We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing location but poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #58 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing location but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked and paid for a superior room with king bed at the Sofitel New York 6 months prior to our visit and when we arrived they only had a room with 2 single beds. We had to move rooms the next day, we were told they would move our luggage for us but when we arrived back at the hotel at 5pm this had not been done. They gave us the room and we then had to wait until 6.15pm to bring us our luggage. They kept telling us how busy they were! I also asked the concierge to book a restaurant for us which was full but were told to call back at 2pm. I asked them to do this while I was out and when I got back at 5pm they had not done so. The room we moved to was better than the first room but nothing special. The position of the hotel was fantastic so I would consider staying again. The doormen were great and gave us good suggestions of where to eat for breakfast each day. The Sofitel in Rome, Amsterdam and Marrakech are much more helpful and had better rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waxyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that you weren’t given the right room at the time of your arrival, please accept our sincere apologies for such a mistake and all the inconvenience you had. Regarding your luggage for a question of security we don’t deliver luggage when the guest is not present to confirm the accuracy of what deliver, but you should have been advised of this at the moment you were proposed to change rooms we will work to improve our communication to our guests.
Thank you for your comments about our doormen.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,969
    1,643
    374
    117
    60
See reviews for
1,027
2,818
333
830
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Located on 44th Street between 5th and 6th avenues, it is close 2 blocks to Times Square but far enough not to hear the noise. Room was clean. Bathroom was huge. The staff was quite friendly. The bed was a queen but seemed more like a double to me. But, I can't complain. The room was booked through Hotwire and cost $216 instead of the usual $342,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weluv2travel7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.
Regarding the bed size you actually stayed on a Queen Size bed, we don’t have doubles in our hotel, once it is clear you didn’t stay in a king size bed (I can’t identify your room with information provided).
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The excellent service we received here reallly helped us get the most out of our fleeting visit to NYC. The welcome at check in was warm, helpful and efficient, the restaurant recommendation from the concierge was spot on and our breakfast server managed to be welcoming, attentive and unobtrusive all at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesPerGallon1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I've reviewed the Sofitel a few times over the last decade; always v.positive and last year I decided to do something different (Staybridge Inn Times Square) and whilst that was a great hotel too, returning to the Sofitel this year reminded me why this hotel is so much better than the others.
Firstly the location can't be beat; there are few hotels of this standard that manage to combine the right mix of closeness to all the major landmarks whilst retaining a feeling of solitude. Admittedly the sofitel is never going to win awards for the views out of the window but New York is for walking in, not watching from the inside :-)
Service is great; everyone smiles, says hello (or bonjour/soir) and nothing is too much trouble. Last time I was here I griped a little that no renovation was going on but on inspection I can see that they're constantly renovating rooms, just in the same style and layout and why not if it isn't broken?
Entertainment system is great and free wi-fi whilst it says is a "low-fi" option vs the paid for version I can testify that my ipad couldn't tell the difference so save your money. L'Occitane in the bathrooms is nice and the usual biscuits and water with turn-down service is a nice touch.
For 29 floors it's also amazing how quick the lifts are; you rarely wait more than 30 secs for one.
Late check out was handy and made the perfect end to a weekend away.

Room Tip: Any lifts at the corners are furthest from the lifts although the noise isn't loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Awesome hotel with very cool staff. Stayed for three nights and wish I had stayed longer. Will return. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iceland_Unlimited_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing