We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“CSI EXPERIENCE DOES NOT DISAPPOINT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Times Square

Discovery Times Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.99*
and up
New York City Explorer Pass
Ranked #145 of 1,064 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Discovery Times Square (Discovery TS) where extraordinary exhibits and unforgettable experiences come to life in our exciting, vibrant space for entertainment, learning and adventure.New York has always been something of a stage - a showcase for debuts and second acts. And so it is fitting that in the vast space that once housed The New York Times printing presses, Discovery Times Square now offers headlines of a different, but equally compelling sort.From the icy waters of the Titanic's final resting place to genius mind of Da Vinci and the riches of King Tut, Discovery is proud to celebrate the world with the world class exhibits of the new Discovery Times Square.Discovery TS also features two exclusive retail experiences — The Discovery Store featuring the latest in games, dvds and other products from the #1 nonfiction company in the world, Discovery Channel, and The New York Times Store with a wide range of exclusive items perfect for the newspaper enthusiast or history buff.
Hewitt, New Jersey
1 review
“CSI EXPERIENCE DOES NOT DISAPPOINT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I went solo to the CSI Experience but ended up pairing with a couple of guys, which made it a lot of fun, especially when we had to review the crime scene that we were assigned to. Along the way we split up, but there are three different crime scenes, and a lot to learn from how each of them are investigated. Makes a girl who never was into science want to learn more....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank eightbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    234
    139
    86
    77
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dead Sea Scrolls”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staff was not friendly or helpful, the "Guide" that introduced us to the exhibit would not answer questions. Good to see some of the original scrolls and learn about there history.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibit, yet again Discovery Times Square pulled a fast one at the end.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The exhibit was well presented. Lots of artifacts and information to study. I was disappointed, when it got to the end where the Ten Commandments were displayed, there was the tiniest of notes explaining due to the fragile nature of the document, this was no longer the original but an exact copy. The original was only on display during the exhibit's opening weeks. DTS pulled similar on us with King Tut. Either way, the presentation of the documents, the available films, timelines, etc were very informative. We're glad we got to see this exhibit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaleofGenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only if the Dead Sea Scrolls are on your "bucket list"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

They were on mine-- I've been fascinated by them since I was a kid. The exhibit is interesting and has more artifacts than scrolls-- they were interesting in their own right. I thought they were well displayed and had informative captions, although some of the videos were confusing and not well referenced.

I paid half price for my ticket via Groupon. I think I'd have felt cheated if I'd paid the entire $30 entrance fee.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarylisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“LivingSocial deal was a great value, but the 10 Commandments scroll has been removed from the exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I purchased the LivingSocial deal for $23 for each adult which included entrance, the audio guide and a basic souvenir book. We went to the exhibit on Saturday Feb 5 at around 1:45. We didn't have to wait on line for anything. We presented our vouchers at the "will call" box and were quickly given tickets. We enjoyed the exhibit, but one thing Discovery Times Square hasn't nailed yet (this was not our first DST exhibit) is the signage and layout of other artifacts.

The exhibit starts in a room with huge screens showing areas around the Dead Sea and opens into another room with artifacts. After that room, the scrolls are arranged in a circle with other display items, scenes and movies around the room. The signage around the artifacts is so tiny and very close to the next item on display, so it takes a while to be able to read everything.

Overall, we did enjoy the exhibit, but were disappointed to learn that the 10 Commandments scroll was removed from the exhibit and replaced with a copy. We liked having the free audioguide, but if you chose to purchase it, I'd say that 2 people can easily share 1. There isn't a whole lot of commentary in it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing