We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”
Review of Once - A New Musical - CLOSED

Once - A New Musical
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once is the celebrated new musical based on the Academy Award-winning film. It tells the story of an Irish musician and a Czech immigrant drawn together by their shared love of music. Over the course of one fateful week, their unexpected friendship and collaboration evolves into a powerful but complicated romance, heightened by the raw emotion of the songs they create together. Brought to the stage by an award-winning team of visionary artists and featuring an ensemble cast of gifted actor/musicians, once is a musical celebration of life and love: thrilling in its originality, daring in its honesty... and unforgettable in every way.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was a great experience. The songs were great, and the actors, especially the girl, were excellent. Ben Hope was the understudy, who was great. There was music before the show, full of energy.
The best part was the performance of when your minds made up. I got that utopian feeling of experience that you get when you watch the end of a movie like godfather of pulp fiction (yes, this is not my general taste of story, but it was pure and elegant.)
Best show since mother with the hat, and best musical I ever saw... Even though this is the only musical I've ever been to on broadway.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enzo1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    203
    83
    35
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Festus, MO
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go see this!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very charming, simple, beautiful musical.
Same story as the movie, with some comedy to brighten it up some.
We sat in 2nd to last row mezzanine, great seats!

Helpful?
Thank travelpimpfestus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Songs. Talented Musicians!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A tender play filled with wonderful touching songs. The leads sure can sing!

Helpful?
Thank PAHQueens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For Once - a Tony nomination in its future”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A poignant love story who uses understated lyrics and simple staging to advance the endearing story. No sex on the stage or erotic banter here. The leads, played by Steve Kazee and Cristin Milioti have an amazing chemistry and sing beautifully together. The supporting cast are all musicians who bring new, not-in-the movie characters to life each with their own eccentricities.

If you liked the movie, you will not be disappointed. It is not your usual, big-number Broadway musical, thank goodness. Rather, it is a beautifully written, orchestrated and acted show. It had me in tears at the end.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you like the movie, you'll like the musical”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Once is a good musical adaptation of the movie. All the songs you know are present and a few new ones. The lead male is amazing, his voice is perfect. I enjoyed the female lead, who was the understudy for my performance but the women behind me, as they fairly loudly complained, did not.
I think the musical carries the poignance and longing of the movie over pretty well. It's family friendly, if you think the kids will understand the grown up concepts.
two unique concepts that i loved: the dozen or so fiddlers/cellists/actors on stage and playing irish music pre-show. they stay on stage thruout the show and have varying degrees of involvement. they also play and whirl around between set changes or as they change the set. no blackouts here!
and, the bar that is the set is a functional bar during intermission. no need to fight the lobby crowds, just hop up on stage to buy your drinks!
i enjoyed once. it's not got the energy of newsies or the pathos of ghost but it's quietly exuberant. it's a pleasant show that will be enjoyed by fans of the movie.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mowgliworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Once - A New Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing