We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafeteria style cafe”
Review of American Art Cafe

American Art Cafe
Ranked #2,599 of 13,768 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Central Park
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

Quite a few choices for a snack or lunch. You pick from prepared food, pay and take it to a table, so you may need to see if there are free tables.
Food is fine.
The space itself and the views are great.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Z3209AAbrunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 263 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2016

The food was very good. But -- the service was very nice and expectantly helpful. They server really great dishes. i love them.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank GinaMco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

The café in the Petrie Wing provide a nice respite from the busy museum. The food (table service) was excellent. The atmosphere was calm and plain. We enjoyed it.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank JeanB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

This is an easy and quick meal, with great choices, right in the heart of a fabulous museum. I love stopping in here - the food is good, the line moves very quickly, and there are plenty of tables to eat at. The location can't be beat.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ahappycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 15, 2016

After a long day of walking and crowds we needed a break. We stopped by this cafe to get a snack and some coffee. The choices were wonderful with fruit, sandwich, parfait options among many others. Everyone was able to find something they could eat (special diets) and the coffee was hot and just hit the spot.

We got a table by the window and just loved the sun, the view, sitting all while taking our time to enjoy our food. It was our oasis in the hustle of a full and fun day.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed American Art Cafe also viewed

 

Been to American Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.