We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Choice”
Review of Peasant

Peasant
Reserve with OpenTable
Peasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #803 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Cross street: Spring and Prince
Transit: 6 Train to Spring B,D,F,M to Broadway/LaFayette N,R to Prince
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We intended to go to Tree Bistro, but it was closed due to a recent (October) fire, so we ended up at Peasant. With no reservation, we were able to sit at the bar and had a very nice chat with our friendly bartender. He made us feel welcome despite the fact that we were the oldest people in the restaurant. The food was very good, albeit a little pricey for what is considered a "moderate" restaurant, but that's NY. Loved the olives at the bar!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018

I very much enjoyed the food and the general decor (rustic, lively, open kitchen), but the downside of those decor choices is that it is quite loud and surprisingly smoky. We didn't notice that last part while we were there, but afterwards all our clothes smelled like they had been on that revolving rotisserie in the back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 12am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We had recommendations - they were all very justified !!

Chef Frank De carlo makes the best risotto in Manhattan - maybe in all New-York !!
Service is very attentive !
We shall be back !!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Peasant serves really very nice Italian food, we were crazy about the asparagus ! The staff is very friendly and the design very nice. Unfortunately some minor issues we faced:
- the T-bone was burned on one side. A 64 USD T-bone should be well cooked
- the place is very noisy

But we would definitely come back for the asparagus

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MvdK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We came here for a birthday dinner party. Everything was absolutely authentic and delicious! We loved the fish and steak. The fish had very unique texture and it was so tasty and rich in flavor. The seafood risotto was also extremely flavorful! Of course the steak was juicy and to die for. We had such a blast.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 225yuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peasant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing