We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true NYC institution ”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Get food delivered
Ranked #467 of 13,397 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

Katz’s is an institution. Katz’s is a blast. Even the line up is fun. People chat online. Entering a restaurant that has been around since 1888, it has been popular among locals and tourists alike for its pastrami on rye, which is considered among New York's best.Each week, Katz's serves 15,000 lb (6,800 kg) of pastrami, 8,000 lb (3,600 kg) of corned beef, 2,000 lb (910 kg) of salami and 4,000 hot dogs. If that isn’t wild I don’t know what is?! Sandwiches are expensive but they are also massive and the meat is rich, juicy and properly fatty. The walls are rammed with photos of every sports, movie, tv and broadway stars. Through all the chaos every one is friendly and efficient. Go on an off time and the lines are easier. Eat everything.
Please follow @joannasable on instagram for more food and travel fun.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Joannasable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (17,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 423 of 17,368 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in and had the combination sandwich. I suggest the pastrami. I is a little crowded here but its worth the wait. If you don't want to deal with that go in between normal times. Such as breakfast lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank nick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2019

We had to stop here based on several recommendations. Maybe it’s just me but a $23 sandwich is a bit ridiculous, even though the food was of good quality. Probably would not visit again since there are so many reasonably priced restaurants in the area for lunch.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2019

Having done the 911 museum,Staten Island ferry,walked the Brooklyn Bridge,then the Manhattan Bridge we were ready for a snack,and what a snack,A Ruben sandwich and pickled gherkins ,absolutely yummeeeee!,,, you must go there .

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2019

Fun and an experience. Be patient as it can seem like the cutter is never going to get to you. He appeases you with a little sample of meat while preparing your order. You will carry it to a table, along with a bowl of the best pickles you have ever eaten! The meat here is gluten free, just order your sandwich without bread!

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Luvtotravel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.