We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking down on the capitol of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #102 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looking down on the capitol of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

There is no place like Times Square on earth. Whether the frenetic chaos makes you queasy or motivates your existence, you will have to admit the there is an unrivalled energy here. This was my last night after a short 10 days in NY. I was given an amazing room on the 40th floor, this was the place to be. To rise above NY from the middle is to stop feeling pressured by it, it reminds you that it is just a piece of land with buildings and people going about their lives, like anywhere else. Here, I could watch and contemplate this.

The room was beautiful and clean of course, the staff were polite and attentive. It as after dark when I arrived in my room and I could witness the artificial light show that is 42nd street. I could see the river lights in the distance and I eagerly awaited the morning view, where a cold crisp winter would greet me in a totally different way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,758
    1,977
    485
    139
    98
See reviews for
1,799
2,022
274
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I spent 3 weeks in this hotel on a business trip, and had a very comfortable stay. I had a room on the 41st floor overlooking times square and across the river to Hoboken. The view was spectacular. The room was well-equipped and spacious although I found the bathroom really small. The large screen TV and entertainment system was excellent, as was the wireless network. The enormous and comfortable bed and bedding made my stay most enjoyable. No wine in the mini-bar, only beer and spirits :(

I had room service breakfast and dinner on a number of occasions - the food is good, not great. Breakfasts however were excellent and the dining room staff very pleasant and efficient.

The location is a matter of taste - Times Square can get absolutely insanely busy when the shows exit - stop start walking on the pavement. This can be a little overwhelming, but it's part of the city is all about. The entrance on 41st street is a little haven of calm in comparison to the 42nd Street madness (TOP TIP). The hotel is undergoing renovations to the lobby on 41st Street, but this did not interfere with my stay at all.

I discovered the little snack shop next to reception right at the end of my trip - great for a bag of crisps or a chocolate if you can't face a full dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend to celebrate his 50th birthday. I mentioned the reason for our stay in the comments section when booking online. We were checked in by a very friendly girl who immediately asked us how our trip into the city was and she wished my husband a happy birthday. She then upgraded us to a corner king room on the 42nd floor from a queen room on a lower floor. The room was large, nicely decorated, and very clean. Everything worked great in the room...no problems. Housekeeping was very efficient and friendly. I used the fitness center both days and it was also very clean and had working, state of the art equipment with headphones for the TVs, water, and towels. I was impressed. We were given a late check out of 1 p.m. and then relaxed in the lobby before having to go to the bus terminal. While there, we observed how nice all of the staff was when checking in guests or just saying hello to people walking by. I try not to stay at the same hotel twice in the city because I like new experiences, but it is going to be hard to not go back to this one...it really was perfect.

Room Tip: If you're celebrating something special, mention it in the comments section. You might get an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dondejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I felt very comfortable, and safe! Didn't have to travel far for anything!
Consignor was very helpful! Hotel staff nice!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrC088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This week we stayed at the Waldorf, Doubletree Guest Suites Times Square, the Millenium Hilton and this one. This one was the best.
Waldorf was poor, over priced and impersonal. Doubletree had a great location but tiny rooms. Millenium was friendly but noisy because of the building at Ground Zero. Hilton Times Square ticks all the boxes. Great location, warm welcome ( even though the current refurb works means you go in via a side entrance) good size rooms. This is the one we will go back to.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PYT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We just spent a long weekend at the HIlton Times Square and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very nice and check in was a breeze. We took the red eye so when we arrived our room was not ready. Ashley Eevardi was kind enough to offer us vouchers for breakfast and much to our surprise when we were done eating she had an upgraded room ready for us. Thanks to Ashley It was nice to relax for a bit before heading out. The hotel is in a perfect location. The theatre district and times square is right there and the subway as well. It was nice at night when coming back not to have to walk far after getting off the subway. Our room was spacious and clean and we had a view of the Empire State Building which was awesome, especially at night when it is lit up. The breakfast buffet has a little of everything on it. Hot and cold. It's a bit pricey but that's true of any hotel restaurant. We had dessert in the bar area and that was very good. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the middle of all the excitement.

Room Tip: We were on the 37th floor and the view of the Empire State Building is awesome ,especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funlovinginNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had a 4 night stay here and is in heart of Times Square and is great base to see all this wonderful citys sites. Very clean. We where on a hih floor and you get a good view of the local area. Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,781 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,160 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing