We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indian restaurant ”
Review of Saravanaa Bhavan

Saravanaa Bhavan
Ranked #2,746 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Rose Hill
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We went there for lunch.
I ordered the eggplant dish, which was excellent. My wife had a misunderstanding with her order, so was it her or the server’s mistake? The Chana masala was excellent, but the oily bread was 95% of the dish. The waiter proposed to bring more chick peas but has forgotten.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jeviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

The place is good for Dosa only ( South Indian Pancake). Stay with Dosa and you are fine. You deviate to South Indian Vegetarian Thali and will regret it. The Thali comes with rice 6 or 7 types of veggies, Yogurt and Raita and some dessert, one unleavened bread and a Papadum for $20. Cheap yes but dog food. The veggies almost taste the same or don’t taste at all. The look of the entire Thali is sickening. Perhaps the veggies were prepared 6 months ago, frozen and then served. It is bad and bad all the way. I will stay with Dosa only and stay away from other things on the menu. Most Indian restaurants are managed by unprofessional staff. They do not go to catering school to learn the etiquette of the restaurant business. The result is obvious, bad service, terrible food. Saravanaa Bhavan is no exception.
Enjoy the Dosa.
Suresh Chawla
Toronto, Canada.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank suresh_chawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Went for breakfast. Standard South Indian options. Offers several combos as well as individual dishes. Good taste. Good service and value for money

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank shishir_ag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

South Indian vegetarian food, but too expensive. I live in Norway, supposed to the expensive country, but visit to this Place to have a Nice Food, but its too expensive

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Premaraja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

I am a south Indian foodie. I just loved this place. The quality and taste of the food was as same as what we get in Chennai.

This place is pretty much walk-able from the Central park and nearby attractions.

Cons
- Food was a little pricey ....
- The place is too cramped...

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ramachandran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saravanaa Bhavan also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Saravanaa Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing