We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mandarin vs The Setai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #57 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mandarin vs The Setai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Mandarin is a beautiful hotel. Having lunch overlooking Central Park is amazing. The room was small but comfortable. The spa is just okay. The services are lovely, but the spa amenities are lacking. When comparing luxury I prefer The Setai the room are much bigger with espresso machines and internet included. The turn down service brought gourmet pretzels and candies. I love their spa with water lounge. Its the little things that matter. The Mandarin did not even put a chocolate on the pillow and charge for internet. I hate feeling nickel and dime-ed on my vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Hello jointfixer! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    266
    101
    48
    24
See reviews for
219
501
85
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Mandarin Oriental in New York and I think I love it even more each time. The views are stunning (we stayed in a Premier Central Park View room) from both the rooms and the public areas.

Service at the hotel is always perfect - friendly, professional and considerate.

We dined at Asiate - for both breakfast and dinner. Dinner was fabulous but I think the breakfasts there are even better. We also ordered room service when we first arrived and even that was delicious and high quality too.

The spa is fairly expensive but a wonderful experience. The gym and pool are both great too.

Location wise - for me it doesn't get any better. It's right at the corner of Central Park so perfect for running and within a nice walking distance of 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Hello Jules_London1! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

In my opinion, while staying in hotels in New York City, you get two views, city or river. Everywhere you go, everything you see are just rivers, buildings and more buildings. It gets a bit crazy that even if you were to get up to Empire State Building, are still rivers, buildings and more buildings, though from a different perspective.

Now back to Mandarin Oriental, New York, let's just say if you can afford S$1,000.00 plus a night then go for this hotel as it is luxury and high-end for New York City standard. First the rooms, I was fortunate to be staying in the Deluxe Hudson River View room which as it states, overlooks Hudson River. Being first time in New York City, I believed the rooms at Mandarin Oriental, New York are among the largest in similar category hotels. Big beds, spacious bathroom and great evening views from the Deluxe Hudson River View Room. There are also novels for your reading pleasure in which one may bring home at the end of the stay. Considering the price tag of paying for the room, why not! However, I would not recommend one to book the standard rooms as the view is partially blocked from Columbus Circus and is not very nice. Since you already decided to stay here, why not splurge more.

Another thing I love about this hotel is the swimming pool and gym located on the 35th Floor with decent size. Did not try the restaurant but the view is great and Asiate is voted is rated by Zaget as having the restaurant with the best view.

Location: Fantastic. On Columbus Circus in Time Warner Centre with shops and restaurants nearby and of course great spot to start walking Central Park from the south.

Overall, go for it if you are willing to splurge! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JevJev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Definitely one of the best hotels I ever been! They gave us a great room, with the most amazing view of New York and the central Park! The service was great, the breakfast unbelivable! Made our New York experience fabulous, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The mandarin oriental was a beautiful place to stay on a first trip to New York City. Absolutely luxurious! Right in the midst of Columbus circle. Only steps away from Central Park, and Columbus Circle shopping. I would recommend visiting the pool-great views!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lychesatsuma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

This place is amazing. The rooms are clean, the views of the park are spectacular and the service is splendid. You really can't ask for more. Stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lycheesatsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

View to the central park is so beautiful.. the morning sun lights up my egg benedict on that breakfast trolley table...truffle on top was so delicious...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris_Wu_SY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#22 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#27 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#86 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Property: Mandarin Oriental, New York
Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing