We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice 4-Star -- But not quite a St. Regis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York
Ranked #413 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very Nice 4-Star -- But not quite a St. Regis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2005

I can't complain, and I'm not. I booked a room at the Essex house for $339 per night during the week of July 11 (good deal for that time frame) and was "bumped" to the "St. Regis Club." The St. Regis Club is basically the upper floors of the Essex House. It tries to be a separate hotel in the same way as the Tower at the Waldorf tries to be different from the Waldorf Astoria. Both are grand old hotels, but the emphasis on both is on "old."

Location: Central Park South -- really can't beat it. It's close by the Theatre District, Lincoln Center, the mid-town financial district and the near-upper East and West Sides. An oasis, especially if your room has a park view.

Room: Good size for the City. Large entry foyer made the room seem like a junior suite. Excellent Starwood "Heavenly bed." Decor and bathroom were, overall, a bit on the dated side, but quite nice. Plush bathrobes and outstanding bathroom amenities. Somewhat obstructed, but refreshing, view of Central Park.

Service: Check-in and check-out were very smooth. Lots of security by the elevator who were very good at remembering that you belonged, even if you came by sweaty and in gym clothes after they had seen you in your suit. Service at the bar was a bit spotty -- but remember you are dealing with a unionized New York work force.

Two gripes -- (1) The gym. They would like to have you believe that they have a full "spa" with complete work-out room (for which they charge you $10 per visit). This is one of the lamer exercise facilities I have come across in the last few years at a 4-star hotel, and certainly the worst one that charges you extra for the privilege of using it. It has some cardio, a few weight machines, some decent dumbells (but only one measily bench). Most newer 3-star business hotels have equipment that blows the Essex House away and they do not charge. (2) Internet access -- Really, charging for the internet at a fancy hotel is bush league these days. It's not just every budget hotel that offers free wifi hi-speed access, but in my experience, every hip up-scale hotel does so as well.

The main reason that I do not give this hotel 5 "gold dots" is that it pretends to be a St. Regis. Senator, I have stayed at the St. Regis, and you, sir, are no St. Regis. The St. Regis is a 5-star hotel in every nit-picking, over-the-top luxurious way. This hotel, while a solid 4-star, is not even close. With all due respect to Starwood (my favorite hotel chain), they are diluting their highest-end brand by labelling this as a "St. Regis."

One final note -- The Essex House is the perennial favorite of Saturday Night Live guests and alumni, so don't be surprised to encounter SNL glitterati on the elevators or in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jackosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
1
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2005

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis Club for the first time for six nights in May. We were quite impressed with the entire experience. Check-in was highly efficient, and we were pleasantly surprised when we entered a room that exceeded our expectations. We had reserved a large double room that turned out to be larger than advertised--really an unparitioned suite. Excellent city view, clean, quiet, very well furnished, very comfortable bed, everything worked, no signs of neglected wear, average-size but very nice marble bathroom. A family member joined us for a couple of nights, and the large and sturdy roll-away had a surprisingly thick mattress that was very comfortable. The public spaces were all pleasing. We especially enjoyed the cozy bar with fireplace. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The location, of course, is superb. This is certainly the place we will stay when we return to New York.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
253 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2005

So the upside is that the rooms are lovely, the location is great, the Alain Ducasse restaurant is stunning (even if it's bizarre not to be able to charge dinner at the hotel restaurant to one's room bill).

The downsides? Easily the worst service standards of any 5* hotel I've ever stayed in. Things not working, slow responses, laundry not returned, rude staff, incompetent billing. Just not acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2005

My wife and I just returned from our stay at The St Regis Club at the Essex House. It is an old world comfort station. A spacious room, in the very best location. I lived at the Essex House for four months in 2000 and it bacame my second home. Always happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2005

Once I find a nice place to stay, I'll keep returning, as long as I feel it exceeds my expectations. That is how I feel about my recent stay at The Essex in New York City. I had read a few prior TripAdvisor reviews, and wondered if I had come to a different place. The lobby was beautiful, all staff from reception to housekeeping to the gentleman standing guard to protect you at the elevators, showed their very professional training. I was always greeted by very friendly staff with a smile. My enormous and clean room on the 10th floor overlooked beautiful Central Park The beds are Westin's Heavenly Beds and are as wonderful as their name implies. I brought my pekingese with me, and she was treated as royally as I was with her own Heavenly Pet Bed.

I have always previously stayed at The Lowell on East 63rd, but it has become a little too pricey. The Essex is in an excellent location, and if you're like me, you can walk for a few minutes and enjoy the great feel of New York City to and from this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NASCARFLASH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2005

My husband and I went for Christmas and couldn't have been happier. I thought the suite was big for NY standards and the $379 we were paying during the Christmas season. Service was excellent. Everything about this hotel is old school. So if you want a bit of old NY upper east this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAdreamweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2005

We stayed at the St Regis Club of the Essex House over Christmas and must say that the service was great. We had a wonderful room overlooking the park - the butler service was a nice touch! We found all the staff to be very attentive. Breakfast is expensive but there are some great cafes around the area that offer a good breakfast. They also charge for the use of the internet in the rooms at $15 for a 24 hour period which seemed expensive - especially as a lot of hotels are offering free wireless connections!

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#240 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#198 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Midtown
Park Savoy
Park Savoy
#428 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#276 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,231 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York

Property: The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York
Address: 170 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. Regis Club at the Essex House, New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe midtown hotel that evokes the glamour and sizzle of the 1930s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Club At The Essex House, New York Hotel New York City
The St Regis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing