We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet city center hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Ranked #367 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bresso, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet city center hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A small city center hotel near to the Empire State Building, half way between downtown and uptown and with the underground station just nearby.
A very good breakfast included in the room price is waiting for you.
..................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    183
    101
    35
    38
See reviews for
58
175
61
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

Our room had ample space for our 5 day stay, the room service was above what was expected
I.e changing of bed every day & general cleaning of room & bathroom.
It was noise free & staff were very accommodating to any requests we had....
It was in the perfect location for all the main tourists attractions, subway was just a block away.
The breakfast wasn't 5 star but was perfect to start the day in the big apple :)
This was my third stay in new York, which I have stayed in more expensive bigger hotels but my advice is keep your money for shopping etc & stay at the clarion.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

It doesn´t promess more than it is. The hotel location was very good, walking distance to Times Square, The Empire State and Central Park and only a block away from the metro. The room was nice but small, the staff hepful and kind, the breakfast perfect to go out and walk a lot. If you are looking for a cheap and great located hotel is perfect for you.

Room Tip: The bakery in the corner is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria_washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOW
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We needed two beds, but the staff gave us two only for a surcharge of 30 USD.
Room we got was very spacious, but facing the Park Avenue. VERY noisy in evening, windows are absolutely not sound proof.
Bathroom was generally OK, with a window on the fire escape stairs. BUT the glass was not obscure, so the whole bath room was clearly visible.
My friend told me he heard somebody outside (drunk??), so we attached a towel to the window.
Continental breakfast is OK.
All and all, it seems to be a good, albeit rather faceless and unpretentious, option for NYC.

Room Tip: Better ask for a window-less room, if you are noise sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osakasenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

You get what you pay for. The hotel location was good, very close to metro station.The Empire state, and the central terminal are walking distance. The hotel room was very quiet, bu so tiny. Breakfast was satisfying. Staff was very helpful and kind.
I advise this hotel if you need a cheap, clean, and central hotel.But if your first point of interest is comfort, than this hotel is not for you..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pino06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We recently stayed a night at the Clarion for a girls trip to the city before Christmas. Upon arriving, we called down to the front desk (on our cell phone because our room phone wouldn't work and then they accused of making international calls) to get some ice and set up the rollaway bed we had ordered. Juan Carlos brought us up some ice and left the roll away bed un set up. Before leaving, he told us it was "no big deal" because "no one was here". We called down on our cell phones again, realizing we didn't have a wine opener for our celebratory bottle of wine and needed some more ice (my friend hurt her ankle) and they then told us we'd have to go downstairs to open the wine/get ice.

The room is very tiny, had about 1 foot walking space in between the bed, roll away bed we had to set up ourselves. When we went to turn on the tv, it had about 10 channels, only a few actually had volume.

The room's temperature was unbearably hot, and the windows were not able to open up to get any fresh air in the room. None of the clarion staff members offered to help us turn the air conditioning off so we all had to sleep in our underwear. Also, you can't turn the light on in the bathroom without turning the fan on too so its impossible to communicate with anyone else. Luckily, there was no one else in the whole hotel so noise level wasn't a problem.

The complimentary breakfast was an entirely different story. We went down about 9:30 to an odd assortment of hard bagels (unable to be sliced by a metal knife), gas station pastries, bagged orange and apple juice and coffee that tasted like dirt. There was a waffle maker there, but no waffle mix. My friend and I grabbed two of the hard bagels and attempted to slice through them while our other friend went to go ask the hotel manager where she could find the waffle mix. She returned with the hotel manager who yelled at her saying, "I make them"!

He then came over to where my friend and i were attempting to slice our bagels and yelled at us "put them back" and grabbed our bagels and threw them back in the pin. He also yelled at us for using a tea plate instead of a plate by the waffle maker void of any waffles. This horrible man then yelled a few more things under his breath and went in some back room for a while only to return with two bags of bagels. Then, he put his dirty little hands all over our sesame bagels, took the bagel chopper liked it was a guillotine and slammed our bagels in half on the counter. Meanwhile, he attempted to make a waffle for my friend which wasn't cooked through and tasted horrible as well.

We were very surprised when we saw another guest at breakfast - a grandma that looked like she'd taken too much valium - guess that's the kind of guest that the clarion looks to attract here. The hotel managed stood by and watched us like a hawk while we ate and then as we got up, muttered some things under his breath about us and yelled at my friend for not finishing her cup of their crap coffee.

Overall staff was horrible, so unhelpful in recommending places to eat/go/sightsee and wouldn't so much as dare offer to call you a cab. I highly suggest NOT EVER booking a reservation at this abominable "hotel". It was a disgrace to see such inattentive or even friendly peoeple acting in such a wretched manner at their place of employment. I would be utterly surprised if this hotel booked more than 4 rooms a month at the very most.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candacegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Once again another hotel that required a massive deposit even thou though they take a scan
of your credit card at check-in. The room was small but very nice and had what you need when
travelling. What do you expect for a cheap hotel in New-York. Thou in 2 places of my room,
there was scurting missing on the roof and round the carept which was unusual and abit ugly.
There was also a dodgey wall paper patch-up job done in the bathroom where is looks like a
hole had been made. The rooms can get a bit hot with the central heating so you might need
to use the air-conditioner. The air-conditioner works but makes a rattling/motor sound so
you will not want it on for long anyway. The room was always made up nice and clean eevry
day we came back and the staff were very friendly. Some were basic on their knowledge of
where things were or how much a taxi would cost etc. All the staff wore different uniform from
casual clothes, dress clothes to a clarion polo shirt so it could get a bit confusing to who you
are askin for advice when all the uniforms are different. It was a good stay and would probably
stay again if the price is right.

Room Tip: It can be loud at night time as it is in centre of New York
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#299 of 467 in New York City
1,565 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Deauville
Hotel Deauville
#317 of 467 in New York City
661 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#359 of 467 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
857 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#348 of 467 in New York City
153 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#263 of 467 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Park Avenue

Property: Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Address: 429 Park Avenue South, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Park Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New York City
Clarion Park Avenue
New York City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing