We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great view, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #51 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

this is one of the best hotels in NYC. great experience. prices accordingly...

Room Tip: pick one with sea view...... it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giorgioeguiomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

How can a "5" star hotel not have a bar that actually opens 7 days a week when you pay around 1500 US dollars a night you would expect a bar in the hotel that opens 7 days a week. It actually closes on Sunday and Monday you then have to wait in line for a table in the lounge / foyer with any other people that we just walk in off the street and who are not guests. Even worse you you go and stay over new year 2011 and then find on new years the bar closed, so you then get told there is a 1 hour wait to sit in the lounge amazing. Considering I stay at the Oriental Bangkok and also Hong Kong I just wonder if the New York Oriental is actually part of the group.

Philip Webb

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Webbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I have stayed in many of the best hotels in NYC, but the Mandarin is by far the best. You literally walk across the street to the opera, symphony, or Central Park. There is a subway stop right in front. The spa is gorgeous, the beds are perfect and the food is wonderful. I love the lobby. This hotel beats the Four Seasons NYC in my opinion because it is warmer and more fun. If you want to do cultural activities it is in a better location. If your main goal is to shop, then I suggest a hotel in midtown such as the Four Seasons. I agree that the rooms are small but ll NYC hotel rooms are small.

Room Tip: Ask for a central park view. The sunrise was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I love the Mandarin Oriental chain. Love this property in NYC as it is prime Columbus Circle/ Central Park location. Gorgeous check-in, amazing sky lobby bar views, superb staff and service with many celebrity sitings. GREAT SPA. The only downside to this hotel is the room quality. Rooms are small and fairly old for the price you pay. However, for the location, this cannot be beat. A perfect evening here would consist of a dinner at Masa with your significant other at the connected Time Warner Center then swiftly walking over to the elevators of the Mandarin.

Would definitely stay here/visit here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbajaj621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is the place my husband and I go when we want an absolutely amazing night away from the kids. And it truly is an "almost" perfect experience. When we checked in (we booked the room through American Express Platinum concierge) the front desk clerk was truly, truly delighted to upgrade us to a one bedroom suite without our even asking for it! That's the wonderful thing about this hotel--they seem genuinely thrilled to serve you. The food in the lobby bar was pretty good, the drinks are absolutely GREAT. We loved our one bedroom suite--probably a $3,000 per night value that they gave us (for a $995 charge). The two things I would point out that would prevent this from being flawless: the housekeeping somehow assumed I was a solo traveler and only did turn down service for one person (i.e., one pair of slippers, one bottle of water). I think at a hotel like this, they should know how many people are in the room. And, there was a strange ticking noise in the heating unit that night (it seemed to fade away as time passed). But truly, WHO CARES, when we were upgraded to such a wonderful room? Also, the spa is quite expensive ($360 for a massage) and when I checked in, the staff were whispering and arguing over something on the computer and took a long time to acknowledge my presence. Not exactly the experience you want when you are dropping this kind of money. We liked brunch at the Asiate restaurant. It's a good value (though the service is a little bit harried). Overall, this is a wonderful place, one we will return to time and again. We consider it "our place" and we can't wait to return. I don't think any hotel can nail the concept of utterly perfect, in every way, but this comes close.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenEndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The service was great!! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Room Service was exquisite they made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. It really feels like your home. The rooms have a spectacular view of central park and the lobby has an extradionary view of columbus circle and central park. The lobby offers lovely snacks that was just the cherry on top complementing the view you could sit for hours and not get bored. The food in the restaurant was perfect too, quite delicious. As for the location it was amazinlg logistic with a 5 min walk to 5 th avenue, the best shopping areas, and a min walk to the like the best restaurants per se and marea, and right next to the hotel is a mall that has several nice shops. So overall it was perfect in so many ways !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Top notch service and amenities in a perfect new York city location. I have stayed here for work on many occasions and this stay had the opportunity to enjoy the spa. One if the best massages I have ever received and a beautiful relaxation space overlooking central park. Truly an urban oasis!

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 00 are corner suites with multiple views of the park
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
Thank TheLastBite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,301 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#53 of 469 in New York City
1,108 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
186 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#46 of 469 in New York City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#46 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $1,019 - $3,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing