We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Completely outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Once - A New Musical - CLOSED

Once - A New Musical
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once is the celebrated new musical based on the Academy Award-winning film. It tells the story of an Irish musician and a Czech immigrant drawn together by their shared love of music. Over the course of one fateful week, their unexpected friendship and collaboration evolves into a powerful but complicated romance, heightened by the raw emotion of the songs they create together. Brought to the stage by an award-winning team of visionary artists and featuring an ensemble cast of gifted actor/musicians, once is a musical celebration of life and love: thrilling in its originality, daring in its honesty... and unforgettable in every way.
Washington, DC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Completely outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Although the leading role was occupied by an understudy, I completely enjoyed the musical of the great movie Once. The ensemble was cool and hilarious, led by the bald guitar player and the Bank Manager. The best acting by far came from Cristin Milioti, who had an unbelievable singing voice, a great accent, and looks that could stop a Lamborghini at full speed. And in case I need to mention, the songs of the movie Once were performed well as expected.

Basically, Once was dayum good!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoldPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    204
    83
    35
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was a great experience. The songs were great, and the actors, especially the girl, were excellent. Ben Hope was the understudy, who was great. There was music before the show, full of energy.
The best part was the performance of when your minds made up. I got that utopian feeling of experience that you get when you watch the end of a movie like godfather of pulp fiction (yes, this is not my general taste of story, but it was pure and elegant.)
Best show since mother with the hat, and best musical I ever saw... Even though this is the only musical I've ever been to on broadway.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Enzo1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, MO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go see this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very charming, simple, beautiful musical.
Same story as the movie, with some comedy to brighten it up some.
We sat in 2nd to last row mezzanine, great seats!

Helpful?
Thank travelpimpfestus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Songs. Talented Musicians!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A tender play filled with wonderful touching songs. The leads sure can sing!

Helpful?
Thank PAHQueens_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For Once - a Tony nomination in its future”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A poignant love story who uses understated lyrics and simple staging to advance the endearing story. No sex on the stage or erotic banter here. The leads, played by Steve Kazee and Cristin Milioti have an amazing chemistry and sing beautifully together. The supporting cast are all musicians who bring new, not-in-the movie characters to life each with their own eccentricities.

If you liked the movie, you will not be disappointed. It is not your usual, big-number Broadway musical, thank goodness. Rather, it is a beautifully written, orchestrated and acted show. It had me in tears at the end.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Once - A New Musical also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing