design

Parking was great and the charge was approx 40.00 per day no valet

The locatioin was great as it was within a 10 minute walk to the Port Authority subway stop and within 15 minute walk to Times Square

Suggest to buy a subway metro card for 7 days unlimited use fo the subway at a cost of 29.00 with access to busses it would have costed 59.00

Room Tip: Room for 4 is perfect for a family and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSQ0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Hi MSQ0612, “10 out of 10”! That’s what I’m talking about! Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience of all the Yotel features we have to offer. Sounds like you stayed in our Premium Cabin with Double Bunk. As you state, it is perfect for families! We hope that we get to welcome back your entire crew again in the near future! Thanks again MSQ0612!
-Gina. Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,299
    3,567
    757
    271
    217
See reviews for
1,462
4,892
666
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,752)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

From the moment we 'glided' through the revolving doors into the lobby, we were greeted and assisted by such a great and friendly concierge. The ease of self checking in, and being taken to our room. The amazing trendy elevators to our floor. Our premium cabin on the 17th floor was beautiful. Everything you need. Great view out over manhattan and views of the river. Flat screen hd tv. Ipod dock. free usa phonecalls. Very comfy beds. Amazing shower cubicle. Free coffee and filtered water on galleys on each floor. Trendy 4th floor terrace bar. Just the right level of music. Great for a pre cocktail. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Compared to other NYC hotels, this trumps the lot!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

- great location. 5 min walk to port authority (bus and subway station)

- our standard cabin had enough space to put 2 big suitcases and to storage all our things.

- if you can ask the hotel for a room upgrade. We have payed extra 10 usd for day to get a room in24th floor. it has better views and less trafic noise. for 10 usd it's was a very good deal.

- galley "kitchen" has a microwave, water, ice, hot drinks as coffee, chocolate, etc for free.

- great muffins at breakfast with hot bevarages for free. you have to pay for natural juices or a special breakfast.

- most frequented by young travelers, modern environment with fashionable parties at 4th floor.

Room Tip: higher floor have best views and have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I loved my stay. The staff was friendly and swift. The room was quite small but well designed. I wished there was more variety for breakfast, but there is a supermarket across the street. The terrasse is superb (in summer).

A great place for couples who wants to be in a hip place!

The rooms are clean (changing sheets and towel daily) but the commons spaces would need more attention (washrooms, common kitchens on each floor).

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, since away from the bar/terrase (on fourth floor), but the windows are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights at the start of a long vacation in the States. I've been in NY many times before and went for Yotel based on a combination of price (cheap for NY but still expensive) and location (three or four blocks west from Times Sq).

Check in was smooth and hassle-free, all done through the terminals on the ground floor. Took me a minute or so, then i headed upstairs to 'fourth', the main lobby. Then it was another elevator up to my 19th floor room (you need a key to use the elevator so good security).

The rooms are small but not uncomfortably so. I was travelling alone so there was plenty of space for me. Bed was very comfortable, TV large, view superb and shower very good. The provided toiletries were fine for me, and smelled lovely. Only bathroom niggle was I couldn't get cold water from the bathroom sink, only warm water. Don't know if that is intended or not.

The hotel provides free muffins and tea/coffee in the morning and unlike some places i've been the muffins are actually nice. Each floor also has a galley that provides free filtered water, tea and coffee, a microwave and fridge.

I never had any need to speak to any of the staff so cannot comment on customer service.

While the location is good - 10mins walk from the centre of Times Sq - those new to the city might find the blocks around the hotel a little less than salubrious, but i never felt uncomfortable and it is perfectly safe.

I'd stay here again, but the place is probably better suited to leisure than business.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel has good location and distinguishable concept. Desing is everywhere and enables quite small rooms to be comfortable. Perfect foe young couples and design lovers. Complimentary breakfast is poor - just coffee and muffins. For pay You can get more.
Air condition was too loud.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulle_Estonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel met my very particular standards. I wasn't too sure about the location but definitely was happy that I picked this place. Located at 10th and west 42nd, this hotel was amazing located only 3 blocks away from Times Square. It was a great walk to the main attractions including short walk to Herald Square for shopping (34th). Many great restaurants along 9th including 5 napkin burger!, another location plus. 24 hour store across the street for water or toiletries etc. Check in was easy, hotel patio is 5 star and room was typical of Yotel with cube design. Little touches such as the nice shampoo and free beverages and breakfast were great additions. Room service was prompt and always clean. A+ hotel and will stay here again. Staff were friendly and helpful and enjoyed and cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mskien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,854 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,705 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing