We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,751)
Filter reviews
1,751 results
Traveller rating
819
514
232
108
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
819
514
232
108
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar kingside restaurant central park park suite carnegie hall new york espresso machine concierge team closet space junior suite columbus circle rooms are small perfect location times square standard room fifth avenue two blocks
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,751 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Front desk staff were polite and welcoming. However, being told that although the room was ready, to check in early would be an extra $75 was disappointing given that the room rate was already over $500/night.

Room was extremely small and dark with very little storage space. In those respects it was worse than any other midtown hotel I’ve stayed at.

Bathroom was nice and shower was excellent.

Hallways were tired-looking.

Housekeeping and cleanliness was good, and location is convenient.

Overall, the staff seem to be trying hard but ultimately the hotel is overpriced for what it is.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with other travelers. We are glad our location was convenient for you, and that our staff took good care of you during your stay. However, we are sorry you were disappointed as our accommodations did not provide the value you were hoping for. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Jeff Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

I stayed Viceroy in NYC about a week for business trip. It was very nice. Front desk staffs are very friendly. Doorman is always welcome to help.
The room is small but clean. Bath room is very modern look and liked it.
Very convenience area and we walked to broadway and Times Square.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 808rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thank you for being our guest while here for your business. We are so delighted you loved your beautiful room and that our friendly service made your visit a memorable one. We can't wait to welcome you back to Viceroy Central Park New York.

Jeff Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

The standard rooms are small! And not well lit, especially in the bathroom. Hallway noise was loud.
First impression walking into the hotel was positive though; comfy lobby and friendly front desk staff. But then you walk into a room with a narrow hallway that would be impeded if you have big suitcases because that’s the only place to lay them down. Even though the walk in shower is spacious, there’s only a few feet between the end of bed and the wall holding the tv. If you need a room where you can sit down and do some work or lounge around, I’d suggest a suite of some kind.
Rooftop cocktail bar is a nice treat and you can skip to Central Park in a minute, so the location is convenient.
I would maybe come back if I was traveling alone but certainly not with family or even as a couple.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank El-orence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear El-orence,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting our city. We are happy our location was perfect and our hospitality outstanding, but we are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your guest room. We do have several different floor plans for our rooms and suites, so please let us know let us know your preference before your next visit and we will do our best to find accommodations that meet your needs. We look forward to serving you when you come back this way.

Jeff Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

Not a luxury hotel, would not recommend for a discerning traveler. Out of date technology in rooms, dark lighting, out fixtures, dates furniture. Not a comfortabe experience. It’s more of a 3.5 start hotel moonlighting as a 5 star.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridgette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear Bridgette H,

Thanks so much for your recent stay with us and for the candid review. We want every guest who stays with us to have a comfortable experience and to depart with a lasting favorable impression. Although your experience is not typical of our service delivery, we obviously have room to improve, and we assure you we will. We look forward to having you visit again so we can provide you with a better experience!

Jeff Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

The Viceroy is located on 57th in between 6th and 5th av. GREAT location. The view of the Park was great. The room was nice. A little on the small side, with limited closet space and nowhere to store empty luggage, but otherwise fine. only negative was that i paid an extra $35 for something called "Tablet Plus" which was supposed to get me a room upgrade, bottled water, turn down service and late check out. The only amenity i received was the late check out. I even brought to this to the attention of the front desk and still no bottled water and turn down. Still, the people were very nice and the location was probably enough for me to stay here again, but I won't pay for the upgrade since nobody seems to know about it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank philrich911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Viceroy Central Park New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for your nice review of Viceroy Central Park New York. We are delighted to know you loved our terrific location and that you also enjoyed amazing views while you were here. However, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations. We assure you this was an isolated incident and hope to see you again in the near future.

Jeff Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews