We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Goldilocks Find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #125 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Goldilocks Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Not too expensive, not too cheap, not too stylish, not too dowdy, the Chandler hits that perfect median. A step down from a boutique hotel, it still has enough style to be several big steps up from the Holiday Inn. The rooms are a good size by NYC standards and offer all the little things that warm the business travelers' heart: Frette towels, Aveda products, an iPod dock, free (and fast and functional) wireless, flatscreen LG TV, lots of power outlets. The staff were all kind and efficient. The location isn't sexy but it is very convenient, a few blocks away from Herald Square and Penn Station, Korean Kanyon, the Empire State. 31st street is quiet, so you'll be able to sleep even if you're on the street side, even on a Friday night. The furnishings and fittings are all new, and the bathrooms are tile and glass and porcelain, not a piece of molded plastic in sight. But here let me selfishly take the chance to issue an open plea to hotel designers: please stop with the overhead rainfall showerheads. Those of us of the female persuasion who would prefer not get our hair wet each time we bathe would appreciate it. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    1,008
    259
    95
    50
See reviews for
547
1,329
207
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a great find in New York! I only live a Metro North train ride away, but when looking to stay in New York City for a birthday weekend, the Hotel Chandler caught my eye. It looked modern, sleek, and hip. I was right. The staff was always friendly, and helpful - nice touch with the free continental breakfast, and while they are renovating the lobby, you also are welcome to a free wine and cheese presentation from 5-8:00 p.m. (along the lines of a Kimpton Hotel Wine and Cheese) - a very nice touch. By the way, the bar, and the restaurant that are attached will be opening soon - within weeks. The rooms were CLEAN, the linen was perfect, including amazing white fluffy towels - an Ipod charger, room darkening shades, - all little extras that added up to a really nice touch. Also, they were kind enough to upgrade us to a King for my birthday "stay". The room size was adequate for New York, especially - and so cozy. All in all - this was a fantastic place to park ourselves for 3 nights of fun in New York, and the location is just a 15 minutes walk from the heart of Times Square. I would definitely stay at this property again - for business, pleasure, etc. - and will recommend to my friends and associates.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a King Sized bed - if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauletteOliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

excellent Hotel. The staff and accomodations were exceptional. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a wonderful, quaint, boutique hotel where the staff is friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Akisa, Andre' and Sam were a delight! They remember your name, your room number and even certain preferences,(Thank You Sam!) We will certainly stay here again. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The renovations in progress at this time will only add to the beauty of this place when completed. We certainly enjoyed and appreciated our morning breakfast of fresh coffee and pastries along with the special treat at the end of each day in the temporary breakfast/lounge! I highly recommend this hotel, just be prepared to walk a couple of blocks to the subway or the valet can certainly flag you down a cab very quickly. Also have to mention the Wine and Chocolate bar Ayza that is across the street. Great place for a night cap and dessert!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abycarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
I absolutely loved your review, especially your impressions of our staff. Thank you so much! After all, it is the people we encounter during a trip that we remember most, I think.

Also, your tip about Ayza is a good one for readers of this forum.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Chandler!

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for the first time, and we were extremely happy with everything. We stayed in a Superior Queen room, which was perfect for the price. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice, reasonably sized and comfortable the room was. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We had a problem with noisy neighbors very early in the morning, and after we called the front desk to complain they immediately took care of it. The location was perfect, with plenty of wonderful authentic restaurants within walking distance. Rest assured we will be staying there on our next visit, as well as recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Recently my daughter and I stayed here, and it was perfect. The room was well appointed with two very comfortable beds - great linens. We loved the heavy robes provided! And the surprise was the breakfast in a designated cozy room - marvelous muffins and fresh fruit, followed with an amazing treat at the end of the day - wine and cheese in the same room. Perhaps this was due to the fact that they were renovating the lobby (almost completed when we were there - very beautiful). And, lastly but definitely not least important was the staff. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. It made my first visit to NYC the best.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet - such a surprise for a large city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cummington,ma
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I was very happy with my second visit to this grand hotel last week. Modern touches can't cover up the "bones" of this beautiful old building. A sweeping marble staircase, ceiling design and molding from a century gone by and thick, thick walls. From the valet at the curb who seamlessly dealt with my car to the reception desk to the "check-up" call 15 minutes after I ascended to my room, I was made to feel like a respected guest. The linens were crisp and towels were plush. I slept like a baby. Thank you, Hotel Chandler.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p.zindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Yes, there is nothing like the beautiful traditional features still on show at Hotel Chandler!

Thank you for your kind review and for mentioning all the benefits of staying with us.

We hope you will indeed return and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#131 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#165 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#168 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#14 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing