We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why don't Americans do hostels??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chelsea International Hostel
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why don't Americans do hostels??”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Hostels seem to be few and far between in the states. Having travelled all of oz in hostels, this was a bit of a culture shock. Upon first glance it looks very dark and gruesome. However, once you get out in to the big apple you soon forgot those 4 walls!

A bit of a harsh start... The hostel is clean, secure and well located. It's in a gay friendly area which is a bit full on but the area has a good vibe. My negative start is more aimed at the hostel culture in America in general. Chelsea has many cafe's, delis and supermarkets to keep you going. A top little place.

Overall 6/10. But, would I go again? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripMember07012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    231
    175
    77
    68
See reviews for
14
82
255
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fifth time here – four times in a private single room, and once – the first time, as a student – sharing a dorm.

I was there the last time last week. It’s very clean, very safe (there’s a cop shop opposite) and absurdly good value for money. No frills but I don’t go to New York to linger in my room. $80 for your own single room in Manhattan with your own bathroom is great value anyway, but especially for Chelsea, which is close enough to walk to and from the East and West Village, SoHo, as well as the more touristy areas a bit further up in midtown. Chelsea is a fantastic area, so vibrant and with so much to do. Subway stations are very close by, on 23rd and 12th streets. They do breakfasts included in the rate – one bagel and either an apple or orange, together with as much cereal and coffee as you want. True, there’s much better breakfasts nearby (I recommend the Paradise Café on Eighth Avenue between 16th and 17th streets, a five minute walk away) but all the food the hostel provides for breakfast can easily set you up for the morning.

Perhaps some people reading this would think that that all the guests are travellers or students but no, there was a diverse mix of people there the last two times I've been, a sign of the times maybe.

Only downside was the noise last week. I was in the front facing the street and I heard people coming and going in the early hours. But hey, it’s a hostel so what do you expect? I didn’t feel tired on any of the days as the energy from New York kept me wired. And for $80 a night? It’s a total bargain for Manhattan and certainly worth a five star rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank globalcitizen_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great location in Manhattan accessible to multiple subway lines. Can't beat the winter rates.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank competitvetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unhelpful staff; small, cramped rooms; shady looking bathrooms and bloodstains on the toilet door.
Still want to stay there? I'll also mention its complete lack of atmosphere and steep narrow stairs where the railings are held together by duct tape.
Only positive is I didn't get bed bugs.
We were supposed to stay there for 4 nights in a private room but cancelled the rest after the first night's stay.
Seriously, fork out the extra $5 to stay at a decent hostel in New York, don't get trapped here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigbyDickingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights just recently. Here are som pros and cons:

Pros:

- GREAT location
- Close to a Subway (23rd street and 18th Street)
- Very Safe area
- Rooms are very clean
- Toilets and showers are very clean.
- I had a private room with shared bathroom but there was a sink in my room which was VERY handy
- Always plenty of hot water in the shower.
- Quiet hostel. Didn't really hear people coming in and out at all. (Besides the street noise)
- Decent size single private rooms. If you're on your own, it's ideal. Plenty of space to folder your clothes, a few hanging hooks and there is more than enough room to put your luggage. It's not huge but not too small either.


Cons:
- Staff aren't that friendly
- The fact that you have to carry your luggage up the most ridiculously steep stairs I've ever seen. Seriously, it's actually a hazard. It's very unsafe, way too narrow and steep.
- The room I had (Private room) was facing the street so I found it quite noisy in the mornings.
- Single bed (Private room) wasn't that comfortable. Did the job I suppose.
- Wifi only in the common area.
- Breakfast isn't worth the free "ticket" they give you for it.


Overall, the Pros definitely out-weight the cons. At the end of the day it's a HOSTEL. You're only there to sleep. And I think the most important thing is how clean the place is, and it was very clean. The location and cleanliness was the bigger winner here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaun85259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This place is ideal, because you don`t go to NY to stay in your room, you go to party and shop and socialise. This is your basics, bed and sink, with shared showers and toilets on each floor, all kept very clean and the showers are great. Its cheap as chips and smack bang in the middle of manhatten.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

From the reviews on this site we were worried about this booking. However, we were happy with our 7 night stay. Yes the room was very small, only room for 2 single beds end to end, a locker, some shelves and a sink & mirror. There was a shower and toilet on the same floor though. Everything was clean and as 2 girls we felt safe. Location is great, 10 mins walk to the Flatiron Building, maybe 6 or 7 minutes to a subway station. Breakfast isn't flash but it gets the job done: a bagel with butter or jam (Aussies take some vegemite!) a piece of fruit and as much juice, cereal and coffee as you want. Internet is available on their computers $2 for 20 minutes. No WiFi in the rooms though. Overall we were happy, nothing to complain about.

There is no elevator, but this is only a problem when you get there and when you leave. Not much street noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,195 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#22 of 162 in New York City
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#15 of 162 in New York City
145 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#13 of 162 in New York City
1,167 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#20 of 162 in New York City
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing