We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully presented quality food but not an experience”
Review of Atera

Atera
Reserve with OpenTable
Atera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Civic Center
Reviewed October 13, 2018

It has almost everything you could ask for; had been before and had described it previously as the ultimate Chefs Table. A wonderful atmosphere with perhaps 15 seats all surrounding the kitchen and chefs, beautifully prepared food of the highest quality but ultimately fails because of the lack of an experience that will be etched in your brain.
Zagat describes it as "creativity at its best" which I would agree with but it then says "a fun loving staff" which was missing in action on my night.
Not sure whether Chef Ronny didn't appreciate his food being recorded and dissected by a counter full of serious photographic equipment but he certainly didn't crack a smile all night - so yes, wonderful food but fun, a definite no.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2018

This was my fourth time eating at Atera and I always enjoy coming back. The tasting menus are great and it’s worth coming for the whole experience. Most people enjoy the bar seating while there is one more private table for a larger party. The squid pasta with snap pea and miso was my favorite this time. One of my go to restaurants in NYC.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Pest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

You don‘t go to Atera just for dinner. No, you‘ll undergo what they call a tasting menu experience. 18 course menu which lasts about 2 1/2 hours. Small portions of the most extravagant dishes spanning from sea food over vegetables to meat and desserts. With a seasonal background. Comes with a wine pairing or a temperance pairing i.e. extraordinary juices made from herbs, vegetables and fruits.
The interior of the dining room is quite simple. Just a large dining room for 18 people. A very large counter table and a corner table for four guests. You can see some chefs at work. You sit on a kind of bar stools.
Well, the dishes are truly good, extraordinary and very creative. Very special taste experience. Those who don’t like shellfish should inform the waiters in advance.
The wine pairing was good as well. But not as spectacular as the food.
Well, this all comes at a steep price. Be prepared to fork over around $500 per person.
Very good experience. You wouldn’t want to do this on a weekly basis however.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank claussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We highly recommend the tasting menu at Atera after spending a wonderful time at this gem of restaurant yesterday. The food was amazing and creative, and the service was personal and relaxed, yet utterly professional and knowledgeable. The favorite dish of the evening - the caviar with beer cream (!) - is certainly one we will remember for a long time, but all other dishes were absolutely exquisite. The attention to detail was perfect and the love for the ingredients and their presentation was obvious throughout the dinner.

We really enjoyed the bar counter seating around the kitchen and to get to see the chefs in action, the small and intimate atmosphere. The restaurant has a great wine list as well as several wine pairing alternatives.

The only slightly negative aspect was the price level. Naturally it costs to provide this kind of excellent ingredients and high level of creativity and quality, both food-wise and staff-wise, but compared to other restaurants of similar league it was still a bit more expensive. But still definitely worth it, so it’s not to be discouraged by. All in all it was a wonderful experience that we highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bjorkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Atera is more than deserving of its' two star Michelin rating. The food and service was impeccable in a surprisingly relaxed atmosphere (Beatles and Led Zeppelin in the background works for me). No pretension here just great food and wine served with care and attention. Be part of it and ask the Chefs (they are cooking right in front of you) about the courses; each one including Chef Emborg was happy to talk about their creations. The reserve wine pairing was exceptional and my wifes' Temperance pairing was a show stopper! Life is short, treat yourself to amazing evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atera also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Atera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing