We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Rooms Need Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #106 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location - Rooms Need Updating”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Firstly - important to say I was staying here on points. If I were paying I think the review would be a little different.

The hotel has a great location and is definitely the right place to stay if you want to be right in the centre of New York.The new lobby is lovely and nicely decorated but the rooms themselves definitely need updating. They are relatively large for New York but the items in them, particularly the bathrooms, need a refurb. We had a faulty bathroom door which wouldn't close properly.

Stay here - but get a deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,877
    2,020
    499
    147
    102
See reviews for
1,868
2,068
283
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Ths is a lovely, clean and welcoming hotel, right in the thick of all the action. It was a perfect base for exploring Manhattan, with very comfortable rooms. We had a family room with 2 queen beds - the room was enormous with plenty of space for all. We had a small issue with the housekeeping - our room wasn't cleaned properly on one day, but this was dealt with in a professional way by Peter Arons, Guest Services Agent, who gave us free breakfast, and what a fantasic breakfast it was. Would definitely use this hotel again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location: walking distance to all Broadway theatres, Times Square, subway lines, etc. Very clean and large rooms for Manhattan. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet considering it was in Times Square.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RobChoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Taking my family on there first NYC vacation as i had grown up in NY. From the friendly staff at Valet parking, bell service to the front desk. Well appointed room that was ideal in size for a family of four. Very clean and I went with the double queen beds. Being a silver member I got free WIFI in my room. When they say in the heart of the action it's no joke. Steps away from it all. There is a Applebee's right outside the door for cheaper food as well as a McDonald's for a cheap breakfeest. I took the advice of another review and got a refrige in the room. No charge as it truly help with a new born and milk storage.
The maid service was great as well. My son spilt some soda on the bed and they showed up in mins to change the sheets and pillow cases at the same time to clean out the trash and restock the bathroom. All done at about 9 pm. With a smile.

When we picked up our car, it had a free bottle of water from the valet service. A truly nice touch.

FYI, I got a great AAA rate for about 260 a night. Unheard of for a times square hotel. I was going to stay on broklynn for the same amount and take the train in. By only issue was I was trying to extended a night but the hotel wanted $400 for the additional night. I was hoping to get something closer to my rate on a tue night but no luck. They had rooms open and that was my only disappointment.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Times Square. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a postcard view of the empire state building. I was most impressed with the enthusiastic staff at the hotel. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful. From the front desk staff to the concierge, you felt as though you had their undivided attention.
We took the train in and walked from Penn Station to the hotel. It was eight short blocks away. The location is great, right next to Times Square. The subway is only steps away. All things combined to make it a great trip.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was large compared to most NYC rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazuza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We found the hotle to be ideally located in that all we wanted to see was with in walking distance eg broadway etc.Also it was only a short walk to bus terminal therefore all shoping trips( woodbury common) very easy accessable.The rooms were very well apointed the staff very helpful.The only down side was the hard sell of time share on site.overall we would gladly return.

Room Tip: for breakfast go straight across the road you will see cop cars outside excellent breakfastit will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parks, LA
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wow! The wife and I spent Christmas weekend in NYC and stayed at the hotel. Coming from Louisiana we did not know what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. The staff were fantastic. They were so helpful, courteous and friendly. This hotel is in the best location. Everything is within walking distance. Our view (rm 4201) was unbelievable, 42nd street, the Hudson etc. The price was almost a steal for this time of the season. I've done all the homework for you, I spent countless hours planning our vacation and checking into hotels in NYC (I'm very picky). This place is your best bet for the money. The room was clean (no bugs). I have found no negatives with this hotel. I highly recommend the hotel for couples wanting a nice getaway. The bar in the lobby looked lame. Go to O'Charley's bar around the corner for a fun time, the staff there are great and the food was pretty good. Trust me I'm a cop.

Room Tip: Room #4201 has a corner window (limited view) great room for 2 people. Night views were unbelievable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeloi937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,933 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#180 of 468 in New York City
7,840 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,415 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#147 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing