We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good, but I guess it used to be?”
Review of Gennaro

Gennaro
Ranked #1,912 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

Went with a local friend who recalls the restaurant being a delicious neighborhood joint. She was sorely disappointed in our dinner and apologized to us for the place not being what she recalled. She and another friend had the duck. They both described it as “awful” and “cheap Chinese restaurant quality”. Neither of them finished it. I had a pappardelle wild mushroom ragout. Nothing special. The pasta fragoli-pasta fazool didn’t resemble the dish with which I am familiar. The base was dark brown, there were stringy noodles in the soup, and it was a puréed bean base. Not a hint of tomato or onion that I could see. Sorry this did not work out. Was looking forward to this meal the most. Meal for 3 was $200 - two lamb dishes, two soups, one pasta and one salad, 3 glasses of
Wine and bottled water. Probably would have been better off at Sarafina. I’d skip it.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SigourneyReefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

I really wanted to love this restaurant - my elderly father recommended it and I think he recalls it as being one he used to love. It was really no better than average. We had a fig/prosciutto appetizer which was absolutely delicious and we were so ready for wonderful pastas to follow. Our ravioli was nice, very small portion, nothing special. And the linguine with eggplant was utterly flavorless, medium sized portion. We would have still been hungry, but we noticed that the couple who had sat down near us recently were enjoying a nice basket of bread and olive oil that had been brought to them. We asked if we could have that too and the waitress seemed perturbed that we where now finished, but asking for our bread. She brought the bread, and we had to drag her back again to get some olive oil. Cash only is still the policy - other trip advisor reviews stating otherwise are in error, or perhaps they did take cards but stopped and are back to cash only.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ellen06804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Once a month you’ll find us in this go-to restaurant. Every meal eaten in this UWS neighborhood restaurant has been delicious. Reasonable portions at fair prices. They don’t accept reservations or credit cards. Arrive by 6 pm to avoid a wait and bring cash.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We rented a condo nearby and we were there based on a recommendation. We were not disapointed. Very local restaurant and food was very good, very «homemade» style.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Majolo450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We used to live in the neighborhood of Gennaro and ate dinner there almost every Sunday night for a year or so. We have had many birthday dinners there and always return when we are back in NYC. We have never had any dish we did not like. Our favorite is the gnocchi but we like many other dishes! In the fall, the pumpkin ravioli is fantastic, all of the appetizers are wonderful and you should have at least one of the specials as they will be based on the best seasonal ingredients. I never really liked kale until Gennaro sent us the kale salad to try. A friend who spent time in Italy says the bolognese is just like the cook made for her group. They don't take reservations, so there can be a wait at busy times. You can avoid that by going at 6:30 or 7 or waiting until 9 to eat. Bring cash--they don't take credit cards. They only serve dinner.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Piper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gennaro also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gennaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing