We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Had a fab time in this hotel during our 9 night stay in New York over christmas. Loved the charm of this hotel, the complimentary food and drink were a great perk and kept us going all day and the Junior suite was a great size. Would definately reccomend as hard to fault. Madison and vine does brilliant food!

Room Tip: Not a tip about the room but my husband had organized a surprise (champagne and flowers) for when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarag99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,134
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,132
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

BACKGROUND:

Stayed here as a belated anniversary weekend in New York - my girlfriend is a huge book lover so I was banking on the novelty factor.

HOTEL:

Totally fits the name - the main lobby all the way to each floor is very book centric. If you're out for novelty of a book-themed place then this is where to be.

Continental breakfast + wine reception included too as are drinks and snacks during the day on the 2nd floor.

It's a good location too - it's location makes both uptown and downtown Manhatten accessible easily.

SERVICE:

Great across the board - down to when they couldn't provide room service they rushed up with menus for places that delivered and made sure the delivery man got to the room OK.

VALUE FOR MONEY:

Not the cheapest hotel ever - but you get what you pay for including a continental breakfast + wine reception in the evenings.

SUMMARY:

Great place for a book lover and worth the money for what you get. If you just want a comfy bed in a nice hotel though you could probably save cash elsewhere. Just depends what you want!

Room Tip: Each floor is separated by subject area - see what floor you end up on! We were on the 7th which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liceas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We looked and looked for a NYC for our anniversary getaway and eventually decided on the Library Hotel. It was the best decision we made!

We just got back this morning, and we're already talking about a return trip. There are so many hotel options in NYC, it can be a little overwhelming. However, we loved that the Library Hotel was a very small and very intimate--it is very much a boutique hotel.

The location was great. You're right in the middle of everything, and you're a 10 minute walk to Times Square/Broadway (if that's your thing).

The service couldn't be matched. From the minute we stepped in, we felt completed pampered and looked after. Since it is a small hotel, they remember you. "How was Le Bernardin last night?" we'd get asked.

The amenities are great: rooftop deck, reading room, lots of books, etc. We made several trips to stock up on goodies during breakfast and tea time. There's always coffee, tea, cookies and fruit available.

The room itself was very, very clean (and we are very pick when it comes to cleanliness). Maid service was great--twice daily. We stayed in a king deluxe room--the "love" room--with a gorgeous little balcony. As per typical NYC standards, the rooms are smaller than you'd get elsewhere. We probably wouldn't want to stay in a room smaller than we did.

We've stayed in some very nice hotels around the world, and this is right up there with them. As I said, we're already planning a trip back to NYC in late summer, and we won't even look at other hotels.

This place is a real gem!

Room Tip: The "love room"--1106--is PERFECT for a romantic getaway. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Amazing boutique Hotel in a great Manhatten location. We stayed here for my 30th birthday and when the staff found out the put a bottle of fizz in the room and even a birthday card. Great rooms and facilities. The complimentary breakfast was a fantastic way to start each day...biggest bagels I’ve ever seen! Very friendly staff spotless romms. The evening cheese and wine offering was a nice touch and was also complimentary. The roof garden is also well worth checking out and you can take your brekkie up there too. I’ll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Rooms are smallish, but bathrooms are among the best in this category of hotels. Library lounge doubles as breakfast room ( usually included in room price), tea room andnwork room. Coffee, teas, crackers, and after 5 pm, wine and cheese are offered, as is the free internet access making up for the small room and actually great space to relax, plan your day, or simply work a couple of hours. 2 computers are offered close bye. There is also a roof lounge that doubles as a cool bar at night where younger 30 somthings go for wine and a nice outside terrace. Hotel Staff is very helpfull. Very european, and these extra spaces, make this hotel, in my view, much better than the other hotels around this price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location on Madison Ave, fantastic service. Rooms are small but this is expected of NYC. Loved that each floor had its own theme. Walking distance to major attractions... NYC Public Library, Empire State, Grand Central Terminal. Very central. Excellent breakfast and good selection of wines and cheeses at afternoon tea. Great to take a break at the lounge after a day of sightseeing/shopping. Wonderful gem, would recommend to couples or people travelling with friends. May be a bit cramped for families with young children.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I wanted to stay in mid-town because I had many business meetings in the area. I had found the Library Hotel on TripAdvisor. But, I have to say it exceeded my expectations. The staff is friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable 24/7. Included in your room is breakfast, wi fi and wine and cheese in the evening. I opted for the petite room and was a little worried that it would be too small - but it comes with a big bathroom with all the amenities. It was clean and comfortable - the TV was a little old and the reception not great - but everything else was fantastic. I stayed in the Poetry room and loved coming to the room at night and see the poetry books, very relaxing. They have room service and a restaurant with a great wine list. On the day I checked-out my flight didn't leave until later, so they held my bag and said I could continue to use the second floor room where they have newspapers, bathrooms and food. After my meetings, it allowed me to get some water and fresh fruit before I headed-off to the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing