We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mom and Daughter Trip...Glad to have stayed here.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #390 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mom and Daughter Trip...Glad to have stayed here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My mom had booked this hotel before we had talked about our options...and I was concerned when I saw the pictures and reviews, considering I am somewhat picky. However, I was very impressed with this hotel. It is definitely no-frills and small, but clean and comfortable. Any issues we had were addressed immediately.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is free, and the bagels and coffee were good. Also fresh fruit was available to grab and go for the day.
As long as you don't mind walking, the location is great...we walked from the hotel to our Broadway shows, Times Square, the Subway, etc. Everything you need is within a few blocks. And you are so close to the Harbour Tours! There's a Duane Reade a couple of blocks away which is great for drinks and snacks for your room. Also there is an Italian Restaurant (Il Punto) within a couple blocks that if you mention you are staying at this hotel, you get a 10% discount (...get the Pera salad mmmmm!)
We were 2 women travelling alone, and we felt safe walking around the area, even when we came back at midnight.
I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel - I thought it was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    258
    210
    84
    71
See reviews for
169
189
54
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just a 1 Night stay. Comfortable nights rest. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Not a lot of Room for hanging out just enough space to put down your bags and go see the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

If you have a conference at the Javits Center then this is the hotel for you. This hotel is a great middle of the road place to stay. The staff is very courteous, the rooms are clean and decent size by NYC standards and the free breakfast is a great buffet with a wide variety of choices.

On the down side, you will have to walk about 13 minutes to get to a subway (8th Ave and 33rd St is probably the closest) and restaurants can be a bit of a hike. The neighborhood is not houses and shops, it's garages, bus parking areas, etc..but it's not dangerous and if you're there for a conference at the Javits, you can't beat it.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woody2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our group of 7 ladies spent 7 nights in Sept 2011, we booked 2 rooms - a double room for 4 ladies and a Single Queen room + a cot for 3 ladies. Rooms were clean but very small and they have very comfortable pillow top matresses. We were very happy with what we got for the price we paid for our stay.
The staff were GREAT!!! Mike was awesome with his advice on sights and restaurants and helping us book shuttles etc..
The breakfast was decent. Eggs, bread and jams, cereal, bagels, donuts, juice. Would have been nice to have a waffle maker like some of the other Best Westerns I have stayed at.
The neighbourhood is not the most pleasant but its very safe. 1.5 blocks to a Drugstore, 2 blocks to a pizza place and 4-5 blocks from a ton of restaurants in Hell's Kitchen, 6-7 blocks from Times Square and the Port Authority.
All in all, a great place for our group to stay as we were only looking for a place to lay our heads for a few hours every night. We would book there again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heebs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was a great hotel...the staff were fantastic, our room was small but very clean and it was only a 10 minute walk to Time Square. For the price we paid it was well worth it! We didn't see any homeless people walking to and from the hotel...at first seemed a bit sketchy but we never felt unsafe. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonLCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The only good thing about this place is the value you get for your money. It's very inexpensive for New York, and you can see why when you first step in.

I took a cab from the airport to get here, and I was grateful that I did not have to walk very far to get indoors. There's a gentleman's club a couple of buildings away, and lots of unsavory characters around the area, especially at night. The front desk takes a copy of your driver's license AND your credit card when you check in. The lobby is filthy. The elevator creaks a LOT and seems like it would break down during the ride.

The room was very, very small, and smelled very weird. The size of the room didn't bother me much, I didn't expect a big room in New York. But the smell got to me. The room overall wasn't filthy dirty, but not clean either. The bed was clean enough to sleep in, but it was one of those experiences where I couldn't wait to shower when I got up out of it. The desk surface was slightly greasy, like it had not been cleaned in awhile.

The front desk will not call a cab for you, you have to walk outside to call it yourself. Not a big deal, but just another thing on the list. Breakfast was included (again, the value for your dollar is great), but it wasn't exactly a healthy breakfast. I wasn't sure what I was eating half the time.

I would never stay here again, not because it was that awful, but because there are other, better hotels for approximately the same price in New York.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonTraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ellicott City
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The room I had was so small that I had to step over my suitcase to get to the bathroom which was small as well. This is one of the smallest rooms I have ever staid in. I have add more room on a cruise ship than in this hotel.
The breakfast is free in the morning but they don't open until 7AM which was to late for me since I had to get to a meeting elsewhere. This is the only hotel I know of that doesn't serve breakfast at 6 or 7 AM
You have to walk at least for blocks to eat at night since they have no dining on site.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#350 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#340 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#428 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#288 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#292 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing