We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, but not value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Ranked #366 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central, but not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I think that this is the sort of hotel that visitors to NY "end up". It is very central and within spitting distance of a subway stop. And that is about it.
My room was so small that if I had had 2 pieces of luggage, I would have had to jump to the bed from the door. Even in the middle of the day, you needed all available lights on. Getting in and out of the bathroom was a challenge as there was not really enough room for an open door and a person at the same time. And all this for $224 a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    183
    101
    35
    38
See reviews for
58
175
61
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

1st visit to NYC -4 day Thanksgiving weekend - this wasn't my 1st hotel choice, but wasn't disappointed. For $200/night, I got a 12 ft x 12 ft room to include a 4 ft x 6 ft bathroom, twin bed, desk and nightstand and TV with HBO -danishes, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice available 7 am - 10 am in lobby. Small window in room overlooked brick wall, floors squeaked with every step, but room was clean, bed comfortable, and shower had plenty of hot water. The best part of this hotel is the location. Two minute walk to the left or right of the front door gets you to Lexington Ave #6 subway station which heads uptown and downtown (terminates at City Hall/Brooklyn Bridge). Easy walk from front door to Empire State Building, Chrysler Building, Grand Central Station, 5th Ave shopping, Times Square, Broadway, - Midtown streets scenic and fun to walk around so I didn't use the subway as much as I thought I would. Plenty of places nearby to get take-out meals. All in all, as long as you are prepared for a cozy/claustrophobic room at Clarion Park Ave, you will have a great time in NYC. So much to see & do that you won't spend much time at the hotel, anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pepette162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

worse hotel i have come across... staff were rude room was small and super overpriced!
you can get much better hotels else where. Think 100 times before you book this Tuna Can!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akp883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

A dark room with no view unless you want to look at airconditions or fire escapes. No fridge,- but in April you could place a bottle on the outside window sill. The room was small, but with places to put clothes etc.You could make coffee/tea in the room (if you had got supplies from the staff), clean room + bathroom, WiFi and tv. The staff was very helpful, but had problems when we were too many guests who wanted breakfast at the same time. Easy to get around in New York from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen-Mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is good value through and through. For under $200/night you can't ask for much in NYC, but this place fully satisfies. The location is excellent, it's clean, and the rooms have everything you need. No, it's not fancy, but it's cozy and best of all, it's affordable! I stayed here last year in a single room, and booked a full-size (double) this time, which is clearly a step above the singles. The bed is not that large so might be cramped for two people, but as a single traveler that obviously didn't bother me. I thought the front office staff was okay, no complaints. If their rates stay like this, I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Let me start with the positive - this is a very convenient midtown location, and the rooms are surprisingly quiet inside considering where you are - but I think for the price I paid (average $360 per night) you must be able to do better, even in New York. I think to some Park Avenue sounds very grand, like the Mayfair of New York, but in reality it's much the same as adjacent streets such as 5th Avenue, Madison, Lexington, 3rd etc.
The negatives are rather numerous - cramped, smelly rooms, tiny bathroom where the plugs dont fit so you have to keep the taps running to have a bath, no catering other than a minimal (although free) breakfast.
I dont think any of this would ruin a trip to New York but maybe suggest you use Trip Advisor to find alternatives that give you a little bit more in terms of atmosphere and/or quality.

Room Tip: dont accept a single room even if you are travelling on your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheadleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I liked the hotel, rooms are clean, the location perfect, the only bad thing was the girl at the reception,,,,never look at you when you talk to her.any question you ask her she look at the doorman..like she don't know nothing..i ask her for some restaurant to have dinner and she wait like 10 minute looking for the doorman to come and tell me..her name is Marellen....i think the housekeeper will do a better job a the front desk

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amhamud m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#297 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Deauville
Hotel Deauville
#312 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#349 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#359 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Property: Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Address: 429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Park Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Hotel Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New York City
Clarion Park Avenue
New York City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing