We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Living like a local in Chelsea, NYC”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
2nd Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
aligreen2...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living like a local in Chelsea, NYC”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a terrific location! With Chelsea Market, the Highline, subway, restaurants and shopping all nearby, you can live like a local in this comfortable apartment while still being close enough to the action to enjoy the many attractions New York has on offer. We (myself and two teenage children) stayed in Kamala’s apartment for a week in late November and managed to tick off Empire State, Lady Liberty, 911 Memorial, Times Square, The Roc, Central Park, Dover St Market, Moma, Museum Natural History, the Met, Sardi’s dinner and a Broadway show, dinner at Balthazar in Soho, Supreme on Lafayette… and much more, while enjoying our village-like retreat in Chelsea. We experienced a few hiccups with the apartment during our first couple of days – central heating was up a bit high and there were some plumbing issues, but Kamala (a gracious host) was quick to respond, ensuring the issues were addressed asap and we were comfortable. She even recommended some local restaurants and a great thrift store that my son loved. Overall, a comfortable, authentic and safe NYC stay (the queen bed is like sleeping on a cloud!) and we enjoyed our time here. The washer and dryer were a huge bonus. Pharmacy and supermarkets a stone's throw away. Can recommend Murray’s Bagels for an authentic bagel and coffee breakfast just a couple of blocks down 8th on way to subway; Fat Witch bakery at Chelsea Market for yummy brownies; and Bubby’s at end of highline for a delicious, authentic American meal – we had thanksgiving here and it was fabulous. Also – for visiting Aussies, Bubby’s was the only place I could get a lemon, lime and bitters - and it was excellent! I would have loved to explore the local area and restaurants more but we just ran out of time....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2017
Thank You so much Ali, was a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for taking such great care of the place, awesome guests would be happy to host again. Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Amazing Space”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Brilliant location and amazing space in this apartment! I would absolutely stay with my family at this apartment again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. A pleasure to host your family. So glad you enjoyed
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macbroncs
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great spacious apartment in Chelsea”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We are a family of four with adult daughters and stayed in the apartment for 12 night through Christmas and New Year. The location was great (proximity to subway, food outlets, restaurants, etc), and the space and amenities within the apartment where greatly appreciated. No doubt you can't get the benefits of living in the heart of Chelsea without some of the downsides. Fronting on to 8th avenue can get a little noisy but it is an easy compromise to make.
Kamala was very friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Many Thanks. Truly glad you and family enjoyed.
Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four including 16 and 14 year old boys loved our stay in this apartment. The location is excellent, and a really nice neighbourhood. We were close to the Highline, subway, Chelsea market. and Empire State Building. It suited us to have the space of a large apartment and the bunk beds were great. Noise was not an issue for us, we were so exhausted that sleeping was not a problem. We really felt like proper New Yorkers! Kamala and her brother were very helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not enough mugs!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Josie and family were excellent guests. Welcome you back another time. Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvin-Vyt...
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The apartment was very nice and the location is great. We were confortable. We were five and one of the kids had to sleep on the couch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the noise
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Was a pleasure to have you and your family in our home. You were great guests! Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne m
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable apartment in great neighbourhood with a wonderful host”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was clean and spacious, with enough shelving and wardrobe space so we could unpack and store our stuff. It was perfect for a family of 4 with 2 teenage sons. Kamala greeted us on arrival and provided information on local supermarkets, eateries and places of interest, plus a copy of a local magazine which helped us get to know the area. It's an easy walk to the subway with lots of local restaurants and bars for breakfast or dinner. The apartment is on a busy street in New York so noise at night was often a problem - wearing earplugs gave us a good night's sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The neighbourhood and easy access to the subway
Liked least: The noise - but hey, it's New York!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Many thanks! Great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanaag2...
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holidays”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We staid in Kamala’s apartment in August 2015, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary together with our 2 teenagers kids.
We had a wonderful time discovering New-York for the first time, what an amazing city…
We really felt at home in the apartment, it’s very spacious and comfortable, it’s well situated close to public transport and easy reach to the rest of Manhattan.
Just what we needed; we definitively recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Many thanks! Pleasure to host your family. Wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing